• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 21, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Spartacus: Gods of the Arena Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 135 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The prequel to Spartacus: Blood and Sand features the life of the first gladiator of Capua, Gannicus (Dustin Clare).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Jan 18, 2011
    75
    Spartacus Minus Spartacus is an engrossing piece of wheel spinning.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 21, 2011
    75
    It's obviously not for the squeamish, nor perhaps for the refined. But it's al-i-i-i-i-i-ve in so many ways. So what the hell, let's rock.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 21, 2011
    67
    Starz's Spartacus - Gods of the Arena is endlessly creative when it comes to all things stabby. It seems to have a bottomless bucket of fake blood in its production budget.
  4. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Jan 20, 2011
    50
    The result is a production even more fantastically soapy than the first, visually elevated by an apocalyptic video-game look in which the orgiastic sex and violence are presented with a studied, syncopated choreography.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 18, 2011
    40
    Still, worrying overly much about plot misses the point. Spartacus is all about atmosphere, and even its cheesy "300"-type visual style (a little more polished than last time) and slow-motion action exist entirely to advance that aspect.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 20, 2011
    25
    Unadulterated rubbish, and exactly what fans expect. Bravo, Starz.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    I did not voice my opinion in regards to the 1st season of this show but I would have given that a 10 as well. I can completely understand if the graphic nature can turn some viewers off immediately but it is quite close-minded to heap negative reviews upon it simply because of that. given the opportunity, the show will engross you in the character's plights due to the poignant plot material and the excellent script which sucks you into a Roman villa/arena/marketplace very well - no delivery truly feels forced for historical accuracy. Simply achieves it. Does not detach the listener with overuse of terms and lingo from the period. The storyline stems completely from the monumental gap between the noble class and commoner. No middle class existed which is a parallel to many contemporary issues. The fight to keep some spark of happiness in a life without freedom of choice, to be commanded to fight and die, or to give your body to strangers. Somehow the characters in this show keep a will to survive that is stronger than any of the evils they endure and it is a beautiful thing to see... of course that is if you can see past the fighting the scr*wing and swearing long enough to see beyond that rough appearance. I wish Andy Whitfield a swift recovery and he will be missed from the show for the duration of his absence. Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Do not be dissuaded by the promotional material for this show depicting lots of flashy sex and violence. This is no '300' clone. Beneath the veneer lies a show with profound depth and character development, and one of the best plots I have ever seen on any screen. This speaks even more to the original Spartacus season, which literally had me and my friends on the edge of our seats. Give it four episodes to work out its identity and the story will catch you like a fish on a hook. Watch it with your friends. Me and my buddies have been doing a weekly Spartacus night for months with no girls allowed. Highest Marks! GO out of your way to watch this! Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    Absolutely the best TV serious in the history of mankind. This is the perfect combination of fighting in the arena, training, corruption, sex, and scandals. Please note, that if you don't like the following you will not like Spartacus: Blood,Sex,Gore,Extreme violence, and LOTS of adult language. Don't waste your time then, because Spartacus is the best. Expand
  4. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Look at the disparity between critic and user reviews! As of the time I'm writing this, all 20 user reviews are POSITIVE. An excellent idea by Starz to create a mini-series prequel to the first season of Spartacus: Blood & Sand, Gods of the Arena delivers intriguing backstories on the major characters while introducing a few new ones. I just hope Gannicus rejoins his gladiator brothers in Vengeance. Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    All I can say is that those who are and a lot of people loved "Blood and Sand" series, they absolutely will not csalódni.A author also threw in a large shovel all téren.Csak I recommend one of the best shows I've ever seen. Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    Behind all that sex and violence are characters that you will grow to care about. And they actually put in a good story to boot. Batiatus and Lucretia stand out here the most as the best onscreen couple you'll ever see. Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2011
    7
    I won't lie; this show is the ultimate guilty pleasure. Beautiful women, even more beautiful men (all wearing as little as possible), impossibly hot sex, gravity-defying fight choreography, arterial blood spurting like the fountains of Bellagio: what's not to like? Well, the dialog is not to like. Yes, it's true that Latin lacked definite and indefinite articles, but randomly removing them from English speech makes conversations sound so stilted that it's a wonder the actors get through their lines, especially when they have to mix in profanity. I'll bet it's easier to run up a wall and dive into someone's shoulder with a gladius than it is to utter "Only my Gannicus could win contest f*cking blindfolded" or "Words fall from your mouth as sh*t from *ss." But, aside from dialog, Starz has the exuberant artifice of the series exactly right: heroes and villains engaged in action-packed melodrama, no justification, no apologies. And the hero of this prequel, played by Dustin Clare, is a treat. I like Andy Whitfield's Spartacus, of course, but it's fun to watch someone enjoying himself in the arena after all that suffering and rage. Extra points for finally showing a Gaul who keeps his long hair. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews