• Network: NBC , TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 9, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Like "Justified," it's impossible to point to one element as the primary reason it works so well.
  2. Reviewed by: Abhimanyu Das
    Mar 19, 2012
    75
    It's a reliably engrossing hour of television, capable of switching gears from relaxed banter to shocking violence in a split second.
  3. 80
    It's the most engrossing cop series since season one of NBC's Homicide, and maybe the most raggedy and real.
  4. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Southland brims with plot twists that never, ever feel contrived.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 17, 2012
    100
    It's a bloody good, gory hour, and I don't know how Southland will top this. But I can't wait to see what's around the corner.
  6. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jan 13, 2012
    80
    This is Southland, where the emotional underpinnings of the main characters give the show its outstanding grace and depth.
  7. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 13, 2012
    83
    More and more, this series is looking like a minor classic, which I mean as a major complement. [20 Jan 2012, p.70]
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    This honestly is the best cop drama on tv, and one of the best cable shows period. No other cop drama portrays a police officers job better than this. They take real scenarios from around the country and recreate them for this show (i.e Tang's youtube video from her dash cam and the shootout in the police station, which really happened in Detroit). The show not only shows action sequences but also the little dumb calls that officers have to take. Really is a great show. Full Review »
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    I've been a fan since the gitgo. A cop show that isn't afraid to show us the seamier side of crime fighting and goes deep into numerous characters. They resolved the "drug addict" cop issue by getting him some long overdue surgery. Just as well the character was crashing with nowhere to go. And his new partner: Lucy Liu? What a great choice, and just when we think she's a little too hesitant we see why in a minute long police car video. Only question, where was her partner? The addition of Lou Diamond Phillips adds another edge; a bad cop or a good cop? Full Review »
  3. Jan 22, 2012
    3
    After watching Southland for four seasons now, i can't understand the hype anymore. It seems like the show has lost it's real, gritty feel. The thing that worked so well for Southland in it's freshmen and sophomore seasons was that it separated itself from your typical cop drama. Now, I can't help but feel like its the same as everything else in its genre. Full Review »