• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 16, 2001
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9 , 10 , 10
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Sam Jones III, Sam Jones III, Annette O'Toole
  • Summary: Smallville tells the tale of a teenage Clark Kent in the days before he was Superman. It is the town where he came from where very strange things started happening with his arrival in a spaceship in the midst of a meteor storm of green rocks. Clark must deal with a variety of individuals given powers by the green rocks, keep his powers a secret, cope with his friendship with a young Lex Luthor, and balance the two girls in his life, Chloe and Lana. The show also shows us how Lex Luthor develops from a friend of Clark's and kinda-okay guy to (presumably) the villain who will plague Superman in his later years. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Barry Garron
    Aug 6, 2013
    90
    Purists might balk, but for the rest of us, the latest retelling of the Superman tale is a brilliant blend of tradition and contemporary sensibility. Not only is it a Superman for a new generation, it's a Superman for every generation. [15 Oct 2001]
  2. Reviewed by: Noel Holston
    Aug 6, 2013
    90
    The writing is intelligent, wittily playing off our knowledge of the Superman lore, and the production values are on par with top-quality fantasy / sci-fi shows like "The X-Files."...Smallville is the most purely enjoyable dramatic series of the new season. Like Clark, this baby's destined to fly. [16 Oct 2001, p.B27]
  3. 80
    Only the darkness of the show is disconcerting. Poignancy is great, and presumably Clark will triumph in his battles against evil. But in post-Columbine, post-Sept. 11 America, humor has never been a more valuable commodity. If Smallville can strike the right balance, the series should fly. [16 Oct 2001, p.F1]
  4. Reviewed by: Brandon Easton
    Aug 6, 2013
    75
    Possibly the best comic-book-to-TV-series ever made. It is a show that respects its source material without exaggerating the visceral bombast. It's a show that will entertain you in a single bound. [16 Oct 2001, p.44]
  5. 75
    Not to quibble about issues of plausibility in a story about a boy with superhuman powers who arrives on Earth on a spaceship from an alien planet, but the star of Smallville is just too beautiful to be believed. As a geek, that is. [16 Oct 2001, p.E-3]
  6. Reviewed by: Phil Rosenthal
    Aug 6, 2013
    75
    "No Flights, No Tights" is the mantra among the series' writers and producers, emphasizing that this show is set long before the orphan of Krypton becomes a full-fledged superhero. [16 Oct 2001, p.43]
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Aug 6, 2013
    20
    This entire personification of Superman is so whiny and self-pitying that it's really an insult to the comic book mythology. [16 Oct 2001, p.C01]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    Was a fantastic series for 9 seasons. I'm feeling seriously let down by the last season so far. Seems like a weak ending to a strong show. Would loved to have seen him develop more in costume and finally fly for a few seasons. Think they should have some new "power" writers on for season 11 and amp things up for the finale. Don't end with season 10. Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    I've been watching Smallville since it premiered in 2001. This is a great show full of action and romance. I can't get enough. I wish it wasn't over :( To be honest though to go back and watch season 1 again it is AMAZING but each episode is a little repetitive so if u decide you want to start watching the series on Netflix just know it gets so much better. Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    It almost seems pointless to write a review of Smallville since the show appeals to a very specific, niche group of fans. Of the 5 ratings, the average Metacritic score is 9.8. So...yet another 10 seems pointless. However, what I do want to write about is how rare Smallville is in terms of quality of live action shows based on comic books. Ever since the success of the Batman movie done by Tim Burton in 1989, Warner, who has since purchased DC Comics and done a magnificent jobs re-inventing the comic-based animated series with the Bruce Timm-produced Batman, Superman, Justice League and Batman Beyond programs, took a chance on a couple of live action versions of certain heroes. Birds of Prey wasn't as successful, but the Miles Millar and Alfred Gough-created concept, which initially appealed to comic fans and teenage drama watchers alike, has put a unique, yet sustainable and modern spin on the classic canon. I was never a fan of the Smallville-era Superboy/Lana Lang portion of the Superman mythos, but tying it to an early Lex and making it modern hooked me from day one. And now, 10 seasons later, the series has done wonders in transitioning to Metropolis, Lois Lane and even superb renditions of the Justice League. While Tom Welling may never win an Oscar for his acting ability, he has been the perfect naive farm boy learning his purpose in the world. I can't say enough about the appeal of Allison Mack as Chloe and the transition into Erica Durance's PERFECT portrayal of Lois Lane. I will be sad to see this show end in a few months. If you never got a chance to see this show and had any interest in Superman, buy the series on DVD/Blu Ray and spend time watching it. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2011
    8
    While it might not be as perfect as the other seasons of Smallville this season is still enjoyable
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    7
    It's a take on the character we've not seen before on film only in short clip's or flash back's so it was nice seeing a fresh idea about the most iconic Superhero. You see him growing up in Smallville, the hardship's of a teenage life and struggling to cope with various relationship's and learning to deal with his new found superpowers and fighting various meteor infected villains and a side to Lex Luthor not a lot of people are familiar with until late on and he becomes a lot more more the Lex Luthor we know. After a few season's the story goes in a new direction and head's towards a similar story to the justice league story (minus Batman & Wonder Woman) and you meet these characters at the Daily Planet a lot of Superman fan's and a DC fan's are familiar with and know. Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2012
    7
    I like Smallville, I watched a lot of it and it was pretty fun to see the new disasters that young superman had to fight every episode, Tom Welling isn't a very good actor, but he did manage to pull it off in some episodes, in the earlier seasons though, it was kind of boring knowing that there was going to be some sort of 'meteor shower nut' that young superman would have to stop, and that, that would be basically every episode. The series got better as it got older. Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    Superman can't fly.....what a pity! If I remember my comic books, he started flying even as a baby and even his dog "Krypto" flew. This show is a disappointment to the entire franchise! Collapse

See all 23 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Superhero TV Series

    Ranked: Best and Worst Superhero TV Series Image
    Published: September 27, 2010
    This week's new ABC series "No Ordinary Family" is the latest in a long line of superhero TV shows. We take a look back at the best and worst examples of the genre.