• Network: Starz
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 27, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 131

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    6
    Well, we're reached the part of the Spartacus story in which the personal becomes political, and, I'll admit, I'm worried. I don't think it's a good sign that Episode 2 spends so much time on the former-Doctore's back-story, which suggests a reluctance to move from the gladiatorial arena to the field of battle. The strength of this franchise has always been its unapologetic relish for brawn, boobs, and blood, for sympathetic heroes and dastardly villains, for a cartoon version of history. But, with Spartacus out of the ludus and gathering troops, things will have to get a bit more serious. Does Liam McIntyre have the necessary authority? I don't see it yet, but I'll wait to make that call. I enjoyed "Blood and Sand" and "Gods of the Arena," but "Vengeance" seems, so far, a little lost. But perhaps that is the point: that it tales a while to find your way when a simple act of defiance becomes a revolution. Expand
  2. Jan 27, 2012
    4
    Well the season premiere did as about as well as it could have, after killing off it's best character (John Hannah) and replacing it's main character. Which is to say... not so well. Really bummed fan here.
  3. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    I was a little concerned about the direction this season was going, but after was Episode 5: Libertus, I have to say my hopes have been significantly elevated.
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    Spartacus Vengeance has got me hooked all over again. Lucretia and Illithya are the strongest characters - scheming like mad, and the Liam is doing well as Spartacus - not easy to take to at first but getting stronger as the series progresses. I'm hoping that the story will develop as well as 'Blood and Sand' and 'Gods of the Arena', but it's really looking good at the moment [UK viewer, just got past Episode 4]. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    8
    MAY CONTAIN SOME SMALL SPOILERS!!!

    YES....we all miss Andy Whitfield, he bought something special to this role, but after a few episodes I think his replacement (Liam Mcyntyre) is doing a good job, bearing in mind he has a large role to fill & has to replace someone who was very good at it. YES, we all miss John Hannah as Batiatus but his death was always inevitable for how dealt with
    certain scenario's, he did however play the part very very well & that devious political and socail attitude is missed in the show. HOWEVER, despite the obvious losses, including the replacement of Naevia (which is strange!) I still feel the show is progressing nicely, it doesn't pull too many punches, it's direct, has some nice plot direction and isn't afraid to tell a historical based story with it's own twists. Let's keep in mind how little we actually know about the history surrounding Spartacus. YES, i know, sometimes the excessive masculine hormone driven acting isn't everyone's taste, but let's also keep in mind the setting and time period this show is trying to represent. OVERALL i still really enjoy watching Spartacus & the return of Gannicus (Which was also to be expected!) is just a bonus. I am interested to see where they go with the story & where it will eventually end up. Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2012
    5
    It says a lot about critics that Vengeance was rated higher by them than Blood and Sand and Gods of the Arena-they're incredibly stupid in short. I don't understand why their 'season reviews' are allowed to be put up when, like on the main page of Blood and Sand, they've only seen the first episode, it's ridiculous. The first episode is the worst one, yet it gets fantastic after a quarter of the way through. Anyway, Vengeance was average-a very poor actor and lead in Liam McIntyre who is hopeless in the role, a lacklustre script, story and the direction was truly abysmal; slo-mos occurred literally every 5 seconds during fight scenes, it's like they forgot how to direct! The show's archaic dialogue was effortlessly made modern in the other series but the writing has completely diminished and McIntyre is a joke when saying his lines, making you painfully aware that what he's saying is ridiculous as well as the way he's saying it. In a way I'm glad they're ending the series after War of the Damned as that now they're out of the controlled environments of the Ludus and Arena they're hopelessly lost and don't know what to do with the story and characters. Overall, a few great episodes (though still not nearly in the same league as it's predecessors') and more than a few average and poor episodes make this season a 5/10. Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    3
    I am disappointed by the beginning of this season, I'm not used to the new face of Spartacus, it's not like to the late Andy Whitfield, I'm waiting for next episodes but I'm pretty sure this season will be the last one. I much prefer Spartacus "God of the arena"
  8. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    I need to say that, till now, maybe is the worst of the three seasons showed on the TV. However, this is not bad. I miss some fights in the arena, but the true story of Spartacus will show us, soon or later, this type of fights. We just need to wait. Some big think, if I'm right, is coming.
