• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 3, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 421 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Creator: Kurt Sutter
  • Show Type: In Season
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 3, 2008
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Few series have exploded onto the scene with such a rich array of potential stories and inherently interesting characters.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    Trade press has labeled this "'Easy Rider' Meets 'The Sopranos,'" which seems apt. Show comes from Kurt Sutter, longtime co-executive producer of "The Shield" (and married to Sagal) so that should give you a sense of tone and texture - violent, taut, well written.
  3. 80
    Sons of Anarchy, an unfailingly coarse yet brashly effective series that burrows into the workings of the titular outlaw motorcycle club.
  4. Set as far as possible from the canyons of New York, the series has a cool, original look--despite its C-movie moments when burly guys in black jackets zoom down the highway to the accompaniment of country metal rock.
  5. A complex and well-built drama that leaves the viewer wondering if there's enough humanity here to make the hard-boiled stories worth following.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    60
    Well-made, but heavy-handed and hardly inviting.
  7. 37
    Sons wants us to care about their hopes and struggles, but gives no clue as to why we might do so.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 99
  2. Negative: 12 out of 99
  1. JennetP.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    One of the few shows that pose moral questions, instead of illustrating moral certainties. (Note to USA Today: those of us who aren't One of the few shows that pose moral questions, instead of illustrating moral certainties. (Note to USA Today: those of us who aren't lost don't need a compass.) And though it may not replicate every last detail of the MC lifestyle, SOA absolutely nails the outlaw spirit that animates many American subcultures. Individual characters are beautifully drawn, each distinctive yet archetypal, the product of writers, actors, and directors at the top of their game. But, as good as they are individually (Katey, dust off that award shelf, your Golden Globe is finally on its way!), collectively they are even better. There is genius in the casting of this show, so much that, when characters claim that separation from SAMCRO would be worse than death, the sentiment seems perfectly reasonable, even self-evident. My favorite new show, hands down. Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2014
    10
    I love so much this series, seems not, but the main plot it is full of dramatic events and interesting conversations. Do not be fooled by theI love so much this series, seems not, but the main plot it is full of dramatic events and interesting conversations. Do not be fooled by the synopsis, are not only motorcycles and scantily clad girls...
    in my opinion one of the best series that I'm watching, highly recommend it.
    Expand
  3. RhondaC.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    Awesome - different kinda show - keeps you guessing
  4. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Sign me up to be a PROSPECT!...I drunk the Kool-Aide. Sopranos of the biker gang. All warrior alpha-male! The females are loyal and tough butSign me up to be a PROSPECT!...I drunk the Kool-Aide. Sopranos of the biker gang. All warrior alpha-male! The females are loyal and tough but sexy. Its modern Sparta 300 toned down...THIS - - IS - - SAM - - CROW!! Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    Love it. Great show. I've been able to get into all the characters which I find hard with a lot of TV these days. But have enjoyed this seriesLove it. Great show. I've been able to get into all the characters which I find hard with a lot of TV these days. But have enjoyed this series a lot. I found that I was always looking forward to the next episode and was trying to guess ahead the plot line. The show definately deserves more praise then some of the crap on our tv screens these days. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    The first few episodes of Son’s of Anarchy’s first season certainly showed potential but seemed to lack direction. As a result, despite someThe first few episodes of Son’s of Anarchy’s first season certainly showed potential but seemed to lack direction. As a result, despite some good performances, it wasn’t immediately clear exactly why we should care about what happens to a bunch of bikers, many of whom aren’t particularly nice people. Fortunately as the season progressed things started to come together meaning that audiences we treated to some truly gripping drama as battle lines are drawn for what should be a superb second season.

    Overall this was a promising start to a new series.
    Expand
  7. BrianM.
    Sep 3, 2008
    0
    What a flop, what a waste of resources, I turned it off after the first 20 minutes felt like 2 hrs, cancel this and not the Shield.

See all 99 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows Image
    Published: September 4, 2014
    We preview the most notable new and returning shows headed to cable networks and streaming services this fall, including new seasons of The Walking Dead, American Horror Story, and Sons of Anarchy and newcomers such as Transparent, The Affair, Star Wars Rebels, and Ascension.
  2. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.
  3. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: December 5, 2012
    The fifth season of FX's biker drama has been a step up from the fourth, but did last night's season finale avoid the mistakes of last year's season-ender? Find out what critics are saying this morning.
  4. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: December 7, 2011
    What did critics think of last night's Sons of Anarchy season finale, and of the fourth season as a whole? Find out inside.