Spartacus: Vengeance : Season 1

  • Network: Starz
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 27, 2012
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 144

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    I was a little concerned about the direction this season was going, but after was Episode 5: Libertus, I have to say my hopes have been significantly elevated.
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    Spartacus Vengeance has got me hooked all over again. Lucretia and Illithya are the strongest characters - scheming like mad, and the Liam is doing well as Spartacus - not easy to take to at first but getting stronger as the series progresses. I'm hoping that the story will develop as well as 'Blood and Sand' and 'Gods of the Arena', but it's really looking good at the moment [UK viewer,Spartacus Vengeance has got me hooked all over again. Lucretia and Illithya are the strongest characters - scheming like mad, and the Liam is doing well as Spartacus - not easy to take to at first but getting stronger as the series progresses. I'm hoping that the story will develop as well as 'Blood and Sand' and 'Gods of the Arena', but it's really looking good at the moment [UK viewer, just got past Episode 4]. Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2012
    8
    MAY CONTAIN SOME SMALL SPOILERS!!!

    YES....we all miss Andy Whitfield, he bought something special to this role, but after a few episodes I think his replacement (Liam Mcyntyre) is doing a good job, bearing in mind he has a large role to fill & has to replace someone who was very good at it. YES, we all miss John Hannah as Batiatus but his death was always inevitable for how dealt with
    MAY CONTAIN SOME SMALL SPOILERS!!!

