• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 3, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 209 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: While Gemma is on the run after killing Polly and being framed for Edmond Hayes' death, Jax and SAMCRO are on the search for baby Abel.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sons of Anarchy remains as bare-knuckled and, almost inconceivably, as funny and crass as ever. And it doesn't take Season 3 very long to ratchet up the twists
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    100
    In the third season, the song remains the same. Biblical themes of fathers and sons, fathers and daughters, honor and dishonor, Cain and Abel are all baked under that pitiless California sun. Brace yourselves.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    90
    The darker and more complicated life gets for the Sons, the better the TV show tends to be. And based on the four episodes I've seen, Sons is still at the incredible level it achieved a year ago, when it became one of the best dramas on television.
  4. 80
    Sons of Anarchy may be wild fantasy and melodrama, but it is tempered by a feeling of verity.
  5. While some of their "family values" are perverse and illegal, most are rooted in the same principles embraced by the straightest arrows in town. That's what makes them more than motorcycle thugs and makes their show worth the discomfort it sometimes takes to ride with it.
  6. 75
    It's a good show, powerfully acted--especially by Katy Segal as tough mama Gemma--and true to its convictions. [20 Sep 2010, p.52]
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    This dark biker-gang drama certainly has its share of fans, but held up against the larger pantheon of cable dramas--including some of FX's recent and upcoming additions--Sons emulates its ride: Plenty noisy, but a relatively low-octane vehicle.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Once again, Kurt Sutter has done the impossible. I saw this show two years ago, and wasnt interisted in the least. I was flipping through theOnce again, Kurt Sutter has done the impossible. I saw this show two years ago, and wasnt interisted in the least. I was flipping through the channels and SamCro was on in mid-season. Ever sense then i've been hooked. The storyline is always changing. As soon as i'm able to predict what is going to happen (Like with CSI and The Mentalist) something new always comes up. A hidden charictar, or in this case, an unknow MC appears out of nowhere and stirs up the mix. Some complain that the storyline has become too complicated. Kurt said in one of his blogs that he didnt want to have the same storyline. Example: Jax pushing recklessly to change the club into what it was meant to be in season one. In season two, the Nords teamed up with White Power inorder to kill SamCro's gun running buisness. This season, it foucuses more on family, and the fact that we may be nowhere without the ones we love pushing us to go that extra mile. If the storyline becomes complicated, then we dont know whats going to happen. If it stays the same, then SamCro would've been canceled by now. No one wants to watch the same old crap on tv. Its not fun when it's predictable.

    Well done Mr. Sutter. I hope that you continue to push the envolope to its max.
    Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    Took me a while to start watching this show, started on Nflix during season 4, binged on seasons 1-3, killed me waiting on 4. Watched that onTook me a while to start watching this show, started on Nflix during season 4, binged on seasons 1-3, killed me waiting on 4. Watched that on Nflix then watched 5-7 live. Love the show! Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    Proving to be one of the most promising shows on television this fall. The story is directly connecting the last season and the beginning ofProving to be one of the most promising shows on television this fall. The story is directly connecting the last season and the beginning of this season. The performances are outstanding and the story line is excellent. Every time the show ends I can't wait until the next episode begins. Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2010
    9
    Nothing could have risen to the level of the opening episode of season 2, but the season 3 opener packs an emotional wallop. I'm extremelyNothing could have risen to the level of the opening episode of season 2, but the season 3 opener packs an emotional wallop. I'm extremely excited about the rest of the season. Jacks needs to cross the pond to take care of his family business. Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    Such a great show at so many levels. The stories are great, the emotion is raw, and overall the combination with these actors and charactersSuch a great show at so many levels. The stories are great, the emotion is raw, and overall the combination with these actors and characters is mesmerizing to watch. You don't have to be a biker follower to get it. It's about family and friendships at their core sometimes these take us to good places and other times lead to conflict but in the end it is what matters most that wins us over and Sons does an excellent job of this on a weekly basis. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2010
    6
    I love this series, but, for the first time, I'm letting episodes stack up before watching them. Why? Because the kidnapped baby storylineI love this series, but, for the first time, I'm letting episodes stack up before watching them. Why? Because the kidnapped baby storyline is dull, which is bad, and sentimental, which is worse. One of the things I've always admired about SOA is its refusal to jerk tears or resort to easy platitudes, so I can't fathom why Sutter & company suddenly placed an Infant in Peril at the center of events. There's no moral complexity with a Purloined Babe; there are only quivering lips, shouts of "You don't understand!" and behavior that would look shockingly selfish without the Son of Captivity to excuse it. We're promised a big payoff as the season ends, but episodes should be strong in their own right, not just set-ups for a punchline. Hope season four returns to form! Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    I own and LOVED the first 2 season....and the first few episodes of Season 3, after that it was TERRIBLE. I was very disappointed but seasonI own and LOVED the first 2 season....and the first few episodes of Season 3, after that it was TERRIBLE. I was very disappointed but season 4 is good again so im backing paying full attention to the show. I was interested in what people said about this season so i had to come check it out. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows Image
    Published: September 4, 2014
    We preview the most notable new and returning shows headed to cable networks and streaming services this fall, including new seasons of The Walking Dead, American Horror Story, and Sons of Anarchy and newcomers such as Transparent, The Affair, Star Wars Rebels, and Ascension.
  2. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.
  3. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: December 5, 2012
    The fifth season of FX's biker drama has been a step up from the fourth, but did last night's season finale avoid the mistakes of last year's season-ender? Find out what critics are saying this morning.
  4. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: December 7, 2011
    What did critics think of last night's Sons of Anarchy season finale, and of the fourth season as a whole? Find out inside.