• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 6, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Smash is a triumph.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 6, 2012
    100
    I've seen four episodes; they're all good.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 1, 2012
    100
    [It's so] good you can't help wondering why no one thought of it before, a compelling mix of credible real-life melodrama with a fictionalized approximation of what it takes to get a Broadway show from the idea stage to opening night.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 30, 2012
    100
    NBC hasn't had a show this impressive since the first season of Heroes. [6 Feb 2012, p.39]
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 3, 2012
    91
    The real joys of Smash are its performances and production numbers, some fantasized, others part of the bare bones auditioning process.
  6. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The cast, from Katharine McPhee and Megan Hilty to Debra Messing and Angelica Huston, is superb. The subject matter is a carefully blended mix of artistic and accessible.
  7. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The cast is crowded and uniformly splendid. There's little about this captivating fusion of music, dance and potent storytelling of which the same couldn't be said.
  8. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Feb 6, 2012
    90
    Smash does a very satisfying job of merging the pleasures of "American Idol" and commercial Broadway, placing the "hummable melody" dead center and prioritizing fun over absolute authenticity.
  9. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Feb 6, 2012
    90
    They're fully realized characters, not freakishly talented pawns, and their stories--and choices--reflect a real-life awareness I only wish "Glee" could muster.
  10. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 2, 2012
    90
    Smash is excellent, a bar-raiser for broadcast networks.
  11. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Feb 1, 2012
    90
    Smash elegantly and energetically draws you into the orbit of a dozen dreamers and schemers at various stages in their Great White Way careers, and, like a true pro, the show makes it all look easy.
  12. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Feb 6, 2012
    88
    Smash tries mightily and mostly succeeds.
  13. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 6, 2012
    88
    Unless you're allergic to musicals in general and Broadway in particular, you should find that a compelling central story, a strong cast, an out-of-the-procedural-mold premise and some rousing, roof-raising numbers more than compensate for any lingering problems.
  14. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 30, 2012
    83
    Smash is often enjoyable. [3/10 Feb 2012, p.101]
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 37
  2. Negative: 7 out of 37
  1. jrb
    Feb 14, 2012
    1
    I don't know what show that the positive reviewers are watching but it sure isn't this one. I gave it a second week and that episode was worse than the first. The acting is absolutely horrendous. The cast seems to be either bored with their part and walking through it or overdramatizing a dull storyline. Huston an example of the first; Messing the second. I can't tell you how disappointed I am as I was really looking forward to this as a vehicle for McPhee who is a wonderful talent. The plot is absolutely unbelievable, the characters unlikable, just awful. BTW, Glee works most of the time because it doesn't take itself too seriously. NBC should be ashamed and I'm done with it! Full Review »
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    So far in the 9 episodes I have watched they have been good with two hot leads to carry out the drama of what it is like being in the show business whether you've been in it for ten years or for ten days and the co-stars are decent as well like Debra Messing, Jack Davenport, and Angelica Houston. The songs which are original by the way are actually pretty good as well even though I am the type of guy who listens to rock all day. You should try giving this show a chance, you might like it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    I remember watching a sneak peek at this and thought they were just trying to copy Glee. Then I watched the pilot episode, and I completely fell in love with the show. Katharine McPhee and Megan Hilty are great actors and wonderful singers. Plus, they're backed up by wonderful actors such as Debra Messing and Anjelica Houston. Full Review »