    YES....we all miss Andy Whitfield, he bought something special to this role, but after a few episodes I think his replacement (Liam Mcyntyre) is doing a good job, bearing in mind he has a large role to fill & has to replace someone who was very good at it. YES, we all miss John Hannah as Batiatus but his death was always inevitable for how dealt with certain scenario's, he did however play the part very very well & that devious political and socail attitude is missed in the show. HOWEVER, despite the obvious losses, including the replacement of Naevia (which is strange!) I still feel the show is progressing nicely, it doesn't pull too many punches, it's direct, has some nice plot direction and isn't afraid to tell a historical based story with it's own twists. Let's keep in mind how little we actually know about the history surrounding Spartacus. YES, i know, sometimes the excessive masculine hormone driven acting isn't everyone's taste, but let's also keep in mind the setting and time period this show is trying to represent. OVERALL i still really enjoy watching Spartacus & the return of Gannicus (Which was also to be expected!) is just a bonus. I am interested to see where they go with the story & where it will eventually end up.
    Expand
  4. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    I need to say that, till now, maybe is the worst of the three seasons showed on the TV. However, this is not bad. I miss some fights in the arena, but the true story of Spartacus will show us, soon or later, this type of fights. We just need to wait. Some big think, if I'm right, is coming.
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Very impressed by the acting in this season including the great twists and comic book action. I feel they made very good decision in bringing back Lucy Lawless as she was definitely a favourite with the fans.
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    Another fantastic chapter in Starz Spartacus series. "Vengeance" takes on a different feel from previous seasons in that you're no longer watching the characters fight for their masters in the arena, but instead watching them trying to survive while building an army in order to fully secure their freedom. Almost all of the original cast returns to reprise their role except for AndyAnother fantastic chapter in Starz Spartacus series. "Vengeance" takes on a different feel from previous seasons in that you're no longer watching the characters fight for their masters in the arena, but instead watching them trying to survive while building an army in order to fully secure their freedom. Almost all of the original cast returns to reprise their role except for Andy Whitfield (R.I.P.) for obvious reasons, but his replacement Liam McIntyre does an excellent job. The plot is overall darker than previous seasons and you can never know who's motives to really trust. The writing is as always excellent and I was impressed to see how much the story made me sympathize with characters I previously hated and vise-versa. As always action is gory and satisfying, and the new characters introduced this season fit in perfectly with the already established cast. The only real complaint I have with "Vengeance" is that it is far too short at only 10 episodes. Still it's another fantastic season and really sets the pace for "War of the Damned". All in all I am once again impressed. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    Cant compare it with the first season . So putting first season behind Spartacus: Vengeance is good . liked the characters . should be more fighting but its okey . the show started okay but now its really awesome.....
  8. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    It's enjoyable, the new Spartacus is a very good actor but he's no Andy Whitfield. So many Romans having those bloody awful New Zealand accents is very off putting though. The action scenes are well done but a bit samey now and for a woman of her age Lucy Lawless is hot and Viva Bianca is just, well orgasmic. From episode 7 it has improved drastically to be as good any of the previousIt's enjoyable, the new Spartacus is a very good actor but he's no Andy Whitfield. So many Romans having those bloody awful New Zealand accents is very off putting though. The action scenes are well done but a bit samey now and for a woman of her age Lucy Lawless is hot and Viva Bianca is just, well orgasmic. From episode 7 it has improved drastically to be as good any of the previous series, so all in all not as good as the previous two series but still good. Collapse
  9. Dec 29, 2014
    7
    Spartacus: Vengeance truly is a show that was doomed from the beginning. First of all, Liam McIntyre, to no fault of his own, couldn't quite live up to the standard set by Andy Whitfield. Andy embodied the character of Spartacus perfectly. He made himself and that role as one, effectively ruining any chance of another character carrying the torch of Spartacus after Andy's unfortunateSpartacus: Vengeance truly is a show that was doomed from the beginning. First of all, Liam McIntyre, to no fault of his own, couldn't quite live up to the standard set by Andy Whitfield. Andy embodied the character of Spartacus perfectly. He made himself and that role as one, effectively ruining any chance of another character carrying the torch of Spartacus after Andy's unfortunate death. The second problem I had was that the feel was so drastically different from the first two seasons. Those had more of an intimate feeling where the ludus/House of Batiatus was almost a character in and of itself. Obviously with the story taking them away from that location, they tried to replace it with the new rebel encampment and they did not quite succeed. Another point of contention was the character change for Naevia. I'm not sure what reasoning they had but that always aggravates me. Lastly, I didn't like that they spent so much time on the Roman element of the story. They may have done that to diminish the impact of the change of Spartacus, I don't know. All I do know is that it felt like too drastic of a change in the way the plot developed. I understand that this review sounds overly critical and that is not my intent. The action sequences were incredible, the acting was fantastic, the drama developed well, and the atmosphere created by the style and the setting was amazing. This is still a very good season worth watching and it was part of a great show. Expand
  10. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    A think it started a little slow, I mean the first episode is fine, then the second one is a little doll but after the third one I think it gets good, then great and then amazing. I guess we all are used to the ludus and the arena, but this is just a little part of the main history of Spartacus. I think that its getting better and better each episode, so all we need to do is be patients.
  11. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    Brilliant Show. one of the best shows on TV right now. Action packed and emotionally charged. I would definitely recommend it to people who liked Rome or Gladiator or The Tudors I hope its here to stay!
  12. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Liam McIntyre Spartacus was making me question the plot but after a couple off episodes in I did not care as the plot is very good and keep making me question what was going to happen next. Can't wait for the next series and I am glad Garrus is is back. Expand
  13. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    While this new season took a while to find its footing, I have really grown to love it. Liam, the new Spartacus, has filled out the role admirably in my opinion. Glaber, while starting out as a bland villain compared to the magnificent Batiatus of season 1, has grown more and more diabolical as events unfold. And of course Illythia and Lucretia continue to be gorgeous and deliciouslyWhile this new season took a while to find its footing, I have really grown to love it. Liam, the new Spartacus, has filled out the role admirably in my opinion. Glaber, while starting out as a bland villain compared to the magnificent Batiatus of season 1, has grown more and more diabolical as events unfold. And of course Illythia and Lucretia continue to be gorgeous and deliciously evil. If the finale can go out with a bang, I can honestly say that Vengeance will be on par with Blood and Sand or Gods of the Arena. Expand
  14. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    During the first season we watched a legend be born in Spartacus: Blood and Sand and ever since the Male Lead, Andy Whitfield died last year of Lymphoma Hodgkins is was for sure a struggle to get back on the air with Spartacus. But sure enough they hired the new Spartacus, Liam McIntyre they are now back for their official season Spartacus: Vengeance. So far in the three episodes I haveDuring the first season we watched a legend be born in Spartacus: Blood and Sand and ever since the Male Lead, Andy Whitfield died last year of Lymphoma Hodgkins is was for sure a struggle to get back on the air with Spartacus. But sure enough they hired the new Spartacus, Liam McIntyre they are now back for their official season Spartacus: Vengeance. So far in the three episodes I have watched they are doing pretty well without their old lead and the show seems to be the same which is great because Blood and Sand was awesome, and there is a lot of Blood, Sex, Nudity, Language, and Adult Content to go around which is awesome. Although I must point out this show is not for the faint at heart. You should be at least 14 or 15 years-old before letting your children watch it because of it's adult content and graphicness. Buy it on DVD or watch it on Starz at home. Expand
  15. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Following on from the first series and subsequent prequel, Spartacus has developed something of cult following and true second season of the most explicit show on TV returns with Spartacus raising an army of familiar faces to take on the might of the Roman empire. The writers manage to find a way to reunite all the favourites from both previous seasons. Spartacus is played by Liam McIntyeFollowing on from the first series and subsequent prequel, Spartacus has developed something of cult following and true second season of the most explicit show on TV returns with Spartacus raising an army of familiar faces to take on the might of the Roman empire. The writers manage to find a way to reunite all the favourites from both previous seasons. Spartacus is played by Liam McIntye in Vengeance following Andy Whitfield's sad death and McIntyre fills the role with similar gusto to Whitfield albeit with a slight Christian Bale voice impersonation.
    Third time around its dawned on me how seriously the show takes itself. There are very few light hearted moments and I lost count of the number of grand speeches and intense stares Spartacus and Praetor Glaber give throughout the series. The seriousness of the show is in stark contrast with the attitude of Spartacus' audience, most of whom I believe watch just for fun and with tongue firmly in cheek, adding to the shows cult appeal.

