Spartacus: Vengeance : Season 1

  • Network: Starz
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 27, 2012
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11

Critic Reviews

  1. 60
    Both the new actor and the revamped series take some getting used to.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 23, 2012
    60
    Although Friday's season premiere is a bit confusing at times, the Spartacus world comes into better focus in episode two.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 27, 2012
    50
    With overripe dialogue that sounds like Shakespeare ground through a blender of baroque profanity, punctuated by action sequences of almost comical brutality amid orgies of debauchery, Spartacus is back with a vengeance.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 26, 2012
    50
    No matter the casting changes, Spartacus remains good, dirty fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 26, 2012
    50
    The writers may work their way out of this corner and Mr. McIntyre, who's a bit lightweight at this point, may grow into the central role. In the meantime there are still touches of the unbridled campiness that made the first season amusing.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 27, 2012
    40
    So the upstairs and the downstairs people are sorting things out this season, a process that drifts in and out of confusion.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 23, 2012
    40
    Spartacus: Vengeance is up to the same old tricks, endeavoring to give gratuitous violence and sex a good name.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 176 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    6
    Well, we're reached the part of the Spartacus story in which the personal becomes political, and, I'll admit, I'm worried. I don't think it'sWell, we're reached the part of the Spartacus story in which the personal becomes political, and, I'll admit, I'm worried. I don't think it's a good sign that Episode 2 spends so much time on the former-Doctore's back-story, which suggests a reluctance to move from the gladiatorial arena to the field of battle. The strength of this franchise has always been its unapologetic relish for brawn, boobs, and blood, for sympathetic heroes and dastardly villains, for a cartoon version of history. But, with Spartacus out of the ludus and gathering troops, things will have to get a bit more serious. Does Liam McIntyre have the necessary authority? I don't see it yet, but I'll wait to make that call. I enjoyed "Blood and Sand" and "Gods of the Arena," but "Vengeance" seems, so far, a little lost. But perhaps that is the point: that it tales a while to find your way when a simple act of defiance becomes a revolution. Full Review »
  2. Aug 15, 2012
    5
    It says a lot about critics that Vengeance was rated higher by them than Blood and Sand and Gods of the Arena-they're incredibly stupid inIt says a lot about critics that Vengeance was rated higher by them than Blood and Sand and Gods of the Arena-they're incredibly stupid in short. I don't understand why their 'season reviews' are allowed to be put up when, like on the main page of Blood and Sand, they've only seen the first episode, it's ridiculous. The first episode is the worst one, yet it gets fantastic after a quarter of the way through. Anyway, Vengeance was average-a very poor actor and lead in Liam McIntyre who is hopeless in the role, a lacklustre script, story and the direction was truly abysmal; slo-mos occurred literally every 5 seconds during fight scenes, it's like they forgot how to direct! The show's archaic dialogue was effortlessly made modern in the other series but the writing has completely diminished and McIntyre is a joke when saying his lines, making you painfully aware that what he's saying is ridiculous as well as the way he's saying it. In a way I'm glad they're ending the series after War of the Damned as that now they're out of the controlled environments of the Ludus and Arena they're hopelessly lost and don't know what to do with the story and characters. Overall, a few great episodes (though still not nearly in the same league as it's predecessors') and more than a few average and poor episodes make this season a 5/10. Full Review »
  3. Jan 27, 2012
    4
    Well the season premiere did as about as well as it could have, after killing off it's best character (John Hannah) and replacing it's mainWell the season premiere did as about as well as it could have, after killing off it's best character (John Hannah) and replacing it's main character. Which is to say... not so well. Really bummed fan here. Full Review »