User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 411 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 411

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. deafheaven
    Jan 25, 2010
    7
    I like it. Some of the acting was a little weak but the major players were quite good. Loved the look of it but recognize that many will not. I think comic book fans will "get it" more than others. The freeze frames with the blood splattering are typical comic book images. Looks like it's going to be a weekly guilty pleasure for me.
  2. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    After watching the first episode I wasn't sure what I was getting into. The second and third episodes didn't help much but I really found myself getting into the series and the characters as the series went along. I think some may have been a bit over-sensitive about the nudity and blood, yes they are a bit over done sure but some of it IS plot worthy, for example showing how theAfter watching the first episode I wasn't sure what I was getting into. The second and third episodes didn't help much but I really found myself getting into the series and the characters as the series went along. I think some may have been a bit over-sensitive about the nudity and blood, yes they are a bit over done sure but some of it IS plot worthy, for example showing how the slaves were treated by those above them, and how the Romans viewed anyone who wasn't one of them as something to be poked, prodded and laughed at (or cheered as they are killed), the plots towards the end of the series are woven together strongly and the seriously evil Batiatus and Asher pull off some stunning moves. Perhaps some who want to compare this to gladiator and 300 should watch those and then watch again, style wise I can't argue, but overall they are very different beasts. I found myself caught up in the sorrow of the minor characters like Crixus and Barca, the sad Mira who is just abused over and over again, and the sad Varro and his wife who, in my opinion, has the best 'kill' scene ever put down on film. I hope they learn plenty from what they did with the first season and I look forwards to more. It's not perfect, but it's very enjoyable. Expand
  3. John
    Jan 28, 2010
    8
    The start of this show is quite ordinary and leaves a lot to be desired, I did however have the privilege of seeing a pre-air of episode 2 and the show definitely gets a lot better in that episode. It is unfortunate that Starz did not make this a 2 hour premiere based on eps 1 and 2, if it did so it would have gotten a much higher rating on metacritic than what it has now. For those that The start of this show is quite ordinary and leaves a lot to be desired, I did however have the privilege of seeing a pre-air of episode 2 and the show definitely gets a lot better in that episode. It is unfortunate that Starz did not make this a 2 hour premiere based on eps 1 and 2, if it did so it would have gotten a much higher rating on metacritic than what it has now. For those that haven't seen episode 2, please don't pass judgment on this show until you do. Expand
  4. ChrisR.
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    WOW!! I couldn't get enough. Best original TV series pushing the limits of realism and imagery. Lots of action, blood and nudity. Movie quality scenes all rolled up into a tight one hour action package. Keep the episodes coming and never cancel this show.
  5. RobinF.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    The best, goriest, nakedest, most original series since Showtime's Queer as Folk (2000-2005). In fact, the best series to come along since maybe ABC's 1988-2001 China Beach.
  6. TraceW.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    Awesome retooling of the classic story, replete with more blood and guts than anything ever shown on Rome or E.R. even. Andy Whitfield is probably the newest stud in Hollywood, and post-Xena Warrior Princess Lucy Lawless is even more flawless than her perfect breasts. The best show of the decade.
  7. SamuelG.
    Jan 27, 2010
    8
    I actually really enjoyed it. I think it will take open minded people to like it also. It's a genre show. Of course the Pilot wasn't has good has the 2 second episode but I think Sam Raimi will really be able to make something entertaining out of it, and it's what important, entertaining, A lot of sex, nudity, violence and blood. Which is something that I need to respect. I actually really enjoyed it. I think it will take open minded people to like it also. It's a genre show. Of course the Pilot wasn't has good has the 2 second episode but I think Sam Raimi will really be able to make something entertaining out of it, and it's what important, entertaining, A lot of sex, nudity, violence and blood. Which is something that I need to respect. Most of producers are just afraid to show, swear or spill to much blood. This is really pissing me off. Were not in 1950 anymore, we need to be open to those kind of real human conditions. Again, this is a genre show, fans of cartoons, Sin City, Kill Bill or other movies of the kind should like it. In the end, it's not the best show on the air, it's probably not going to get any prizes, but it's fun, entertaining and the people in the show assume themselves. So bring me more of it! Expand
  8. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    Superb in every way, especially the amazing finale. The series started slowly, like a conjuring trick full of misdirection, and sped up to a ridiculous velocity by the end. I cannot wait for the second season. Absolutely gripping stuff indeed.
