• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 3, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Sons of Anarchy Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 394 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Creator: Kurt Sutter
  • Show Type: In Season
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 3, 2008
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Few series have exploded onto the scene with such a rich array of potential stories and inherently interesting characters.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    Trade press has labeled this "'Easy Rider' Meets 'The Sopranos,'" which seems apt. Show comes from Kurt Sutter, longtime co-executive producer of "The Shield" (and married to Sagal) so that should give you a sense of tone and texture - violent, taut, well written.
  3. 80
    Sons of Anarchy, an unfailingly coarse yet brashly effective series that burrows into the workings of the titular outlaw motorcycle club.
  4. Set as far as possible from the canyons of New York, the series has a cool, original look--despite its C-movie moments when burly guys in black jackets zoom down the highway to the accompaniment of country metal rock.
  5. A complex and well-built drama that leaves the viewer wondering if there's enough humanity here to make the hard-boiled stories worth following.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    60
    Well-made, but heavy-handed and hardly inviting.
  7. 37
    Sons wants us to care about their hopes and struggles, but gives no clue as to why we might do so.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 93
  2. Negative: 9 out of 93
  1. JennetP.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    One of the few shows that pose moral questions, instead of illustrating moral certainties. (Note to USA Today: those of us who aren't lost don't need a compass.) And though it may not replicate every last detail of the MC lifestyle, SOA absolutely nails the outlaw spirit that animates many American subcultures. Individual characters are beautifully drawn, each distinctive yet archetypal, the product of writers, actors, and directors at the top of their game. But, as good as they are individually (Katey, dust off that award shelf, your Golden Globe is finally on its way!), collectively they are even better. There is genius in the casting of this show, so much that, when characters claim that separation from SAMCRO would be worse than death, the sentiment seems perfectly reasonable, even self-evident. My favorite new show, hands down. Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2014
    10
    I love so much this series, seems not, but the main plot it is full of dramatic events and interesting conversations. Do not be fooled by the synopsis, are not only motorcycles and scantily clad girls...
    in my opinion one of the best series that I'm watching, highly recommend it.
    Expand
  3. LeonardoC.
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    This show is SOO very real in term's of the biker lifestyle. My Only Quip is the bikes, Different bikers have different tastes in terms of Styles, But They must be Harley Davidson or else it is baloney. American Biker's only ride American bikes! Great show I am in for the long haul. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    i'll cut to the chase with this review. best series of sons of anarchy yet. the story is written so well i felt as desperate as jax did in his journey to find abel. great ending to the series as well Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    Leave it to FX to prove to us that just because it is on cable tv, doesn't means it's bad. This show was beautifully crafted from the word go. It has heart, excellent dialogue and yes it is catchy and you can dance to it. My partner and I plowed through both seasons one and two with a wrecking ball and are anxious for the third season to be released on DVD. Katy Segal is more than breathtaking in this role, she is this role. She and Ron Pearlman make the most delightful and surprisingly adorable couple. Overall this show is fantastic and I highly recommend it. Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2013
    8
    This is one of televisions most talked about cable series of the year, and it deserves the recognition. Sons of Anarchy puts viewers on the edge of their seats simply by showcasing the dynamic interactions between characters with strong convictions, alternative moralities and deep connections to one another. Jax Teller, the anti-hero of the series, is easily relatable. His struggle between his family life and club life is clear and continues to create more divergence as the show goes on. Furthermore, the other club members of SAMCRO have their own sub-plots which cause viewers to root for them and the club overall, even if they are in the wrong.

    What I like best about the show, and is a recurring theme throughout the series, is the rivalry between Jax and his sinister Father in Law, Clay Morrow. It
    Expand
  7. BrianM.
    Sep 3, 2008
    0
    What a flop, what a waste of resources, I turned it off after the first 20 minutes felt like 2 hrs, cancel this and not the Shield.

See all 93 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows Image
    Published: September 4, 2014
    We preview the most notable new and returning shows headed to cable networks and streaming services this fall, including new seasons of The Walking Dead, American Horror Story, and Sons of Anarchy and newcomers such as Transparent, The Affair, Star Wars Rebels, and Ascension.
  2. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.
  3. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: December 5, 2012
    The fifth season of FX's biker drama has been a step up from the fourth, but did last night's season finale avoid the mistakes of last year's season-ender? Find out what critics are saying this morning.
  4. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: December 7, 2011
    What did critics think of last night's Sons of Anarchy season finale, and of the fourth season as a whole? Find out inside.