    The combination of extreme gore, though impressive, and explicit sex is not quite as novel this time around but the backstabbing, bed-hopping and blood-spilling plot is still strong enough to enjoy. The finale is gripping as the action switches between Spartacus and Glaber and the scheming pair of Lucretia and Illythia.
    Expand
  16. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Well we are about to see the end of the season and boy... That was a great one! First I was a bit disappointed with the new Spartacus but after a couple of episodes he got better and better. The plot is thickening and getting richer each episode.
    Overall one of the best series on TV right now.
  17. Apr 9, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed "Blood and Sand", where there was things which one can ridicule, but was presented in a deliciously enjoyable way. The blood, gore and sex put on display brought the primitive, hidden side in each of the viewers, similar like the cheering crowds in ancient Rome. With Vengeance the plot is still amazing as I see the the events that the characters have been through have causedI enjoyed "Blood and Sand", where there was things which one can ridicule, but was presented in a deliciously enjoyable way. The blood, gore and sex put on display brought the primitive, hidden side in each of the viewers, similar like the cheering crowds in ancient Rome. With Vengeance the plot is still amazing as I see the the events that the characters have been through have caused them to take up different turns in direction in life to better themselves, all in all I am still love in with the series and watch it faithfully. Expand
  18. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    this show is the greatespiece of entertainment known to man, action, violence, great story based on real life, this show made me feel like everything i have watched in my entire life was a waste of my time, if u don't like this show you are prob brainwashed by religion or someother ignorant group that don't like things uncensored, everything about this is high quality, the highest quality,this show is the greatespiece of entertainment known to man, action, violence, great story based on real life, this show made me feel like everything i have watched in my entire life was a waste of my time, if u don't like this show you are prob brainwashed by religion or someother ignorant group that don't like things uncensored, everything about this is high quality, the highest quality, homophobes, or violence phobes or just people who are boring won't like this, 10 out of 10 Expand
  19. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    A little disappointed in the new series ...
    Towed and far-fetched ....
    The "New" Spartacus something incredible Andy poor choice of character and at least enough "time" was the role ...
    However, the boy-I think Liam was a rare bad decision ...
    .
  20. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    the 2nd season in this series was almost as good as the 1st. Liam McIntyre fills in the role of Spartacus nicely for Andy Whitefield who sadly past away :/. this season had a very dark intriguing plot to it and some of the twists were great and unexpected!. the action scenes left me stunned as always the case in the show. i loved the emotion this season portrayed especially between glaberthe 2nd season in this series was almost as good as the 1st. Liam McIntyre fills in the role of Spartacus nicely for Andy Whitefield who sadly past away :/. this season had a very dark intriguing plot to it and some of the twists were great and unexpected!. the action scenes left me stunned as always the case in the show. i loved the emotion this season portrayed especially between glaber and Spartacus and had very emotional heartbreaking moments as well and overall i felt this sequel succeeded just as well as the first introducing new characters as well. definitely my favorite show on TV right now! Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Feb 27, 2012
    100
    Well written and acted, almost perfectly paced, and entirely unlike anything else on television, Spartacus isn't just bloody good, it's bloody excellent.
  2. 60
    Both the new actor and the revamped series take some getting used to.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 27, 2012
    67
    Everything fans loved about the first season--which improved dramatically over its course, by the way--is here. Everyone is not. McIntyre is good, but he's not Whitfield, either.