  9. Sep 13, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spartacus is a well-executed show with an engaging central storyline. People tend to get hung up on the nudity (come on, we've all seen it before) and the violence (well it *is* about a gladiator - a pretty violent life), but there's also a lot going on besides that, from the central character's quest to gain freedom and rescue his wife, to Batiatus' political ambitions, to Crixus' affection for Naevia. Expand
  10. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    The critics get it wrong... Zena - in rare form, orgies, blood, sex, drama, violence and treachery. What more could you ask for? And why would you want to?
  11. Oct 13, 2010
    9
    Muy buena serie!!!!!, altamente recomendable. Mucha acción y drama, hiperrealismo. Muy buen vestuario. Buenas actuaciones. Pienso que la serie se acerca mucho a las costumbres de los romanos (o no?).
  12. CBZ
    Mar 8, 2011
    9
    This is a thrilling show, with epic fights and intrigue. Many aspects of it are exaggerated but thats what it makes it unique and addicting. It reminds me of the movie 300. I encourage you to watch 2 or three episodes since it might take a little to get used to the characters and the plot, after that you wont regret it.
  13. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Watching this show progress up until its fantastic finale has been a real treat. At first glance this show my come off as just a show that indulges itself in blood and sex simply to be nothing more than a guilty pleasure, but as it progresses you quickly see "Blood and Sand" for what it really is. It's a dark tale featuring many different characters all with their own goals and plans thatWatching this show progress up until its fantastic finale has been a real treat. At first glance this show my come off as just a show that indulges itself in blood and sex simply to be nothing more than a guilty pleasure, but as it progresses you quickly see "Blood and Sand" for what it really is. It's a dark tale featuring many different characters all with their own goals and plans that they would do anything to see come into reality. Characters are driven by lust for power or vengeance, and would resort to lies, murder, backstabbing, blackmailing, and just all around treachery to achieve power, fortune, and glory. The show takes place in a time when slavery was around, and the lives of these slaves were looked at as nothing more than tools to be used to further their masters goals. It's a brutal show and one that its characters can be quickly loved or hated or both. The shows twists and turns will catch you off guard at times, and the whole thing comes down to one brutal and satisfying conclusion. "Spartacus: Blood and Sand" is unlike any show I have seen before. It's filled with heartbreaking moments, tense moments where I was one the edge of my seat, an moments where I just couldn't help roaring with the in show crowd when a gladiator fell in the arena. It's tense, brutal, satisfying, and one of the best shows I've ever watched. Expand
  14. Jan 14, 2011
    9
    This show does take off slow but after a few episodes my husband and I were hooked. It does have a little to much nudity but if you can overlook that and give it a chance you kind of get sucked in to it. We have been waiting for season 2. There are very few shows than my husband and I will both like, when this show came on it felt like date night for us to watch and enjoy a programThis show does take off slow but after a few episodes my husband and I were hooked. It does have a little to much nudity but if you can overlook that and give it a chance you kind of get sucked in to it. We have been waiting for season 2. There are very few shows than my husband and I will both like, when this show came on it felt like date night for us to watch and enjoy a program together. We can't wait until season two begins. Expand
  15. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    I haven't watch any other TV series about the ancient gladiator thingy. So so far this is the best gladiatoral TV series i've ever watched. especially this season, each episode is interesting and each episode is not letting me down, keep me addicted to watch on the next episode. I understand why some people are whining about the nudity and gory stuff, but in my opinion its just to show andI haven't watch any other TV series about the ancient gladiator thingy. So so far this is the best gladiatoral TV series i've ever watched. especially this season, each episode is interesting and each episode is not letting me down, keep me addicted to watch on the next episode. I understand why some people are whining about the nudity and gory stuff, but in my opinion its just to show and give us the point how the ancient rome back then. Expand
  16. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    What can I say, absolutely hated the premier thought it was cheesy, left it for a few months and have been completely engaged since. Well written, for the most part very well acted, wonderfully filmed and a story that is challenging and is some of the most ballsy as hell TV in a long time, with a complexity in story that at first is thrown away for the pleasure of the violence and sexWhat can I say, absolutely hated the premier thought it was cheesy, left it for a few months and have been completely engaged since. Well written, for the most part very well acted, wonderfully filmed and a story that is challenging and is some of the most ballsy as hell TV in a long time, with a complexity in story that at first is thrown away for the pleasure of the violence and sex but soon becomes the real draw. While the violence and sex is at times shocking, it is no more pornographic than shows such as Bones, CSI with its repellent casual treatment of murder and its abused victims, which they like to show in horrific pornographic detail.. As Spartacus progress it seduces the viewer more and more till it is unmissable, a guilty pleasure that is worth every moment and deserves far more attention. Expand
  17. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing! Not sure where it can go from here, but I am looking forward to it. For those complaining of the sex and violence- get a clue. This is a realistic depiction, not the Americanized Puritan take. If you can't handle the truth, go watch Disney.
