• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 9, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This drama puts the spotlight on the lives of police officers living and working in Los Angeles. Southland stars Kevin Alejandro as Det. Nate Moretta, Arija Bareikis as Officer Chickie Brown, Clifton Collins Jr. as Det. Ray Suarez, Michael Cudlitz as Officer John Cooper, Shawn Hatosy as Det.This drama puts the spotlight on the lives of police officers living and working in Los Angeles. Southland stars Kevin Alejandro as Det. Nate Moretta, Arija Bareikis as Officer Chickie Brown, Clifton Collins Jr. as Det. Ray Suarez, Michael Cudlitz as Officer John Cooper, Shawn Hatosy as Det. Sammy Bryant, Regina King as Det. Lydia Adams, Michael McGrady as Det. Daniel "Sal" Salinger, and Ben McKenzie as Officer Ben Sherman.

    Created by Ann Biderman, executive producers are Ann Biderman, John Wells and Christopher Chulack. Southland is produced by John Wells Productions in association with Warner Bros. Television.
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Southland brims with plot twists that never, ever feel contrived.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 17, 2012
    100
    It's a bloody good, gory hour, and I don't know how Southland will top this. But I can't wait to see what's around the corner.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Like "Justified," it's impossible to point to one element as the primary reason it works so well.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 13, 2012
    83
    More and more, this series is looking like a minor classic, which I mean as a major complement. [20 Jan 2012, p.70]
  5. 80
    It's the most engrossing cop series since season one of NBC's Homicide, and maybe the most raggedy and real.
  6. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jan 13, 2012
    80
    This is Southland, where the emotional underpinnings of the main characters give the show its outstanding grace and depth.
  7. Reviewed by: Abhimanyu Das
    Mar 19, 2012
    75
    It's a reliably engrossing hour of television, capable of switching gears from relaxed banter to shocking violence in a split second.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This might be the best drama on TV right now, thanks to it's acting, and grittiness. The chaos that happens in this show you really almostThis might be the best drama on TV right now, thanks to it's acting, and grittiness. The chaos that happens in this show you really almost never see coming, but when it hits, it hits hard. The best thing about it is the characterization and how realistic the show really is. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    A great show. Dark, gritty and surprising. Love the actors, the writing, the camera work. Last season was the best yet. Here's hoping theyA great show. Dark, gritty and surprising. Love the actors, the writing, the camera work. Last season was the best yet. Here's hoping they keep raising the bar. Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    This honestly is the best cop drama on tv, and one of the best cable shows period. No other cop drama portrays a police officers job betterThis honestly is the best cop drama on tv, and one of the best cable shows period. No other cop drama portrays a police officers job better than this. They take real scenarios from around the country and recreate them for this show (i.e Tang's youtube video from her dash cam and the shootout in the police station, which really happened in Detroit). The show not only shows action sequences but also the little dumb calls that officers have to take. Really is a great show. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Not sure I would describe this show as gritty. What this show is about is portraying the lives of the police officers -- on and off the job.Not sure I would describe this show as gritty. What this show is about is portraying the lives of the police officers -- on and off the job. On the job, some of them really want to do good but they're up against the system and the show portrays their struggles. Off the job, cops are real people with real problems. At times the show is funny, at times it's sad but it always leaves you thinking wow. The show is equally great at filming action scenes (see Regina King defend a girl with a shotgun as gang members invade her home) as it is in delicately peeling the onion on Lucy Liu's character. A+!!!! Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    What an amazing show! One of the few TV shows out there that gets better as the seasons progress. The actors and actresses are all top notch.What an amazing show! One of the few TV shows out there that gets better as the seasons progress. The actors and actresses are all top notch. I was a little hesitant when I heard the Lucy Lui would join the cast, but she was actually alright...we'll see as the season goes on. Essentially it's a "gritty" cop drama that takes place in southern LA. I read a previous review that said it's not realistic, but it's a TV SHOW and it's suppose to put you on the edge of your seat. Would you really want to watch a show about cops standing around on construction site duty? If you haven't started watching this, I would definitely recommend starting from the first episode of season one. There aren't that many episodes and it's definitely worth it! Collapse
  6. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    I've been a fan since the gitgo. A cop show that isn't afraid to show us the seamier side of crime fighting and goes deep into numerousI've been a fan since the gitgo. A cop show that isn't afraid to show us the seamier side of crime fighting and goes deep into numerous characters. They resolved the "drug addict" cop issue by getting him some long overdue surgery. Just as well the character was crashing with nowhere to go. And his new partner: Lucy Liu? What a great choice, and just when we think she's a little too hesitant we see why in a minute long police car video. Only question, where was her partner? The addition of Lou Diamond Phillips adds another edge; a bad cop or a good cop? Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2012
    3
    After watching Southland for four seasons now, i can't understand the hype anymore. It seems like the show has lost it's real, gritty feel.After watching Southland for four seasons now, i can't understand the hype anymore. It seems like the show has lost it's real, gritty feel. The thing that worked so well for Southland in it's freshmen and sophomore seasons was that it separated itself from your typical cop drama. Now, I can't help but feel like its the same as everything else in its genre. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.