South Beach : Season 1

  • Network: UPN
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 11, 2006
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 10 out of 81

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MerA
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    It is a great show. Fun, and full of action. I really like it.
  2. RobertY
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    Great actor/actrices, beutiful location, nice music, good story, and plenty action going on. A total combination to be 100% succesfull.
  3. SeonM
    Jan 29, 2006
    10
    Excellent acting by Vanessa Williams and Esposito. If hey would cebter the show around these two, the ratings would increase! But still, it is highly enjoyable.
  4. mneyg
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    UPN so needs to pick this up again after americas next top model
  5. QHEAD
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    This show is very intriguing i am a bit baist though partially beacuse i attend school on the beach but i love this show
  6. MariaL
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    I love the show something relaxing i look forward seeing at night beats all that violence i love the music
  7. NinaG
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    I love it ..ppl give it chance! I love it that they mix English with Spanish ..so true in real life its how we speak at home. This show is to me is not rocket science not unlike the OC and Desprate Housewives...so why such harsh reviews by the cretics??
  8. TerryH
    Jan 29, 2006
    10
    Great Show !!
  9. richies
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    amazing. oddette, marry me.
  10. PetieD
    Feb 16, 2006
    10
    Love it! Sexy, hot show with sometimes funny, bizarre plots.
  11. DanL
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    Hot locations, serious and steamy South Beach styles...AND enjoyable to watch!
  12. tanyab
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    I love this show sooo much
  13. trcja
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    how can a show get ratings when it's bounced around, one week on, next week off? people get fed up and abandon the show assuming it's not coming back!
  14. LidsR.
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    I love the show a lot, I have missed it for the last two weeks!!!, they should put a posting on the upn website, to tell the viewers what's going on with the show, and how come is absent.
  15. T.Wms.
    Mar 15, 2006
    9
    I think South Beach is a very good show. I hope it does not get cancelled the way Kevin Hill did.
  16. GeraldP
    Mar 20, 2006
    9
    Granted it's not original but finally a primetime type drama like OC where sexy black people exist... I'm all for diversity and being represented in shows like this and South Beach beats the OC hands down... Storylines and dialogue do seem a little rushed. So to the writers: Lets give the characters a little more depth and less one liners before jumping to a new scene. Overall Granted it's not original but finally a primetime type drama like OC where sexy black people exist... I'm all for diversity and being represented in shows like this and South Beach beats the OC hands down... Storylines and dialogue do seem a little rushed. So to the writers: Lets give the characters a little more depth and less one liners before jumping to a new scene. Overall the premise is interesting and exciting. Expand
  17. moem
    Mar 7, 2006
    9
    This Is a show that will keep u on the edge of your seat if you are a person who is into Drama shows.
  18. [Anonymous]
    Mar 8, 2006
    9
    I really like the show
  19. BillG
    Mar 9, 2006
    8
    Miami Vice, and Baywatch can't ask for anything more
  20. Reva
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    I love this show. I am upset. It hasn't been on for the past 2 weeks. What happened. It is sooo good.
  21. ChanelS
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    When am I going to see this awsome show again? Could someone answer me that?
  22. CherriceF
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    I loved the show. It was my night time soap oapra. I hope it comes back.
  23. MalcolmB.
    Aug 12, 2007
    9
    I think it's a really good show, if you look past the cliches and stuff, it's way cooland hey i think it's better than the o.c, so just to give support to the dead and buried, here: a 9/10
  24. JamesS
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    I'm hooked on this show, why would you take it off air. it's very appealing to young people, the critics are obviously old, fat and STUPID!! MAKE MORE SOUTH BEACH :)
  25. MaryJ
    Jan 13, 2006
    9
    Wow ! what a show, I loved the action,the beautiful models, especially Arielle, looking forward to see more.
  26. GlenW
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    The build up to the premiere was compelling and the premiere was impressive. I was blown away. I believe that this is what UPN needs to heat up their lineup. The cast was a good pick and the fight between Alex and Matt was exciting. South Beach needs to spice things up to stay on but I believe that they've got a good thing on their hands. The critics have to be tough, but the viewers The build up to the premiere was compelling and the premiere was impressive. I was blown away. I believe that this is what UPN needs to heat up their lineup. The cast was a good pick and the fight between Alex and Matt was exciting. South Beach needs to spice things up to stay on but I believe that they've got a good thing on their hands. The critics have to be tough, but the viewers need to keep the ratings up at the end of the day. I'll be catching the next episode without a doubt! Expand
  27. SC
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    Nice values Good does not always finish last
  28. PeterM
    Jan 20, 2006
    9
    I love Vanessa Williams , and Esposito also makes the show enjoyable.
  29. TerryH
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    Great Show !!
  30. BobW
    Jan 26, 2006
    9
    Entertaining! What's wrong with babes in bikini's these days? Sure beats another episode of "Xxxxing with the Stars" or any other reality show!
