• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 9, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Southland Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Tom Everett Scott, Arija Bareikis, Michael Cudlitz
  • Summary: After being cancelled by NBC, John Wells' drama about the Los Angeles police department finds a new home on TNT.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
  • Creator: Ann Biderman
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Apr 9, 2009
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. What Southland has, already, is its own swagger, a get-outta-my-way style of moving and talking that says it's going for the raw edges we see on cable shows like "Breaking Bad." Southland pulls it off, too. If Thursday night's premiere episode is an indication how it plans to roll, it's a keeper.
  2. Reviewed by: Randee Dawn
    80
    It's compelling from minute one to credit roll--exciting, smart, realistic and brilliant, all in one brightly lit package.
  3. Action and tight-squeeze situations outweigh eloquent pronouncements about 100 to 1 on this drama from ER's John Wells. It may not be the greatest show on Earth, but it's the most powerful cop drama in a few years.
  4. Of the two new cop shows this week, Southland is the more serious and realistic. It also demonstrates the potential for greater depth in its exploration of characters and their stories.
  5. 70
    If the genre is no longer groundbreaking, it's still compelling in skilled hands.
  6. 70
    The show is what it is--no surprises, no disappointments.
  7. 37
    Southland is unbearable--a pretentious, foul-mouthed, overly arty chore that will leave you with a headache should you linger too long.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 4 out of 41
  1. marks
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    Amazing! super realistic cop show! not the typical "crime happens-solve crime- catch bad guy" this show deals with the day to day emotional Amazing! super realistic cop show! not the typical "crime happens-solve crime- catch bad guy" this show deals with the day to day emotional aspects of police officers and what they are faced with every day! everything that is said and done by the actors is super realistic! well acted! very realistic! Best cop show in a long time! Expand
  2. NoahF
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Best new show. I can;t believe it got canceled. T.V. is starting to suck again. I think I just won't watch it. Bring Southland back! To Best new show. I can;t believe it got canceled. T.V. is starting to suck again. I think I just won't watch it. Bring Southland back! To me this is like Law and Order or CSI but more realistic. Which only makes it come across graphic and unafraid. Some of the scenes I felt like I almost couldn't watch. It was great! Collapse
  3. DaveJ
    May 20, 2009
    10
    This show is the uniform partner to NYPD Blue. As a retired police sergeant I can see the real life street situations in this show. It is not This show is the uniform partner to NYPD Blue. As a retired police sergeant I can see the real life street situations in this show. It is not for everyone since most of the low votes on here are people that know nothing about law enforcement on the street level. The old saying is 90% of police work is done in 19% of the time. Homicide was great, NYPD Blue was great, Police Story was great, Law & Order was/is below fair and some of the others that I cannot remember are below average. ER was not a real ER because I have worked in a real ER so those who knock Southland probably have never been a cop or worked the streets. This show is realistic and those who say it is not just don't know and have never been there. If you showed police on patrol it would be boring as most shifts are but you do want action and Southland gives you action. COPS is just the interesting part of the shift not the boring part. Expand
  4. MitchG
    May 18, 2009
    9
    With the Shield coming to an end and Sons of Anarchy inbetween seasons, I find that Southland is my current favorite show. Creative ongoing With the Shield coming to an end and Sons of Anarchy inbetween seasons, I find that Southland is my current favorite show. Creative ongoing and episodic writing and good performances make for a decent show. The only thing that bugs me to no end is the use of beeping out profanity, While it would be less realistic to leave the language out, the beep reminds me that I'm watching a TV show and immediately pulls me out of the story. They should just blank out the sound on the "offensive language. Expand
  5. Sep 13, 2010
    8
    I can't help comparing Southland to The Shield - perhaps because of the LA setting. Certainly, the show doesn't shy away from a toughI can't help comparing Southland to The Shield - perhaps because of the LA setting. Certainly, the show doesn't shy away from a tough representation of the LAPD, though it doesn't make corruption its central theme like The Shield did.

    In fact the one complaint I might level againt the show is the lack of a central story. The characters do evolve a little over the course of the series but the show never really carries a thread to full completion, and it sometimes feels like it's showing random snippets from different characters - more "a day in the life..." rather than "the story off...". However, because of this the show also has a pretty unique style, and over the 12 episodes it works really well.
    Expand
  6. ChuckC
    Apr 12, 2009
    6
    I'm not psychic, so I never got the connection with the "ants" in the alley and in her apartment??? What makes writers think we I'm not psychic, so I never got the connection with the "ants" in the alley and in her apartment??? What makes writers think we understand something that has no credibility? I'll watch once more to make my final decision Expand
  7. petes
    Apr 16, 2009
    0
    The show is really horrible. First they bleep out words - how asinine is that? Don't try to make it like reality if it is so fake. The show is really horrible. First they bleep out words - how asinine is that? Don't try to make it like reality if it is so fake. Police draw their weapons a few times in their career not a few times a shift. How can you drive down the street and not see a baby sitting in the middle of the road? I mean it isn't like it is a bouncing ball that appeared all of a sudden. Not to mention once they stop there are several calls driving by. I guess they were at the right place at the right time. Thank goodness for the police. After this guy jumps through a window shoots at the cops and pulls a knife on them they calmly shoot him with a bean bag shot gun and just walk away like its no big deal. Besides it being so fake it is really written horribly - beside a little bit of action it is a complete waste of time. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.