Smash : Season 2

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 6, 2012
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Feb 5, 2013
    60
    It is less accidentally ridiculous, and more knowingly, willfully campy, less pretentious, but also, for better and worse, less likely to include a Bollywood dance number.
  2. 60
    NBC's Smash returns for its second season Tuesday still a work in progress. But at least there is progress.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 5, 2013
    60
    New show runner Joshua Safran has, in any case, declared himself a fan of the show, promising changes more surgical than wholesale, a promise disappointing in its way. Nevertheless, he has trimmed much deadwood.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Feb 5, 2013
    60
    Much of the insanity that drove viewers to “hate-watch” the show in its first season has been scrubbed. Competence reigns. The results are mixed.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Feb 5, 2013
    60
    The problem is that the story in between the songs is still inconsistent and muddled.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Feb 5, 2013
    50
    It's oddly disconnected from the idea of art as transformation, the show's characters are thinly drawn and it's usually fairly easy to see where the story is heading.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 5, 2013
    50
    Even with all the changes in front of and behind the camera, Smash is fundamentally the same show with the same problems.
  8. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Feb 5, 2013
    50
    The addition of Chicago native Hudson is a masterstroke, but with all that other melodrama, Smash remains a hit-or-miss proposition for me.
  9. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Feb 5, 2013
    50
    The musical numbers are competently staged, even if they often play like filler to underscore character montages. The plots mosey between drama and comedy and never hit their marks.
  10. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 5, 2013
    40
    There are not many signs that the show is taking a turn toward anything better--more realism, more audacity, less sentimentality.
  11. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 31, 2013
    40
    Cast changes and additions (a la Jennifer Hudson's new diva) can't obscure a skein whose soapy doings drown out its tunes, and where even the music often comes across as flat.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Feb 10, 2013
    2
    Season 1's shockingly bad writing did not get fixed at all, though new showrunner Josh Safran improved the pacing. Kat McPhee is still theSeason 1's shockingly bad writing did not get fixed at all, though new showrunner Josh Safran improved the pacing. Kat McPhee is still the weakest link, and the show's emphasis on Karen as 'the most amazing talent ever' isn't evident in her performance, which makes a central element of the show ridiculous. Megan Hilty is the breakout star of this show, a show that should have been great, and she's the only reason left to watch. Full Review »
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    I love watching Smash. My daughter and I could not wait each week for the next episode and we are dying to find out when season 2 will beI love watching Smash. My daughter and I could not wait each week for the next episode and we are dying to find out when season 2 will be starting. Please hurry. Every single cast member is great and I look forward to seeing Jennifer Hudson on Smash. Full Review »
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    in the first episode, they answered questions concerning what happened to characters that were cut from the show-Dev, Michael Ellis --thisin the first episode, they answered questions concerning what happened to characters that were cut from the show-Dev, Michael Ellis --this needed to be done! they introduced us to some new cast members who just might steal the show. LOVED ALL the musical numbers as this is what SMASH is ALL ABOUT!! anyone who bad mouths the talent on this show is crazy! every cast member is incredible! i think the 'new show', Hit List with Karen Jimmy is gonna be the best part of season 2!!!! Full Review »