Spartacus: Blood and Sand Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 411 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Spartacus is a Roman soldier who is forced to become a gladiator in the premium cable network's latest drama that promises more gore and sex than "300" or HBO's "Rome."
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    83
    After artistic duds like the TV version of "Crash," Starz may have found its destination series in Spartacus. This might prove to be the not-at-all-guilty pleasure of the season.
  2. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    75
    There's no denying that stylized decapitations are entertaining, especially when accompanied by a generous helping of soft porn.
  3. Eventually, the series makes way for just enough plot to give our poor, overstimulated eyes a rest. There's a bit of political maneuvering, fierce rivalries, the examination of slavery vs. free will, ludus-yard hazing and even romance.
  4. Some viewers will be riveted to the sex, violence, beautiful nude bods and sensory gluttony of Spartacus: Blood and Sand. Others will be turned off almost instantly.
  5. 50
    There's no denying that Spartacus does what it sets out to do fairly well--and in a way that doesn't duplicate anything else now on TV. Were it broadcast free over the air where children might find it, one might blanch, but that's not the case.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    40
    Spartacus is derivative as entertainment and primitively pandering as a diverting spectacle of campy historical fiction.
  7. Spartacus is an exercise in some of the worst writing, acting and directing you'll ever see (or not).

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 64
  2. Negative: 17 out of 64
  1. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    I checked and definitely like it.
    I recommend to those who came to the "300" and "Gladiator" film.
    The excessively bloody scenes of obscene
    I checked and definitely like it.
    I recommend to those who came to the "300" and "Gladiator" film.
    The excessively bloody scenes of obscene speech (and sex) because of over 18 years!
    One of the best shows I've ever seen.
    Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    Superb in every way, especially the amazing finale. The series started slowly, like a conjuring trick full of misdirection, and sped up to aSuperb in every way, especially the amazing finale. The series started slowly, like a conjuring trick full of misdirection, and sped up to a ridiculous velocity by the end. I cannot wait for the second season. Absolutely gripping stuff indeed. Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    the series starts of SLOW and on a VERY small budget but the story just gets better and better. so some of the actors may not be "hollywood"the series starts of SLOW and on a VERY small budget but the story just gets better and better. so some of the actors may not be "hollywood" (whatever that is) level, but they never are in these things and to be honest i have no issues with it anyway as i have bonded to many of the characters in it with no probs. the ONE proper grumble i have is that they do need to tone down the nudity and bad language. i know i sound like a 90 year old there but its all a little overdone to the respect it losses its meaning SOMETIMES, a lot of the time its good though. its a crying shame one of the lady's (no spoiler) has to die so soon because she was HOT. any way the main reason i give this a 9 is because i have never felt so much about characters in a series, this has to be good because im engaged in the story. a story which gets very good later in the series. the episode "party favors" shocked me so much to the core i was just left speechless. no other tv series has had that effect on me so for that i think this is a WIN and i cant wait for the next one. Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    at first you are shocked by its bad language, extreme violence, gore and high sexual content, but once you get to know its characters and theat first you are shocked by its bad language, extreme violence, gore and high sexual content, but once you get to know its characters and the complex political intrigue you just cant stop watching. Best drama series on tv for years. Expand
  5. deafheaven
    Jan 25, 2010
    7
    I like it. Some of the acting was a little weak but the major players were quite good. Loved the look of it but recognize that many will not. I like it. Some of the acting was a little weak but the major players were quite good. Loved the look of it but recognize that many will not. I think comic book fans will "get it" more than others. The freeze frames with the blood splattering are typical comic book images. Looks like it's going to be a weekly guilty pleasure for me. Collapse
  6. EricaL.
    Jan 27, 2010
    3
    If only the nudity was toned down I could possibly sit through the show, too bad.
  7. C.D.
    Jan 25, 2010
    0
    I was expecting something more...That had to be the biggest turd of a show. Horrible writing, acting, special effects. I couldn't stop I was expecting something more...That had to be the biggest turd of a show. Horrible writing, acting, special effects. I couldn't stop laughing, not because it was funny, but because it was supposed to be serious. Watch at your own risk. Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.