  31. mike
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    the show is pimp
  32. KristenE
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    I love the show its amazingly good!
  33. KasiaJ
    Feb 15, 2006
    10
    Amazing show!
  34. KeriH
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    This is my absolute favorite show! It has been a long time since I have watched one show every single week!!
  35. ELENIM
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    I absolutely love this show,one of best in a while
  36. KaniethaW
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    I love south Beach this is the best show
  37. ParisH
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    I love this show! This is the best evening soap I have watched in a long time. I love the drama, and action.
  38. QCParris
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    This show is hot! I love the setting, the script and the acting! I think the dynamic between the actors is good, and I have truly enjoyed this show. Unfortunately for me though, it looks like UPN is about to do to this show the same thing it did to the last UPN show that I gave a chance (Legacy in 1999)......they are most likely going to cancel this awesome show. Please contact the This show is hot! I love the setting, the script and the acting! I think the dynamic between the actors is good, and I have truly enjoyed this show. Unfortunately for me though, it looks like UPN is about to do to this show the same thing it did to the last UPN show that I gave a chance (Legacy in 1999)......they are most likely going to cancel this awesome show. Please contact the network and let them know you want to KEEP South Beach. SAVE THE SHOW!!! Let your voice be heard. I don't think the new CW network is considering keeping South Beach. Expand
  39. JLDub
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    I miss South Beach!!! What happened to this show? I really hope they will bring it back. The characters were diverse and beautiful. I made time to watch this show every week. They better not pull it.
  40. Kim
    May 8, 2006
    10
    This show is awesome. I'm really starting to miss it. I hope it comes back on soon.
  41. SamanthaK
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    I love to watch south beach! Why does'nt it air anymore. i want it to come back! The characters are hot and sexy and i watch it to see if matt and ari are getting back together
  42. NikiP
    Aug 21, 2006
    9
    I loved the show....is it ever coming back?? Bring it back.
  43. CeCee
    Aug 9, 2006
    9
    I liked the show, and I wanted to know what was going to happen with ari. her boyfriend was very cute. it went a little left field with the drug dealer guy though. he was too super natural
  44. BrittneyB.
    May 25, 2007
    10
    I absolutely loved this show, personally I don't know why they decided to cancel this show either. I felt that this show was like no other show on the UPN network or the CW network. I also loved the cast on there, especially Lee Thompson Young who played (Alex Burer).
  45. BrookeJ.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    OF COURSE the show was TERRIFIC!!!! I am head over heels in love with it and believe me it was one of the best shows I have ever seen.Come on tell me that somebody didn't love it and I am going to say that he was crazy.bring it back to us.PLEASE!Matt+Arielle=forever together!!!
  46. chasem
    Jan 13, 2006
    9
    I know that I'm probably in the small majority, but I thought South Beach was pretty good. Sure the writing could have used some work, what is it with Arielle and "What's that supposed to mean?" but I mean it's intriguing. So it's not exactly wow TV, neither is the O.C. and you still see a gabillion people watching that piece of crap. For me, South Beach is loads I know that I'm probably in the small majority, but I thought South Beach was pretty good. Sure the writing could have used some work, what is it with Arielle and "What's that supposed to mean?" but I mean it's intriguing. So it's not exactly wow TV, neither is the O.C. and you still see a gabillion people watching that piece of crap. For me, South Beach is loads better than the O.C. Maybe it's because Arielle reminds me of Alessandra Ambrosio, but either way, I'm tuning in next Wednesday. Expand
  47. DanDag
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    Hot!
  48. mariam
    Jan 13, 2006
    8
    This how was entertaining, I'm curious to see what happens in the next episodes.
  49. TerryH
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    Great Show !!
  50. JayR.
    Jan 18, 2006
    9
    Hate it or love it its got some hot girls
  51. JerrellH
    Jan 29, 2006
    9
    Super show.....Beautiful girls !
  52. jiet
    Feb 27, 2006
    10
    the best show ever it better come back on next week
  53. RyleeL
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    I'd like to see this show again!!!!!
  54. ElbertA
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    I loved the show
  55. LeeM.
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    I want it to come back! my friends and i got together and watched it every week. It was a great show
  56. JohnK
    May 17, 2006
    10
    All of the people with negative reviews aren't considering the fact that they're aren't many other shows out there, that are good anyway. Everyone loves desperate housewives I saw that recently and it was terrible . I'd rather watch this show anytime over DH. Get over the shows hot and your just hating.
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 14 out of 18
  1. 20
    In between all the poolside exhibitionism and dance-floor romantic politics, guns appear and faceless thugs are killed. That means our young cast members get to angst about whether they're truly in danger and some villain is going to force them to eat a loaf of bread at gunpoint.
  2. 63
    "South Beach" isn't the terrible waste of viewing time a cynic might expect. But it is a conventionally drawn, sudsy soap.
  3. 10
    The dialogue and plot contrivances are banal, the acting is cartoon and the whole thing is more transparent than a see-through bikini.