• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2
Soul Eater Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: At the Shinigami Weaponry Vocational School, humans known as Meisters study. Each Meister has their own partner, who is a human capable of taking on a weapon form. The story follows three of these Meisters and their Weapons. They are Maka Alban and her weapon Soul Eater, Black Star and hisAt the Shinigami Weaponry Vocational School, humans known as Meisters study. Each Meister has their own partner, who is a human capable of taking on a weapon form. The story follows three of these Meisters and their Weapons. They are Maka Alban and her weapon Soul Eater, Black Star and his weapon Tsubaki, and Death the Kid and his weapons Patricia and Elizabeth Thompson. They attend the school, do homework, fight evil souls, and most important, try to help their weapons reach Death Scythe status, in which they are eligible for use by the leader of all the Meisters and Weapons, the shinigami (Death God) himself.

    Opening Theme: 1: "resonance" by T.M.Revolution
    2: "PAPERMOON" by Tommy heavenly6

    Ending Theme: 1: "I Wanna Be" by STANCE PUNKS
    2: "Style" by Kana Nishino
    3: "Bakusou Yumeuta" by Diggy-MO'
    4: "STRENGTH" by Abingdon Boys School
    5: "I Wanna Be" by STANCE PUNKS
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Animation, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    Soul Eater is anime giving us three sets of protagonists. Maka Albarn/Soul Evans, Black star/Tsubaki, and Death the kid/Patty & Liz. Each ofSoul Eater is anime giving us three sets of protagonists. Maka Albarn/Soul Evans, Black star/Tsubaki, and Death the kid/Patty & Liz. Each of them have failed their test to make their weapons death psythes. (Unable to gain their partner 99 souls kishin/corrupt souls, and a witches soul) In order for them to pass, they have to become the most elite forces in the Deaths Weapons Meister Acadamy (DWMA) and defeat the veniacle witch Medusa and her companions from reviving a threat deep beneth death city. Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    found this anime browsing around through netflix and decided to give it a look. im very glad i did . its a fun land funny anime with somefound this anime browsing around through netflix and decided to give it a look. im very glad i did . its a fun land funny anime with some intresting charicters and a pretty solid story . voice acting was well done and i loved the opening song "resonance" . one thing i like about anime is they are not afraid to step outside the box when it comes to uniqe story telling . only minor problem i had with it is that the ending didnt feel very complete although compared to alot of them ive seen its a much much better ending then most .if you like anime its worth a look. Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2014
    9
    Throughout the course of it's 51-episode run "Soul Eater" manages to be a consistently engaging, fun, and unique anime experience. Each of theThroughout the course of it's 51-episode run "Soul Eater" manages to be a consistently engaging, fun, and unique anime experience. Each of the characters has their own unique personality traits and quirks that separate them from any other anime characters and make them feel more believable as people. The shows plot-lines are also enjoyable and even when episodes deviate from the main plot-threads the writing is still fantastic.

    To be honest the anime can be at it's best when episodes take on their own story, because these are the times when the shows insane and goofy sense of humor can really take hold without worries about the more serious threads. To be honest even when it is focusing on the serious this is one of the most funny anime I have ever seen. The humor alone is enough for me to make me recommend it. The show can also be really deep, touching, and emotional at times in a very mature fashion. Action isn't always the best here, and some voice actors just aren't good, but overall this is still an excellent anime that I highly recommend. My overall score for "Soul Eater" is a 9/10- Amazing.
    Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    The story of Soul Eater was very engaging. I liked the premise that the kids and their partners (their weapons, which have human forms) areThe story of Soul Eater was very engaging. I liked the premise that the kids and their partners (their weapons, which have human forms) are trying to make them worthy enough to be a weapon for their principal and leader, Death, while becoming legitimate Grim Reapers themselves. The one thing that made me want to turn it off in some episodes was the annoying Blackstar. He's just like Naruto Uzumaki in that he wants to become the strongest in the world and is just as loud and obnoxious, if not even more so. The key difference is that Naruto is pretty cool when he actually keeps himself under control and is a likeable character. Blackstar on the other hand is selfish and annoying in every single waking moment he's on screen. He always tries to be the center of attention and almost everyone at the school hates him. At least with Naruto, he only acts out because he just wants to have friends; Blackstar only acts out because he's completely self-centered and generally unlikeable.

    That being said, the twists and turns in the story kept me wanting to find out more, especially the parts where I'm like "why isn't he/she dead yet?!" Overall, the series is great and I recommend it to any anime fan who hasn't seen it yet.
    Expand
  5. Jan 15, 2011
    9
    Soul Eater is an example of doing a shonen type show correctly, it ends, has great characters, great music, great animation, and a greatSoul Eater is an example of doing a shonen type show correctly, it ends, has great characters, great music, great animation, and a great story. I can only say positive things about this show, lets start with the animation. The animation is pretty much flawless( a few shortcuts for non important stuff). The artwork is a far stretch from the manga this show is based off ,but (in my opinion) better than the manga's artwork not nearly as many small problems. The voicing is done BEAUTIFULLY (this is referring to the dub) many great voices across the board. The sub on the other hand is not very suited for the American audience the Japanese voices just don't quite nail the characters like the English. The sound and music is very nice spreading it's genre wings from Jpop to rap to rock n roll and the best part... IT WORKS, usually when you diversify music in anime the result is not very good but this somehow pulls it off. The characters are interesting takes on the extremes of human emotions Pride,Perfection,Insanity,Love,Hatred,and Greed. The characters themselves really never go beyond their certain personalities which is sad. Another sad thing is that the ending also jumps back the that old shonen standby, friendship beats anything, something that never showed up in the series before. The story ,objectively speaking, is good not too deep not too shallow (for its audience). Subjectively speaking, its very well done. All in all if your looking for a good story with a surprising ending you will find it in this excellent 51 episode show. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    Really awesome anime, in fact it is my favorite shonen anime, but sadly the anime is why too short and does not have a proper ending, Damn theReally awesome anime, in fact it is my favorite shonen anime, but sadly the anime is why too short and does not have a proper ending, Damn the anime needs to be remade after the manga ends, also after following the manga quite closely the anime after Ep 36-37 changes and becomes different compared to the manga. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2013
    4
    One of the most interesting and intriguing animes. But that intrigue quickly turns into disappointment. The linear and disjointed storylineOne of the most interesting and intriguing animes. But that intrigue quickly turns into disappointment. The linear and disjointed storyline seriously fails to achieve the greatness that this show could have had. Collapse

See all 8 User Reviews