• Network: Starz
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 21, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 18, 2011
    40
    Still, worrying overly much about plot misses the point. Spartacus is all about atmosphere, and even its cheesy "300"-type visual style (a little more polished than last time) and slow-motion action exist entirely to advance that aspect.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 20, 2011
    25
    Unadulterated rubbish, and exactly what fans expect. Bravo, Starz.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 21, 2011
    67
    Starz's Spartacus - Gods of the Arena is endlessly creative when it comes to all things stabby. It seems to have a bottomless bucket of fake blood in its production budget.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 21, 2011
    75
    It's obviously not for the squeamish, nor perhaps for the refined. But it's al-i-i-i-i-i-ve in so many ways. So what the hell, let's rock.
  5. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Jan 20, 2011
    50
    The result is a production even more fantastically soapy than the first, visually elevated by an apocalyptic video-game look in which the orgiastic sex and violence are presented with a studied, syncopated choreography.
  6. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Jan 18, 2011
    75
    Spartacus Minus Spartacus is an engrossing piece of wheel spinning.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Do not be dissuaded by the promotional material for this show depicting lots of flashy sex and violence. This is no '300' clone. Beneath the veneer lies a show with profound depth and character development, and one of the best plots I have ever seen on any screen. This speaks even more to the original Spartacus season, which literally had me and my friends on the edge of our seats. Give it four episodes to work out its identity and the story will catch you like a fish on a hook. Watch it with your friends. Me and my buddies have been doing a weekly Spartacus night for months with no girls allowed. Highest Marks! GO out of your way to watch this! Full Review »
  2. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    I have to admit, when the Celtic gladiator came out all smiles and joking around, I thought Damn, I hope this isnt "the replacement" for Spartacus. However by the middle of the show I thought his character was fantastic! If you liked the first season, this prequel will impress you too! It has a lot of potential.

    In the end I think 'Gods of the Arena' is going to be pulling off another 10/10 Im very impressed ;-)
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 29, 2011
    8
    Gods of the Arena is really as interesting as the first season, showing us sides of the characters we didnt knew through their past, its more then a way to wait for the second season! Full Review »