• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 3, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 452 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Few series have exploded onto the scene with such a rich array of potential stories and inherently interesting characters.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    Trade press has labeled this "'Easy Rider' Meets 'The Sopranos,'" which seems apt. Show comes from Kurt Sutter, longtime co-executive producer of "The Shield" (and married to Sagal) so that should give you a sense of tone and texture - violent, taut, well written.
  3. 80
    Sons of Anarchy is bloody, disturbing and maniacally addictive.
  4. There are moments that require you not to think too hard, and some of the black humor doesn't overcome its fundamental nastiness. But on the whole, it's a superior package, intelligently constructed and handsomely executed.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    60
    Well-made, but heavy-handed and hardly inviting.
  6. 60
    For all its ferocity, and despite some excellent supporting performances, there’s a curious hole at the center of Sons of Anarchy. The character we’re supposed to be most interested in is something of a blank slate.
  7. 37
    Sons wants us to care about their hopes and struggles, but gives no clue as to why we might do so.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 104
  2. Negative: 13 out of 104
  1. JennetP.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    One of the few shows that pose moral questions, instead of illustrating moral certainties. (Note to USA Today: those of us who aren't One of the few shows that pose moral questions, instead of illustrating moral certainties. (Note to USA Today: those of us who aren't lost don't need a compass.) And though it may not replicate every last detail of the MC lifestyle, SOA absolutely nails the outlaw spirit that animates many American subcultures. Individual characters are beautifully drawn, each distinctive yet archetypal, the product of writers, actors, and directors at the top of their game. But, as good as they are individually (Katey, dust off that award shelf, your Golden Globe is finally on its way!), collectively they are even better. There is genius in the casting of this show, so much that, when characters claim that separation from SAMCRO would be worse than death, the sentiment seems perfectly reasonable, even self-evident. My favorite new show, hands down. Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2014
    10
    I love so much this series, seems not, but the main plot it is full of dramatic events and interesting conversations. Do not be fooled by theI love so much this series, seems not, but the main plot it is full of dramatic events and interesting conversations. Do not be fooled by the synopsis, are not only motorcycles and scantily clad girls...
    in my opinion one of the best series that I'm watching, highly recommend it.
    Expand
  3. NicoleB.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    I am so glad I hae something to watch now, Wenesday is my favorite day of the week. Great show, great job. Looking forward to the rest of I am so glad I hae something to watch now, Wenesday is my favorite day of the week. Great show, great job. Looking forward to the rest of season one and more. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Absolutely the BEST TV show to come out of the states since The Sopranos

    I got Season 1 out of curiosity cause it was cheap and my love for
    Absolutely the BEST TV show to come out of the states since The Sopranos

    I got Season 1 out of curiosity cause it was cheap and my love for the â
    Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    Not the best season of SoA, but a awesome and badass start. The season develops the characters very well and every episode you feel likeNot the best season of SoA, but a awesome and badass start. The season develops the characters very well and every episode you feel like something bad is going to happen. I don't give it a 10 because the music montages drive me crazy. I know that they keep on doing this kind of scenes but they don't bother me as they used to in the first season. Expand
  6. May 17, 2011
    8
    I used to think all bikers were people who hung on to a America that does not exsist anymore but that does not matter as I now think that theyI used to think all bikers were people who hung on to a America that does not exsist anymore but that does not matter as I now think that they are ball cutting, ruthless bad asses, damn I want one of those jackets and Katey Segal is hot. Expand
  7. BrianM.
    Sep 3, 2008
    0
    What a flop, what a waste of resources, I turned it off after the first 20 minutes felt like 2 hrs, cancel this and not the Shield.

See all 104 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows Image
    Published: September 4, 2014
    We preview the most notable new and returning shows headed to cable networks and streaming services this fall, including new seasons of The Walking Dead, American Horror Story, and Sons of Anarchy and newcomers such as Transparent, The Affair, Star Wars Rebels, and Ascension.
  2. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.
  3. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: December 5, 2012
    The fifth season of FX's biker drama has been a step up from the fourth, but did last night's season finale avoid the mistakes of last year's season-ender? Find out what critics are saying this morning.
  4. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: December 7, 2011
    What did critics think of last night's Sons of Anarchy season finale, and of the fourth season as a whole? Find out inside.