  18. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    Not at amazing as Game of Thornes but pretty DARN close!!!!!! Wow, how many words does it take to get to 150 characters???? I love this show, especially nude scenes.
  19. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    From start to finish, an enthralling adventure with some shocking moments. I cannot understand why critics (and users) could have rated one of TV's best shows anything under 8 stars.
  20. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Outstanding Action Series! I love the "300" Graphic-Novel Style of this production!!! The only complaint that I could give is that there should have been MORE Episodes! I HIGHLY recommend this series to everyone!
  21. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    the series starts of SLOW and on a VERY small budget but the story just gets better and better. so some of the actors may not be "hollywood" (whatever that is) level, but they never are in these things and to be honest i have no issues with it anyway as i have bonded to many of the characters in it with no probs. the ONE proper grumble i have is that they do need to tone down the nuditythe series starts of SLOW and on a VERY small budget but the story just gets better and better. so some of the actors may not be "hollywood" (whatever that is) level, but they never are in these things and to be honest i have no issues with it anyway as i have bonded to many of the characters in it with no probs. the ONE proper grumble i have is that they do need to tone down the nudity and bad language. i know i sound like a 90 year old there but its all a little overdone to the respect it losses its meaning SOMETIMES, a lot of the time its good though. its a crying shame one of the lady's (no spoiler) has to die so soon because she was HOT. any way the main reason i give this a 9 is because i have never felt so much about characters in a series, this has to be good because im engaged in the story. a story which gets very good later in the series. the episode "party favors" shocked me so much to the core i was just left speechless. no other tv series has had that effect on me so for that i think this is a WIN and i cant wait for the next one. Expand
  22. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Highly entertaining, well acted, controversial, bloody TV Viagra. The stories and the characters who portray them get more and more enticing, as the show goes on and on it thrills and makes you get down on your knees and beg for more.
  23. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    The most rewarding series since the Wire. Slow start.. compelling middle.. brutal end. Without a shadow of a doubt the best new series to hit tv in the last decade.
  24. gregoryf
    Jan 24, 2010
    0
    What a piece of crap! Bad CG, bad dialogue, bad acting, and bad directing. A poor attempt to rip off 300, Gladiator, and Rome. I cant believe Starz order a second season of this garbage already. What a joke!
  25. BobD.
    Jan 27, 2010
    0
    This show looks like it was written and directed by a 13 year old boy. It is horrible and unwatchable.
