• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 27, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Spartacus: Vengeance Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spartacus (Liam McIntyre) leads his group of freed slaves to battle against Gaius Claudius Glaber and his legion in Capua.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Feb 27, 2012
    100
    Well written and acted, almost perfectly paced, and entirely unlike anything else on television, Spartacus isn't just bloody good, it's bloody excellent.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 19, 2012
    75
    It's fun sport. [30 Jan 2012, p.44]
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 27, 2012
    67
    Everything fans loved about the first season--which improved dramatically over its course, by the way--is here. Everyone is not. McIntyre is good, but he's not Whitfield, either.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 23, 2012
    60
    Although Friday's season premiere is a bit confusing at times, the Spartacus world comes into better focus in episode two.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 27, 2012
    50
    With overripe dialogue that sounds like Shakespeare ground through a blender of baroque profanity, punctuated by action sequences of almost comical brutality amid orgies of debauchery, Spartacus is back with a vengeance.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 26, 2012
    50
    The writers may work their way out of this corner and Mr. McIntyre, who's a bit lightweight at this point, may grow into the central role. In the meantime there are still touches of the unbridled campiness that made the first season amusing.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 23, 2012
    40
    Spartacus: Vengeance is up to the same old tricks, endeavoring to give gratuitous violence and sex a good name.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    I was a little concerned about the direction this season was going, but after was Episode 5: Libertus, I have to say my hopes have been significantly elevated. Collapse
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    this show is the greatespiece of entertainment known to man, action, violence, great story based on real life, this show made me feel like everything i have watched in my entire life was a waste of my time, if u don't like this show you are prob brainwashed by religion or someother ignorant group that don't like things uncensored, everything about this is high quality, the highest quality, homophobes, or violence phobes or just people who are boring won't like this, 10 out of 10 Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    the 2nd season in this series was almost as good as the 1st. Liam McIntyre fills in the role of Spartacus nicely for Andy Whitefield who sadly past away :/. this season had a very dark intriguing plot to it and some of the twists were great and unexpected!. the action scenes left me stunned as always the case in the show. i loved the emotion this season portrayed especially between glaber and Spartacus and had very emotional heartbreaking moments as well and overall i felt this sequel succeeded just as well as the first introducing new characters as well. definitely my favorite show on TV right now! Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    It's enjoyable, the new Spartacus is a very good actor but he's no Andy Whitfield. So many Romans having those bloody awful New Zealand accents is very off putting though. The action scenes are well done but a bit samey now and for a woman of her age Lucy Lawless is hot and Viva Bianca is just, well orgasmic. From episode 7 it has improved drastically to be as good any of the previous series, so all in all not as good as the previous two series but still good. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    8
    MAY CONTAIN SOME SMALL SPOILERS!!!

    YES....we all miss Andy Whitfield, he bought something special to this role, but after a few episodes I
    think his replacement (Liam Mcyntyre) is doing a good job, bearing in mind he has a large role to fill & has to replace someone who was very good at it. YES, we all miss John Hannah as Batiatus but his death was always inevitable for how dealt with certain scenario's, he did however play the part very very well & that devious political and socail attitude is missed in the show. HOWEVER, despite the obvious losses, including the replacement of Naevia (which is strange!) I still feel the show is progressing nicely, it doesn't pull too many punches, it's direct, has some nice plot direction and isn't afraid to tell a historical based story with it's own twists. Let's keep in mind how little we actually know about the history surrounding Spartacus. YES, i know, sometimes the excessive masculine hormone driven acting isn't everyone's taste, but let's also keep in mind the setting and time period this show is trying to represent. OVERALL i still really enjoy watching Spartacus & the return of Gannicus (Which was also to be expected!) is just a bonus. I am interested to see where they go with the story & where it will eventually end up. Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    6
    Well, we're reached the part of the Spartacus story in which the personal becomes political, and, I'll admit, I'm worried. I don't think it's a good sign that Episode 2 spends so much time on the former-Doctore's back-story, which suggests a reluctance to move from the gladiatorial arena to the field of battle. The strength of this franchise has always been its unapologetic relish for brawn, boobs, and blood, for sympathetic heroes and dastardly villains, for a cartoon version of history. But, with Spartacus out of the ludus and gathering troops, things will have to get a bit more serious. Does Liam McIntyre have the necessary authority? I don't see it yet, but I'll wait to make that call. I enjoyed "Blood and Sand" and "Gods of the Arena," but "Vengeance" seems, so far, a little lost. But perhaps that is the point: that it tales a while to find your way when a simple act of defiance becomes a revolution. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2012
    2
    I do not like at all the new Spartacus actor.
    First of all he's way to small to resemble a gladiator, then his face lacks the character of the
    protagonist or at least his acting is way too plain in my opinion.
    I was so eager to follow my favorite TV series once more, but I was really disapponted.
    Forced myself to watch more than the first episode, but after seeing the third, I will surely drop this series.
    I liked Gods of the Arena much more than this one.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews