• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 27, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Spartacus: Vengeance Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Lucy Lawless, Craig Parker, Brett Tucker
  • Summary: Spartacus (Liam McIntyre) leads his group of freed slaves to battle against Gaius Claudius Glaber and his legion in Capua.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
  • Creator: Steven S. DeKnight
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Jan 27, 2012
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Feb 27, 2012
    100
    Well written and acted, almost perfectly paced, and entirely unlike anything else on television, Spartacus isn't just bloody good, it's bloody excellent.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 19, 2012
    75
    It's fun sport. [30 Jan 2012, p.44]
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 27, 2012
    67
    Everything fans loved about the first season--which improved dramatically over its course, by the way--is here. Everyone is not. McIntyre is good, but he's not Whitfield, either.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 23, 2012
    60
    Although Friday's season premiere is a bit confusing at times, the Spartacus world comes into better focus in episode two.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 27, 2012
    50
    With overripe dialogue that sounds like Shakespeare ground through a blender of baroque profanity, punctuated by action sequences of almost comical brutality amid orgies of debauchery, Spartacus is back with a vengeance.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 26, 2012
    50
    The writers may work their way out of this corner and Mr. McIntyre, who's a bit lightweight at this point, may grow into the central role. In the meantime there are still touches of the unbridled campiness that made the first season amusing.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 23, 2012
    40
    Spartacus: Vengeance is up to the same old tricks, endeavoring to give gratuitous violence and sex a good name.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    I was a little concerned about the direction this season was going, but after was Episode 5: Libertus, I have to say my hopes have beenI was a little concerned about the direction this season was going, but after was Episode 5: Libertus, I have to say my hopes have been significantly elevated. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    this show is the greatespiece of entertainment known to man, action, violence, great story based on real life, this show made me feel likethis show is the greatespiece of entertainment known to man, action, violence, great story based on real life, this show made me feel like everything i have watched in my entire life was a waste of my time, if u don't like this show you are prob brainwashed by religion or someother ignorant group that don't like things uncensored, everything about this is high quality, the highest quality, homophobes, or violence phobes or just people who are boring won't like this, 10 out of 10 Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    the 2nd season in this series was almost as good as the 1st. Liam McIntyre fills in the role of Spartacus nicely for Andy Whitefield who sadlythe 2nd season in this series was almost as good as the 1st. Liam McIntyre fills in the role of Spartacus nicely for Andy Whitefield who sadly past away :/. this season had a very dark intriguing plot to it and some of the twists were great and unexpected!. the action scenes left me stunned as always the case in the show. i loved the emotion this season portrayed especially between glaber and Spartacus and had very emotional heartbreaking moments as well and overall i felt this sequel succeeded just as well as the first introducing new characters as well. definitely my favorite show on TV right now! Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    It's enjoyable, the new Spartacus is a very good actor but he's no Andy Whitfield. So many Romans having those bloody awful New ZealandIt's enjoyable, the new Spartacus is a very good actor but he's no Andy Whitfield. So many Romans having those bloody awful New Zealand accents is very off putting though. The action scenes are well done but a bit samey now and for a woman of her age Lucy Lawless is hot and Viva Bianca is just, well orgasmic. From episode 7 it has improved drastically to be as good any of the previous series, so all in all not as good as the previous two series but still good. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    8
    MAY CONTAIN SOME SMALL SPOILERS!!!

    YES....we all miss Andy Whitfield, he bought something special to this role, but after a few episodes I
    MAY CONTAIN SOME SMALL SPOILERS!!!

    YES....we all miss Andy Whitfield, he bought something special to this role, but after a few episodes I think his replacement (Liam Mcyntyre) is doing a good job, bearing in mind he has a large role to fill & has to replace someone who was very good at it. YES, we all miss John Hannah as Batiatus but his death was always inevitable for how dealt with certain scenario's, he did however play the part very very well & that devious political and socail attitude is missed in the show. HOWEVER, despite the obvious losses, including the replacement of Naevia (which is strange!) I still feel the show is progressing nicely, it doesn't pull too many punches, it's direct, has some nice plot direction and isn't afraid to tell a historical based story with it's own twists. Let's keep in mind how little we actually know about the history surrounding Spartacus. YES, i know, sometimes the excessive masculine hormone driven acting isn't everyone's taste, but let's also keep in mind the setting and time period this show is trying to represent. OVERALL i still really enjoy watching Spartacus & the return of Gannicus (Which was also to be expected!) is just a bonus. I am interested to see where they go with the story & where it will eventually end up.
    Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    A little disappointed in the new series ...
    Towed and far-fetched ....
    The "New" Spartacus something incredible Andy poor choice of
    A little disappointed in the new series ...
    Towed and far-fetched ....
    The "New" Spartacus something incredible Andy poor choice of character and at least enough "time" was the role ...
    However, the boy-I think Liam was a rare bad decision ...
    .
    Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2012
    2
    I do not like at all the new Spartacus actor.
    First of all he's way to small to resemble a gladiator, then his face lacks the character of the
    I do not like at all the new Spartacus actor.
    First of all he's way to small to resemble a gladiator, then his face lacks the character of the protagonist or at least his acting is way too plain in my opinion.
    I was so eager to follow my favorite TV series once more, but I was really disapponted.
    Forced myself to watch more than the first episode, but after seeing the third, I will surely drop this series.
    I liked Gods of the Arena much more than this one.
    Expand

See all 28 User Reviews