  26. EliasC.
    Jan 22, 2010
    0
    As a fan and student of all things ancient Roman, it grieves me to say I absolutely hated this production. Borrowing heavily from the movie '300', a mythical version of Rome, inspiration from the movie 'Caligula', and the most awful digital effects ever, I can only wonder about where the brains were for the creators of this publicity overhyped monstrosity of a As a fan and student of all things ancient Roman, it grieves me to say I absolutely hated this production. Borrowing heavily from the movie '300', a mythical version of Rome, inspiration from the movie 'Caligula', and the most awful digital effects ever, I can only wonder about where the brains were for the creators of this publicity overhyped monstrosity of a productions. The 1st episode named 'Spartacus: Blood and Sand' would be more appropriately named 'Spartacus: Blood and Tits'. Naked men, naked woman, and in winter no less.The second episode should be more appropriately named 'Spartacus: Blood and Dicks'. And you can take my meaning from that title or enjoy the homo-eroticism of this second episode. No, definitely not for family viewing. Pay cable is supposed to to stand out from the ordinary drek of network television. This show proves that pay cable can be as bad as the worst of network television. Unless you are truly into sex and porn violence, can take bad acting, terrible scripts, and distorted history, avoid this mess. And you must watch this, be sure to keep a bucket handy to vomit into. I nominate this show for the 'worst ten television shows of all time' list. Expand
  27. Jan 26, 2011
    0
    This series is totally unrealistic and full of historical mistakes, yes I know it is a fiction, but it should remain at least plausible, virtually the entire series is shot in computer graphics, spurts of blood every 5 minutes, the acting is really poor, you feel nothing real in this series, apart from the pretty girls who are often bare;-)) I do not really see anything else of interest...
  28. Apr 21, 2011
    1
    After watching the first episode of Spartacus, I thought to myself "how much money does this network really have to waste?" Besides the terribly overdone CGI and the ridiculous amounts of unrealistic blood spray, the acting is superficial at best. The only bonus to watching this show is the amount of nudity that it offers, which after a while becomes boring. The language, vulgarity andAfter watching the first episode of Spartacus, I thought to myself "how much money does this network really have to waste?" Besides the terribly overdone CGI and the ridiculous amounts of unrealistic blood spray, the acting is superficial at best. The only bonus to watching this show is the amount of nudity that it offers, which after a while becomes boring. The language, vulgarity and lack of intelligent writing is one of my many complaints about this show. It is also inaccurate historically and wholly lacking any deep philosophical meaning. This show is an abortion of talent, money and costuming. They tried to fill the gap that HBOs Rome left behind and sorely missed. Rome had a talented cast, real skylines and terrain, realistic battles and beautiful writing. Spartacus meets none of these points in my opinion and should not be housed on the same shelf. I am two episodes away from finishing the worst series I have ever had the displeasure of watching on television to date. Avoid the blood spray at all cost. Expand
  29. Nov 25, 2011
    1
    Looks like a Xena: warrior princess episode with gay soft porn in it. This show is all about making money out of the 300 trend without spending too much on scenarists, actors, director. Look elsewhere for historical accuracy.
  30. Jan 23, 2012
    0
    Bad acting
    Terrible Effects
    Non entertaining story WAAAYYY too much sex and too much sex this is just a humble jumble of crap mixed in with totally unneeded nudity. they somehow think its more dramatic when you show someone banging another person. JUST IMPLY IT. if i wanna watch porn, ill watch porn. And the blood scenes are terrible. they go way overboard with how much blood there is.
    Bad acting
    Terrible Effects
    Non entertaining story
    WAAAYYY too much sex
    and too much sex

    this is just a humble jumble of crap mixed in with totally unneeded nudity. they somehow think its more dramatic when you show someone banging another person. JUST IMPLY IT. if i wanna watch porn, ill watch porn. And the blood scenes are terrible. they go way overboard with how much blood there is. just because you scratched someone on the arm doesnt mean blood will explode everywhere.
    Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    83
    After artistic duds like the TV version of "Crash," Starz may have found its destination series in Spartacus. This might prove to be the not-at-all-guilty pleasure of the season.
  2. Though the violence is designed to be gorgeous, like a graphic novel, it doesn’t have the pacing of a comic book. The creators of Spartacus: Blood and Sand seem a little too enamored of their ability to sketch a vast Thracian tableau, a fight scene, or a coliseum full of cheering CGI Italians.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    58
    After Spartacus blows most of its special-effects budget on the pilot, it settles into a not-bad sword-and-sandal genre series, a la "Xena" or "Hercules."