• Network: NBC , TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 9, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 60
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 60
  3. Negative: 6 out of 60

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    This honestly is the best cop drama on tv, and one of the best cable shows period. No other cop drama portrays a police officers job better than this. They take real scenarios from around the country and recreate them for this show (i.e Tang's youtube video from her dash cam and the shootout in the police station, which really happened in Detroit). The show not only shows action sequences but also the little dumb calls that officers have to take. Really is a great show. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    I've been a fan since the gitgo. A cop show that isn't afraid to show us the seamier side of crime fighting and goes deep into numerous characters. They resolved the "drug addict" cop issue by getting him some long overdue surgery. Just as well the character was crashing with nowhere to go. And his new partner: Lucy Liu? What a great choice, and just when we think she's a little too hesitant we see why in a minute long police car video. Only question, where was her partner? The addition of Lou Diamond Phillips adds another edge; a bad cop or a good cop? Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2012
    3
    After watching Southland for four seasons now, i can't understand the hype anymore. It seems like the show has lost it's real, gritty feel. The thing that worked so well for Southland in it's freshmen and sophomore seasons was that it separated itself from your typical cop drama. Now, I can't help but feel like its the same as everything else in its genre.
  4. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    What an amazing show! One of the few TV shows out there that gets better as the seasons progress. The actors and actresses are all top notch. I was a little hesitant when I heard the Lucy Lui would join the cast, but she was actually alright...we'll see as the season goes on. Essentially it's a "gritty" cop drama that takes place in southern LA. I read a previous review that said it's not realistic, but it's a TV SHOW and it's suppose to put you on the edge of your seat. Would you really want to watch a show about cops standing around on construction site duty? If you haven't started watching this, I would definitely recommend starting from the first episode of season one. There aren't that many episodes and it's definitely worth it! Collapse
  5. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    Solid first episode of a truly awesome show. They're definitely putting more emphasis on the street cops than the detectives this season, but, as that tends to be the more entertaining part of the show, you won't hear me complaining. And that shootout at the end was totally unexpected! Southland is still the best cop drama on TV.
  6. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    The fact that NBC canceled this show a few years ago pretty much tells you all you need to know about network television. Southland easily ranks among the best TV Cop dramas of all time. In fact I would put it right at the top. How Regina King has avoided an Emmy nomination is a mystery and C. Thomas Howell rendition of the damaged officer Dewey Dudek has made me re-assess my previous opinion of him. Fantastic show. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    A great show. Dark, gritty and surprising. Love the actors, the writing, the camera work. Last season was the best yet. Here's hoping they keep raising the bar.
  8. Sep 18, 2012
    8
    Not the instant satisfaction I got from the shield but over time it wore off on me and now I think the show is great. Not the instant satisfaction I got from the shield but over time it wore off on me and now I think the show is great.
  9. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This might be the best drama on TV right now, thanks to it's acting, and grittiness. The chaos that happens in this show you really almost never see coming, but when it hits, it hits hard. The best thing about it is the characterization and how realistic the show really is.
  10. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Not sure I would describe this show as gritty. What this show is about is portraying the lives of the police officers -- on and off the job. On the job, some of them really want to do good but they're up against the system and the show portrays their struggles. Off the job, cops are real people with real problems. At times the show is funny, at times it's sad but it always leaves you thinking wow. The show is equally great at filming action scenes (see Regina King defend a girl with a shotgun as gang members invade her home) as it is in delicately peeling the onion on Lucy Liu's character. A+!!!! Expand
  11. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    The best piece of cop drama on TV hands down. Based more on character development than shock value stunts, the cast is as diverse as anything you'll see on television. Shot in reality TV camera style filming, this show is utterly brilliant!
  12. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    For those who are interested in money making online. Amazing site, that really pays for your service. I myself made over $5000 just last week. More info you can find at MakeCash25.com
  13. Feb 11, 2013
    8
    Yes, SouthLAnd consistently delivers a raw, gritty and unfiltered adult cop drama week after week. The acting is superb again as you would expect from the small but experienced cast and although procedural, the small cast allows great attention to be given to all the characters, giving the show a more rewarding experience in comparison with the likes of Blue Bloods. What I particularly enjoy about SouthLAnd is the focus given to the officers of the LAPD, every cop show focuses on detectives solving cases, but SouthLAnd gives as much time, if not more, to Officers Sherman, Cooper etc. and their gritty dangerous day to day jobs.

    Taking a leaf out of The Shield's book and then running with it, SouthLAnd has always stood out with its brutally realistic, almost documentary style approach to filming and the fourth season is no different.
    Expand
  14. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Counting days, weeks and months for this showTo return, love the characters and the way it's filmed, I'm glad that it got renewed but unfortunately the seasons are only 10 episodes each
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Abhimanyu Das
    Mar 19, 2012
    75
    It's a reliably engrossing hour of television, capable of switching gears from relaxed banter to shocking violence in a split second.
  2. 80
    It's the most engrossing cop series since season one of NBC's Homicide, and maybe the most raggedy and real.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Like "Justified," it's impossible to point to one element as the primary reason it works so well.