• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 20, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 5 out of 8

Critic Reviews

  1. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Lewis Segal
    Jul 17, 2013
    60
    Though the voice-over narration could have been more informative, the biggest drawback in the first two episodes was producer Nigel Lythgoe functioning as the Donald Trump of dance by firing dancers right and left. [30 Jul 2005]
  2. Variety
    Reviewed by: Laura Fries
    Jul 17, 2013
    40
    As a director, Nigel Lythgoe works the judge's reaction shots, often forgetting wallflowers enjoy watching the dancers, not other wallflowers. [22 Jul 2005]
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Jun 3, 2016
    1
    They have taken what has been a generally great Summer viewing experience and ruined it by changing the audition guidelines and judges to theThey have taken what has been a generally great Summer viewing experience and ruined it by changing the audition guidelines and judges to the point that the show is no longer what it was when viewers enjoyed it the most. Complete disaster this season, first episode rendered unwatchable. Full Review »
  2. Oct 3, 2014
    0
    Really bad, I mean it is real bad. It is bad because it lacks a lot of judging, I man the judges don't care how their routine is or how thereReally bad, I mean it is real bad. It is bad because it lacks a lot of judging, I man the judges don't care how their routine is or how there skills is at dancing. They just shout to the dancers and say GREAT,BEST ONE,or AMAZING. Full Review »
  3. Aug 7, 2017
    10
    The talent is astounding. The choreography is original and brilliant. This is the best dance show on TV, and has uncovered superstars thatThe talent is astounding. The choreography is original and brilliant. This is the best dance show on TV, and has uncovered superstars that have gone on to dance for Beyonce and Lady Gaga as well as major Broadway shows. This program has deservedly won Emmys. I LOVE IT Full Review »