  9. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Very impressed by the acting in this season including the great twists and comic book action. I feel they made very good decision in bringing back Lucy Lawless as she was definitely a favourite with the fans.
  10. Feb 24, 2012
    2
    I do not like at all the new Spartacus actor.
    First of all he's way to small to resemble a gladiator, then his face lacks the character of the protagonist or at least his acting is way too plain in my opinion.
    I was so eager to follow my favorite TV series once more, but I was really disapponted.
    Forced myself to watch more than the first episode, but after seeing the third, I will surely
    drop this series.
    I liked Gods of the Arena much more than this one.
    Expand
  11. Feb 12, 2013
    5
    Ok, Start with the good, violence and sex is great. that's a no brain-er, if you're offended the shows not for you. i must say i find the over the top blood effects to be amusing and i think they take the edge off the gruesome wounds constantly inflicted throughout, allowing the viewer to unashamably enjoy the death.
    That being said the character spartacus has me at a loss with the
    series. to me spartacus is portrayed nothing more than an angry thug with no real vision and all the charisma of a piece of toast. to my mind liam mcyntyre is a bad cast. however even worse is the writing, leaving Liam with a collection of uninspiring dialoge to work with, ultimately making him look like a douche.
    The big problem for me is spartacus' lack of leadership and charisma has me scratching my head and wondering why anyone at all would follow him to war.
    On a lighter note love the gannicus character. I hope this show really pushes dustin claire's career along. currently awaiting epp 3 of war of damned, will finish the show now regardless. but have become much less enthused
    Expand
  12. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    Another fantastic chapter in Starz Spartacus series. "Vengeance" takes on a different feel from previous seasons in that you're no longer watching the characters fight for their masters in the arena, but instead watching them trying to survive while building an army in order to fully secure their freedom. Almost all of the original cast returns to reprise their role except for Andy Whitfield (R.I.P.) for obvious reasons, but his replacement Liam McIntyre does an excellent job. The plot is overall darker than previous seasons and you can never know who's motives to really trust. The writing is as always excellent and I was impressed to see how much the story made me sympathize with characters I previously hated and vise-versa. As always action is gory and satisfying, and the new characters introduced this season fit in perfectly with the already established cast. The only real complaint I have with "Vengeance" is that it is far too short at only 10 episodes. Still it's another fantastic season and really sets the pace for "War of the Damned". All in all I am once again impressed. Expand
  13. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    Cant compare it with the first season . So putting first season behind Spartacus: Vengeance is good . liked the characters . should be more fighting but its okey . the show started okay but now its really awesome.....
  14. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    It's enjoyable, the new Spartacus is a very good actor but he's no Andy Whitfield. So many Romans having those bloody awful New Zealand accents is very off putting though. The action scenes are well done but a bit samey now and for a woman of her age Lucy Lawless is hot and Viva Bianca is just, well orgasmic. From episode 7 it has improved drastically to be as good any of the previous series, so all in all not as good as the previous two series but still good. Expand
  15. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    A think it started a little slow, I mean the first episode is fine, then the second one is a little doll but after the third one I think it gets good, then great and then amazing. I guess we all are used to the ludus and the arena, but this is just a little part of the main history of Spartacus. I think that its getting better and better each episode, so all we need to do is be patients.
  16. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    Brilliant Show. one of the best shows on TV right now. Action packed and emotionally charged. I would definitely recommend it to people who liked Rome or Gladiator or The Tudors I hope its here to stay!
