• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 3, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 197 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: While Gemma is on the run after killing Polly and being framed for Edmond Hayes' death, Jax and SAMCRO are on the search for baby Abel.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sons of Anarchy remains as bare-knuckled and, almost inconceivably, as funny and crass as ever. And it doesn't take Season 3 very long to ratchet up the twists
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    100
    In the third season, the song remains the same. Biblical themes of fathers and sons, fathers and daughters, honor and dishonor, Cain and Abel are all baked under that pitiless California sun. Brace yourselves.
  3. If you're really just in the mood for a tightly plotted character drama, the show delivers on that score. And if you like to see bikers busting heads, well, SOA has some of the best bone-crunching action in the business.
  4. 80
    Sons of Anarchy may be wild fantasy and melodrama, but it is tempered by a feeling of verity.
  5. While some of their "family values" are perverse and illegal, most are rooted in the same principles embraced by the straightest arrows in town. That's what makes them more than motorcycle thugs and makes their show worth the discomfort it sometimes takes to ride with it.
  6. 75
    It's a good show, powerfully acted--especially by Katy Segal as tough mama Gemma--and true to its convictions. [20 Sep 2010, p.52]
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    This dark biker-gang drama certainly has its share of fans, but held up against the larger pantheon of cable dramas--including some of FX's recent and upcoming additions--Sons emulates its ride: Plenty noisy, but a relatively low-octane vehicle.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    Even better than the previous season. I know that a few fans were bored by the slow episodes and Abel's plot line taking 11 episodes to end.Even better than the previous season. I know that a few fans were bored by the slow episodes and Abel's plot line taking 11 episodes to end. However, each episode was getting more intense and I was getting more and more uncomfortable. Also, a lot of people complained about the Irish accent during the Belfast episodes. Since I'm not from Ireland, it was no big deal for me and I actually think it's pretty stupid to hate the whole season because of it. Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    Proving to be one of the most promising shows on television this fall. The story is directly connecting the last season and the beginning ofProving to be one of the most promising shows on television this fall. The story is directly connecting the last season and the beginning of this season. The performances are outstanding and the story line is excellent. Every time the show ends I can't wait until the next episode begins. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Once again, Kurt Sutter has done the impossible. I saw this show two years ago, and wasnt interisted in the least. I was flipping through theOnce again, Kurt Sutter has done the impossible. I saw this show two years ago, and wasnt interisted in the least. I was flipping through the channels and SamCro was on in mid-season. Ever sense then i've been hooked. The storyline is always changing. As soon as i'm able to predict what is going to happen (Like with CSI and The Mentalist) something new always comes up. A hidden charictar, or in this case, an unknow MC appears out of nowhere and stirs up the mix. Some complain that the storyline has become too complicated. Kurt said in one of his blogs that he didnt want to have the same storyline. Example: Jax pushing recklessly to change the club into what it was meant to be in season one. In season two, the Nords teamed up with White Power inorder to kill SamCro's gun running buisness. This season, it foucuses more on family, and the fact that we may be nowhere without the ones we love pushing us to go that extra mile. If the storyline becomes complicated, then we dont know whats going to happen. If it stays the same, then SamCro would've been canceled by now. No one wants to watch the same old crap on tv. Its not fun when it's predictable.

    Well done Mr. Sutter. I hope that you continue to push the envolope to its max.
    Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    LUCKY CHARMS! Sam Crow has left the building...Even bikers need a vacation...Finally escaped Mayberry! Glad they filmed new location. Didn'tLUCKY CHARMS! Sam Crow has left the building...Even bikers need a vacation...Finally escaped Mayberry! Glad they filmed new location. Didn't know the Sons were so cultural. Pearlman & FBI agent EVIL TWIN dou Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2010
    8
    Gritty, shocking, and wildly entertaining is how I describe this show. Season 1 and 2 got me hooked with a constant drama and setting theGritty, shocking, and wildly entertaining is how I describe this show. Season 1 and 2 got me hooked with a constant drama and setting the stage for the clubs wheeling and dealings in Charming. This season leaves me puzzled with all the twists and turns the plot is making it will be interesting to see if it can play out in the end. Jack's son is gone, that makes sense, but why the IRA is involved with this kidnapping is beyond me. Granted the season is not over and the action is about to reach its peak, the involvement between Charming, the IRA, the infuriating FBI agent, and the shaky relationship with Jacks. The conclusion should be a mind blower but that anticipation keeps me coming back week after week. The most exciting show on TV right now Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2010
    6
    Anyone else getting a little bored of this whole "They have my kid!" thing? I liked it better when they were roaming around Charming doingAnyone else getting a little bored of this whole "They have my kid!" thing? I liked it better when they were roaming around Charming doing their thing. The storyline is getting way too convoluted and complex, not that i can't handle it, but this is supposed to be a fun show about bikers not The Wire(which of course I loved). Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    I own and LOVED the first 2 season....and the first few episodes of Season 3, after that it was TERRIBLE. I was very disappointed but seasonI own and LOVED the first 2 season....and the first few episodes of Season 3, after that it was TERRIBLE. I was very disappointed but season 4 is good again so im backing paying full attention to the show. I was interested in what people said about this season so i had to come check it out. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows Image
    Published: September 4, 2014
    We preview the most notable new and returning shows headed to cable networks and streaming services this fall, including new seasons of The Walking Dead, American Horror Story, and Sons of Anarchy and newcomers such as Transparent, The Affair, Star Wars Rebels, and Ascension.
  2. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.
  3. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: December 5, 2012
    The fifth season of FX's biker drama has been a step up from the fourth, but did last night's season finale avoid the mistakes of last year's season-ender? Find out what critics are saying this morning.
  4. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: December 7, 2011
    What did critics think of last night's Sons of Anarchy season finale, and of the fourth season as a whole? Find out inside.