• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 6, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 30, 2014
    3
    Smash becomes an incoherent soap opera like so many with this second season. With its wealth of guest stars, new characters, artificial rivalries and cliffhangers. If it wasn't written on the ground laid down in the first season, it would a manual of what not to write for a drama. In fairness, some ideas (the dramaturg) and tunes are good, but it's not enough.
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season 1 was bad, but it was at least fun. Season 2 was just awful. There was more personal drama and unfortunately it was mostly Karen's(and her new friends') personal drama. And she wasn't interesting enough to be the central character. Although I liked the ending, where Karen finally wasn't the best actress in the world, as they were constantly telling us to believe before. Expand
  3. May 26, 2013
    5
    I don't know why Smash got cancelled in the first place, but NBC should've renew the series because of the disappointment of Season 2. It was a very bad move for the network putting the show from Saturdays and now on Sundays. With mediocre ratings sliding, who's gonna fill in the series for the new Fall lineup? At least they still got The Voice and America's Got Talent up and running.I don't know why Smash got cancelled in the first place, but NBC should've renew the series because of the disappointment of Season 2. It was a very bad move for the network putting the show from Saturdays and now on Sundays. With mediocre ratings sliding, who's gonna fill in the series for the new Fall lineup? At least they still got The Voice and America's Got Talent up and running. Yeah, Season 2 was a disappointment for me, but that doesn't mean that I still like the series. I hope another network could save the series like Netflix or something. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2013
    0
    I loved season 1, and season 2 till about episode 8 has been fantastic. But all of a sudden Karen's character has been left behind. I understand what is happening to everyone else, but the writers in the quest to explain why the others have a place in the show, have forgotten to explain why Karen has turned into naive love struck teenager. After working her way to the top of theI loved season 1, and season 2 till about episode 8 has been fantastic. But all of a sudden Karen's character has been left behind. I understand what is happening to everyone else, but the writers in the quest to explain why the others have a place in the show, have forgotten to explain why Karen has turned into naive love struck teenager. After working her way to the top of the Broadway stage with pure talent, it doesn't explain why her talent is suddenly not a factor, just that now she's a one dimensional love struck puppy that's blaming the world for her demise. It's really bad writing that has ruined for me what is otherwise a completely to die for show. Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Season 2 is a remarkable improvement over the first, with actually worthwhile characters being introduced while the lousy ones are gone. There are still issues with the tone and some of the acting, but I think the change of showrunner was a very good decision. I hope it lasts at least one more season.
  6. Feb 10, 2013
    2
    Season 1's shockingly bad writing did not get fixed at all, though new showrunner Josh Safran improved the pacing. Kat McPhee is still the weakest link, and the show's emphasis on Karen as 'the most amazing talent ever' isn't evident in her performance, which makes a central element of the show ridiculous. Megan Hilty is the breakout star of this show, a show that should have been great,Season 1's shockingly bad writing did not get fixed at all, though new showrunner Josh Safran improved the pacing. Kat McPhee is still the weakest link, and the show's emphasis on Karen as 'the most amazing talent ever' isn't evident in her performance, which makes a central element of the show ridiculous. Megan Hilty is the breakout star of this show, a show that should have been great, and she's the only reason left to watch. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    in the first episode, they answered questions concerning what happened to characters that were cut from the show-Dev, Michael Ellis --this needed to be done! they introduced us to some new cast members who just might steal the show. LOVED ALL the musical numbers as this is what SMASH is ALL ABOUT!! anyone who bad mouths the talent on this show is crazy! every cast member isin the first episode, they answered questions concerning what happened to characters that were cut from the show-Dev, Michael Ellis --this needed to be done! they introduced us to some new cast members who just might steal the show. LOVED ALL the musical numbers as this is what SMASH is ALL ABOUT!! anyone who bad mouths the talent on this show is crazy! every cast member is incredible! i think the 'new show', Hit List with Karen Jimmy is gonna be the best part of season 2!!!! Expand
  8. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    I love watching Smash. My daughter and I could not wait each week for the next episode and we are dying to find out when season 2 will be starting. Please hurry. Every single cast member is great and I look forward to seeing Jennifer Hudson on Smash.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 8, 2013
    63
    Until, and unless, all the elements fall into place, it's more smush than smash. [18 Feb 2013, p.41]
  2. 80
    Smash got the memo from viewers. I don’t think they read all of it, necessarily, but at least they got it, and they’ve changed just enough to raise the series from a C+ to a B. So: progress.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Feb 5, 2013
    60
    It is less accidentally ridiculous, and more knowingly, willfully campy, less pretentious, but also, for better and worse, less likely to include a Bollywood dance number.