Sons of Anarchy : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 3, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Sons of Anarchy Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 527 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Few series have exploded onto the scene with such a rich array of potential stories and inherently interesting characters.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    Trade press has labeled this "'Easy Rider' Meets 'The Sopranos,'" which seems apt. Show comes from Kurt Sutter, longtime co-executive producer of "The Shield" (and married to Sagal) so that should give you a sense of tone and texture - violent, taut, well written.
  3. 80
    Sons of Anarchy is bloody, disturbing and maniacally addictive.
  4. There are moments that require you not to think too hard, and some of the black humor doesn't overcome its fundamental nastiness. But on the whole, it's a superior package, intelligently constructed and handsomely executed.
  5. 60
    Well-made, but heavy-handed and hardly inviting.
  6. 60
    For all its ferocity, and despite some excellent supporting performances, there’s a curious hole at the center of Sons of Anarchy. The character we’re supposed to be most interested in is something of a blank slate.
  7. 37
    Sons wants us to care about their hopes and struggles, but gives no clue as to why we might do so.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 108
  2. Negative: 14 out of 108
  1. JennetP.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    One of the few shows that pose moral questions, instead of illustrating moral certainties. (Note to USA Today: those of us who aren't One of the few shows that pose moral questions, instead of illustrating moral certainties. (Note to USA Today: those of us who aren't lost don't need a compass.) And though it may not replicate every last detail of the MC lifestyle, SOA absolutely nails the outlaw spirit that animates many American subcultures. Individual characters are beautifully drawn, each distinctive yet archetypal, the product of writers, actors, and directors at the top of their game. But, as good as they are individually (Katey, dust off that award shelf, your Golden Globe is finally on its way!), collectively they are even better. There is genius in the casting of this show, so much that, when characters claim that separation from SAMCRO would be worse than death, the sentiment seems perfectly reasonable, even self-evident. My favorite new show, hands down. Expand
  2. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    This is what a television series should be. From season 1 to season 7 this is arguably one of the greatest shows of all time. SOA (alongThis is what a television series should be. From season 1 to season 7 this is arguably one of the greatest shows of all time. SOA (along with GOT, Breaking Bad, True Detective, Justified, Banshee, etc) have raised the writing/production bar to new heights. Expand
  3. JeffC
    Sep 27, 2008
    10
    By far the most interesting thing since Deadwood, which makes me worry that it'll be cancelled. The USA Today critic said the show lacks By far the most interesting thing since Deadwood, which makes me worry that it'll be cancelled. The USA Today critic said the show lacks "a moral compass." Great, a 1% M/C with "a moral compass"? And anyway, there's the document that Jax finds about his father's vision for SAMCRO, a ready-made statement of anti-establishment anarchist morality. Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    OMG a total 10!!!!! It totally delivered can not wait to see how Season 4 plays out. I hope they get rid of the mayor like they did with StalOMG a total 10!!!!! It totally delivered can not wait to see how Season 4 plays out. I hope they get rid of the mayor like they did with Stal he needs to go!!!!!! Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2010
    9
    I have no idea how the writers of this show are able to keep the show from straying into full-on machismo territory or get themselves out ofI have no idea how the writers of this show are able to keep the show from straying into full-on machismo territory or get themselves out of all the corners that they write themselves into-- but they do and they do it all very well. Expand
  6. pir
    Oct 12, 2010
    8
    i did not expect to like this show as much as i do -- i originally checked it out merely based on its high score here. i have no affiliationi did not expect to like this show as much as i do -- i originally checked it out merely based on its high score here. i have no affiliation with biker clubs (i prefer japanese crotch rockets to harleys any day). but i am solidly hooked -- way to take a subculture that's distasteful to most and instead of vilifying a caricature of it, making it believable, understandable, and nuanced enough to display the many shades of grey colouring the human conscience. if anything, in order to show us the moral ambiguity of the bikers, the show portrays nearly all law enforcement as venal, overly ambitious, justifying the means for the sake of the end, which ends up romanticizing the bikers; i'd like more realism there. Expand
  7. Sep 14, 2016
    0
    I hate this show. The MC Members are all pieces of **** No one credible or likable character in S.O.A MC. Jax is a childish turd with no moralI hate this show. The MC Members are all pieces of **** No one credible or likable character in S.O.A MC. Jax is a childish turd with no moral compass. I just wanted them all to die. I felt no sympathy or empathy for them (except maybe Oppie and Otto - these two being the staunchest, most loyal blokes in the club!)). this is really a Soap Opera with harleys and lots of penis insecurity. The women are absolute 2nd class citizens. The 'strong' female characters are either psychopathic bullies or weak-willed neurotic schmucks . The writing was choatic and ... well just dreadful. The writers should all be ashamed for churning out such swill. Season 4 was the worst ending I have ever witnessed in any TV show .. ever. The writers just took a massive dump on the fans of the show to keep their options open. i was stunned that they would have chosen such a cowardly ending to what should have been a defining season of the show.

    The members of the MC kill with impunity. The whole 'outlaw thing' is just done very badly with this show. there was so much scope for a genuine (even brutal) exploration of the Outlaw Zeitgeist but the writers just fell into lazy and complacent cliche and pop-psychology.

    Don't watch Sons of Anarchy. Seems like a show made for white males with quasi-authoritarian personalities. Horrible stuff. I'm sure even bikers (well the ones with a brain) hate this show.
    Expand

See all 108 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows Image
    Published: September 4, 2014
    We preview the most notable new and returning shows headed to cable networks and streaming services this fall, including new seasons of The Walking Dead, American Horror Story, and Sons of Anarchy and newcomers such as Transparent, The Affair, Star Wars Rebels, and Ascension.
  2. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.
  3. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: December 5, 2012
    The fifth season of FX's biker drama has been a step up from the fourth, but did last night's season finale avoid the mistakes of last year's season-ender? Find out what critics are saying this morning.
  4. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: December 7, 2011
    What did critics think of last night's Sons of Anarchy season finale, and of the fourth season as a whole? Find out inside.