  17. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Liam McIntyre Spartacus was making me question the plot but after a couple off episodes in I did not care as the plot is very good and keep making me question what was going to happen next. Can't wait for the next series and I am glad Garrus is is back. Expand
  18. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    While this new season took a while to find its footing, I have really grown to love it. Liam, the new Spartacus, has filled out the role admirably in my opinion. Glaber, while starting out as a bland villain compared to the magnificent Batiatus of season 1, has grown more and more diabolical as events unfold. And of course Illythia and Lucretia continue to be gorgeous and deliciously evil. If the finale can go out with a bang, I can honestly say that Vengeance will be on par with Blood and Sand or Gods of the Arena. Expand
  19. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    During the first season we watched a legend be born in Spartacus: Blood and Sand and ever since the Male Lead, Andy Whitfield died last year of Lymphoma Hodgkins is was for sure a struggle to get back on the air with Spartacus. But sure enough they hired the new Spartacus, Liam McIntyre they are now back for their official season Spartacus: Vengeance. So far in the three episodes I have watched they are doing pretty well without their old lead and the show seems to be the same which is great because Blood and Sand was awesome, and there is a lot of Blood, Sex, Nudity, Language, and Adult Content to go around which is awesome. Although I must point out this show is not for the faint at heart. You should be at least 14 or 15 years-old before letting your children watch it because of it's adult content and graphicness. Buy it on DVD or watch it on Starz at home. Expand
  20. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Following on from the first series and subsequent prequel, Spartacus has developed something of cult following and true second season of the most explicit show on TV returns with Spartacus raising an army of familiar faces to take on the might of the Roman empire. The writers manage to find a way to reunite all the favourites from both previous seasons. Spartacus is played by Liam McIntye in Vengeance following Andy Whitfield's sad death and McIntyre fills the role with similar gusto to Whitfield albeit with a slight Christian Bale voice impersonation.
    Third time around its dawned on me how seriously the show takes itself. There are very few light hearted moments and I lost count of the number of grand speeches and intense stares Spartacus and Praetor Glaber give throughout the series. The seriousness of the show is in stark contrast with the attitude of Spartacus' audience, most of whom I believe watch just for fun and with tongue firmly in cheek, adding to the shows cult appeal.

    The combination of extreme gore, though impressive, and explicit sex is not quite as novel this time around but the backstabbing, bed-hopping and blood-spilling plot is still strong enough to enjoy. The finale is gripping as the action switches between Spartacus and Glaber and the scheming pair of Lucretia and Illythia.
    Expand
  21. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Well we are about to see the end of the season and boy... That was a great one! First I was a bit disappointed with the new Spartacus but after a couple of episodes he got better and better. The plot is thickening and getting richer each episode.
    Overall one of the best series on TV right now.
  22. Apr 9, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed "Blood and Sand", where there was things which one can ridicule, but was presented in a deliciously enjoyable way. The blood, gore and sex put on display brought the primitive, hidden side in each of the viewers, similar like the cheering crowds in ancient Rome. With Vengeance the plot is still amazing as I see the the events that the characters have been through have caused them to take up different turns in direction in life to better themselves, all in all I am still love in with the series and watch it faithfully. Expand
  23. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    this show is the greatespiece of entertainment known to man, action, violence, great story based on real life, this show made me feel like everything i have watched in my entire life was a waste of my time, if u don't like this show you are prob brainwashed by religion or someother ignorant group that don't like things uncensored, everything about this is high quality, the highest quality, homophobes, or violence phobes or just people who are boring won't like this, 10 out of 10 Expand
  24. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    Quite ordinary and weak compared to the first season. I wouldn't blame the new leading actor but the writers of the show. The speeches in particular get really tiring and cheesy, and the way the slaves manage to beat the Romans battle after battle get a little ridiculous, especially in the ending episode where they are stranded on a mountain. Having said that the typical love for gore, nudity and bad language is still present and effective, and I would be lying if I said I didn't enjoy all of the deaths in the final episode. Expand
  25. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    A little disappointed in the new series ...
    Towed and far-fetched ....
    The "New" Spartacus something incredible Andy poor choice of character and at least enough "time" was the role ...
    However, the boy-I think Liam was a rare bad decision ...
    .
  26. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    the 2nd season in this series was almost as good as the 1st. Liam McIntyre fills in the role of Spartacus nicely for Andy Whitefield who sadly past away :/. this season had a very dark intriguing plot to it and some of the twists were great and unexpected!. the action scenes left me stunned as always the case in the show. i loved the emotion this season portrayed especially between glaber and Spartacus and had very emotional heartbreaking moments as well and overall i felt this sequel succeeded just as well as the first introducing new characters as well. definitely my favorite show on TV right now! Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Feb 27, 2012
    100
    Well written and acted, almost perfectly paced, and entirely unlike anything else on television, Spartacus isn't just bloody good, it's bloody excellent.
  2. 60
    Both the new actor and the revamped series take some getting used to.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 27, 2012
    67
    Everything fans loved about the first season--which improved dramatically over its course, by the way--is here. Everyone is not. McIntyre is good, but he's not Whitfield, either.