Sons of Anarchy : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 3, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Sons of Anarchy Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 543 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sons Of Anarchy
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Few series have exploded onto the scene with such a rich array of potential stories and inherently interesting characters.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    Trade press has labeled this "'Easy Rider' Meets 'The Sopranos,'" which seems apt. Show comes from Kurt Sutter, longtime co-executive producer of "The Shield" (and married to Sagal) so that should give you a sense of tone and texture - violent, taut, well written.
  3. 80
    Sons of Anarchy is bloody, disturbing and maniacally addictive.
  4. There are moments that require you not to think too hard, and some of the black humor doesn't overcome its fundamental nastiness. But on the whole, it's a superior package, intelligently constructed and handsomely executed.
  5. 60
    Well-made, but heavy-handed and hardly inviting.
  6. 60
    For all its ferocity, and despite some excellent supporting performances, there’s a curious hole at the center of Sons of Anarchy. The character we’re supposed to be most interested in is something of a blank slate.
  7. 37
    Sons wants us to care about their hopes and struggles, but gives no clue as to why we might do so.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 109
  2. Negative: 14 out of 109
  1. JennetP.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    One of the few shows that pose moral questions, instead of illustrating moral certainties. (Note to USA Today: those of us who aren't One of the few shows that pose moral questions, instead of illustrating moral certainties. (Note to USA Today: those of us who aren't lost don't need a compass.) And though it may not replicate every last detail of the MC lifestyle, SOA absolutely nails the outlaw spirit that animates many American subcultures. Individual characters are beautifully drawn, each distinctive yet archetypal, the product of writers, actors, and directors at the top of their game. But, as good as they are individually (Katey, dust off that award shelf, your Golden Globe is finally on its way!), collectively they are even better. There is genius in the casting of this show, so much that, when characters claim that separation from SAMCRO would be worse than death, the sentiment seems perfectly reasonable, even self-evident. My favorite new show, hands down. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2015
    10
    Some shows just don't sound that interesting, and I admit when I heard about this new show, featuring an outlaw motorcycle club, I wasn'tSome shows just don't sound that interesting, and I admit when I heard about this new show, featuring an outlaw motorcycle club, I wasn't interested. Similar to shows like Breaking Bad, Sons of Anarchy gained it's reputation by word of mouth. Once word got out about just how well written this show was and how deep the character development was, it gained a following, and by the end, it was one of the highest rated shows on cable.

    For over 20 years, SAMCRO (Sons of Anarchy Motorcycle Club Redwood Originals) and Sheriff Wayne Uncer (Dayton Callie) have kept the small town of Charming California safe, a suburban paradise in an otherwise corrupt world. A series of events start to change all that, and SAMCRO is forced under the microscope. A shift in attitude, an ambitious young sheriff, and the ATF all threaten to destroy Charming and SAMCRO. Left with few options, the club must form new alliances and carry on business as usual if they hope to survive.

    I'll be the first to admit that I was wrong about this show, I just couldn't wrap my head around it. How could a show about a motorcycle club be any good? It turns out that it was more than good, due to a combination of complex characters and tremendous writing. No one would have ever imagined just how in depth and shocking this show would become, and it's a real tribute to Creator, Kurt Sutter, who always had another trick up his sleeve. Just when it seems like there is nowhere else to go, the show changes direction, characters change, and the story evolves. Sons of Anarchy seemingly gets better with every season, but it's not just due to the writing, it's the actors themselves.

    Sons of Anarchy has some of the best writing I've seen in a television show and the characters (while on the surface are nothing more than outlaw bikers) are so complex and interesting that I was hooked after just a few episodes. This show is as addicting as it gets, because everything seems to fall into place and it just work. From the casting, to the comedic moments, there isn't anything about this show that I could possibly complain about, as it earned it's reputation for being one of the best shows on cable. Sons of Anarchy, if nothing else re-enforces the old theory that you most certainly can't judge a book by it's cover.
    Expand
  3. NicoleB.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    I am so glad I hae something to watch now, Wenesday is my favorite day of the week. Great show, great job. Looking forward to the rest of I am so glad I hae something to watch now, Wenesday is my favorite day of the week. Great show, great job. Looking forward to the rest of season one and more. Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    OMG a total 10!!!!! It totally delivered can not wait to see how Season 4 plays out. I hope they get rid of the mayor like they did with StalOMG a total 10!!!!! It totally delivered can not wait to see how Season 4 plays out. I hope they get rid of the mayor like they did with Stal he needs to go!!!!!! Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    Not the best season of SoA, but a awesome and badass start. The season develops the characters very well and every episode you feel likeNot the best season of SoA, but a awesome and badass start. The season develops the characters very well and every episode you feel like something bad is going to happen. I don't give it a 10 because the music montages drive me crazy. I know that they keep on doing this kind of scenes but they don't bother me as they used to in the first season. Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2014
    8
    The plot lines tend to get a bit ridiculous and seem to be tacked on at times. In fact, that feeling crept up on me more than once where itThe plot lines tend to get a bit ridiculous and seem to be tacked on at times. In fact, that feeling crept up on me more than once where it seemed like the writers brainstormed with the end verdict being "Ooh we should do that! Yeah that would be cool!" without thinking much about how that would pan out in the greater scope of things. And yet despite this and all its other flaws I love this show and its character portrayal. Expand
  7. BrianM.
    Sep 3, 2008
    0
    What a flop, what a waste of resources, I turned it off after the first 20 minutes felt like 2 hrs, cancel this and not the Shield.

See all 109 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows Image
    Published: September 4, 2014
    We preview the most notable new and returning shows headed to cable networks and streaming services this fall, including new seasons of The Walking Dead, American Horror Story, and Sons of Anarchy and newcomers such as Transparent, The Affair, Star Wars Rebels, and Ascension.
  2. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.
  3. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: December 5, 2012
    The fifth season of FX's biker drama has been a step up from the fourth, but did last night's season finale avoid the mistakes of last year's season-ender? Find out what critics are saying this morning.
  4. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: December 7, 2011
    What did critics think of last night's Sons of Anarchy season finale, and of the fourth season as a whole? Find out inside.