• Network: A&E
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 29, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Jan 29, 2013
    50
    There are aspects of Southie Rules that are fun, but ultimately it feels as hollow as an emptied tin of meatballs.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Jan 29, 2013
    50
    To use some Southie Vernacular, I would just book it ("run as fast as you can") from this wicked ("very") mediocre show which appears destined for the TV barrel ("trashcan").
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 29, 2013
    50
    There are some lovely shots of South Boston. Like everything else here, they've been staged.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 29, 2013
    40
    Southie Rules definitely has the characters. That's the positive news.... [But] Southie Rules is woefully short on story line, and so the producers have clearly set up situations and edited episodes in order to provide viewers with a narrative.
User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    0
    This is by far the worst show I've ever seen. It's not clever or funny in anyway. I wouldn't be surprised if it's cancelled 1/2 through theThis is by far the worst show I've ever seen. It's not clever or funny in anyway. I wouldn't be surprised if it's cancelled 1/2 through the season. It's terribly scripted and is a miserable failure. Full Review »
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    I thought the show was hilarious. Yes, it was obviously scripted or set up in parts, not pure "reality" but so what? It was funny! I don'tI thought the show was hilarious. Yes, it was obviously scripted or set up in parts, not pure "reality" but so what? It was funny! I don't think the family was "acting", at least not as much as the yuppies or other people who appeared on the show. Unbelievable situations, yes. Ridiculous timing, ok. But it was FUNNY! Come on people, no one is trying to pass this off as a documentary! Way better than Jersey Shore, Honey Boo Boo, or the Real Housewives of anywhere! If it's ok for the Kardashians to have a place on reality tv then why not Southie Rules? iI can't wait to see what kind of shenanigans the family gets into next week! Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    0
    I had very low expectations for this show, and it did not come close to reaching them. Staged reality is one thing, this is complete andI had very low expectations for this show, and it did not come close to reaching them. Staged reality is one thing, this is complete and total fiction. No one would ever believe there is any reality in this show. Even their accents, which seem authentic, seem to be a little too forced in some spots. Full Review »