Spartacus: Vengeance : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 27, 2012
Season #: 1, 2
Spartacus: Vengeance Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 176 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Spartacus (Liam McIntyre) leads his group of freed slaves to battle against Gaius Claudius Glaber and his legion in Capua.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Feb 27, 2012
    100
    Well written and acted, almost perfectly paced, and entirely unlike anything else on television, Spartacus isn't just bloody good, it's bloody excellent.
  2. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 19, 2012
    75
    It's fun sport. [30 Jan 2012, p.44]
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 27, 2012
    67
    Everything fans loved about the first season--which improved dramatically over its course, by the way--is here. Everyone is not. McIntyre is good, but he's not Whitfield, either.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 23, 2012
    60
    Although Friday's season premiere is a bit confusing at times, the Spartacus world comes into better focus in episode two.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 27, 2012
    50
    With overripe dialogue that sounds like Shakespeare ground through a blender of baroque profanity, punctuated by action sequences of almost comical brutality amid orgies of debauchery, Spartacus is back with a vengeance.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 26, 2012
    50
    No matter the casting changes, Spartacus remains good, dirty fun.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 23, 2012
    40
    Spartacus: Vengeance is up to the same old tricks, endeavoring to give gratuitous violence and sex a good name.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    I was a little concerned about the direction this season was going, but after was Episode 5: Libertus, I have to say my hopes have beenI was a little concerned about the direction this season was going, but after was Episode 5: Libertus, I have to say my hopes have been significantly elevated. Collapse
  2. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    While this new season took a while to find its footing, I have really grown to love it. Liam, the new Spartacus, has filled out the roleWhile this new season took a while to find its footing, I have really grown to love it. Liam, the new Spartacus, has filled out the role admirably in my opinion. Glaber, while starting out as a bland villain compared to the magnificent Batiatus of season 1, has grown more and more diabolical as events unfold. And of course Illythia and Lucretia continue to be gorgeous and deliciously evil. If the finale can go out with a bang, I can honestly say that Vengeance will be on par with Blood and Sand or Gods of the Arena. Expand
  3. Slh
    May 3, 2016
    10
    I find Spartacus Vengeance to be an overall more solid season than Blood and Sand, which had a rocky start. Newcomer Liam McIntyre may not beI find Spartacus Vengeance to be an overall more solid season than Blood and Sand, which had a rocky start. Newcomer Liam McIntyre may not be as good as Andy Whitfield, but he is serviceable enough in the role, while Manu Bennett and Dustin Clare help carry the show.

    The direction after season one is more geared toward an ensemble now anyway, as the rebellion is not about Spartacus himself. We also have Cynthia Addai-Robinson comes in as Naevia this season, who is fantastic is the part and brings more depth to the character. Wish she would have been on the show from the start.
    Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed "Blood and Sand", where there was things which one can ridicule, but was presented in a deliciously enjoyable way. The blood, goreI enjoyed "Blood and Sand", where there was things which one can ridicule, but was presented in a deliciously enjoyable way. The blood, gore and sex put on display brought the primitive, hidden side in each of the viewers, similar like the cheering crowds in ancient Rome. With Vengeance the plot is still amazing as I see the the events that the characters have been through have caused them to take up different turns in direction in life to better themselves, all in all I am still love in with the series and watch it faithfully. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    8
    MAY CONTAIN SOME SMALL SPOILERS!!!

    YES....we all miss Andy Whitfield, he bought something special to this role, but after a few episodes I
    MAY CONTAIN SOME SMALL SPOILERS!!!

    YES....we all miss Andy Whitfield, he bought something special to this role, but after a few episodes I think his replacement (Liam Mcyntyre) is doing a good job, bearing in mind he has a large role to fill & has to replace someone who was very good at it. YES, we all miss John Hannah as Batiatus but his death was always inevitable for how dealt with certain scenario's, he did however play the part very very well & that devious political and socail attitude is missed in the show. HOWEVER, despite the obvious losses, including the replacement of Naevia (which is strange!) I still feel the show is progressing nicely, it doesn't pull too many punches, it's direct, has some nice plot direction and isn't afraid to tell a historical based story with it's own twists. Let's keep in mind how little we actually know about the history surrounding Spartacus. YES, i know, sometimes the excessive masculine hormone driven acting isn't everyone's taste, but let's also keep in mind the setting and time period this show is trying to represent. OVERALL i still really enjoy watching Spartacus & the return of Gannicus (Which was also to be expected!) is just a bonus. I am interested to see where they go with the story & where it will eventually end up.
    Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2014
    7
    Spartacus: Vengeance truly is a show that was doomed from the beginning. First of all, Liam McIntyre, to no fault of his own, couldn't quiteSpartacus: Vengeance truly is a show that was doomed from the beginning. First of all, Liam McIntyre, to no fault of his own, couldn't quite live up to the standard set by Andy Whitfield. Andy embodied the character of Spartacus perfectly. He made himself and that role as one, effectively ruining any chance of another character carrying the torch of Spartacus after Andy's unfortunate death. The second problem I had was that the feel was so drastically different from the first two seasons. Those had more of an intimate feeling where the ludus/House of Batiatus was almost a character in and of itself. Obviously with the story taking them away from that location, they tried to replace it with the new rebel encampment and they did not quite succeed. Another point of contention was the character change for Naevia. I'm not sure what reasoning they had but that always aggravates me. Lastly, I didn't like that they spent so much time on the Roman element of the story. They may have done that to diminish the impact of the change of Spartacus, I don't know. All I do know is that it felt like too drastic of a change in the way the plot developed. I understand that this review sounds overly critical and that is not my intent. The action sequences were incredible, the acting was fantastic, the drama developed well, and the atmosphere created by the style and the setting was amazing. This is still a very good season worth watching and it was part of a great show. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2012
    2
    I do not like at all the new Spartacus actor.
    First of all he's way to small to resemble a gladiator, then his face lacks the character of the
    I do not like at all the new Spartacus actor.
    First of all he's way to small to resemble a gladiator, then his face lacks the character of the protagonist or at least his acting is way too plain in my opinion.
    I was so eager to follow my favorite TV series once more, but I was really disapponted.
    Forced myself to watch more than the first episode, but after seeing the third, I will surely drop this series.
    I liked Gods of the Arena much more than this one.
    Expand

See all 30 User Reviews