• Network: Starz
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 25, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 3
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Feb 5, 2013
    88
    As the tactics of these two characters [Marcus Crassus and Spartacus] grow all but indistinguishable, it becomes clear why this final season is labeled War of the Damned, and all but guarantees that while their fighting will lead to a bitter end, it will lead viewers to the most savory of conclusions.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 25, 2013
    83
    You think you know how this story will end, but trust DeKnight and his company of players to surprise us to the last bloody moment.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 22, 2013
    70
    As the program comes to an end with this final season, subtitled "War of the Damned," it's hard not to admire its improved quality and heightened sense of purpose.
  4. Reviewed by: Josh Stillman
    Jan 18, 2013
    67
    Liam McIntyre continues to bring a fierce magnanimity to the title role, but his and his costars' performances are still marred by stilted, profanity-laced dialogue. [25 Jan/1 Feb 2013, p.110]
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 25, 2013
    60
    Making things more intriguing this time, Spartacus' main adversary as the series builds toward its final showdown isn't the usual sniveling, craven, oversexed patsy.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 23, 2013
    58
    War of the Damned doesn't spare any of it en route to its no doubt hellish conclusion. But the characters aren't as compelling as they once were, rendering the fight scenes even more voyeuristic.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 25, 2013
    50
    Spartacus worked best when it was an ancient "Upstairs Downstairs" with the house of Battiatus as the "upstairs" component and the gladiator school as the "downstairs." With that element gone, the show has no natural home base and feels a bit unmoored.
  8. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Jan 25, 2013
    25
    It's all a muddled mess of computer-generated battlefield scenes, gratuitous bare-breast-and-buttock shots (men and women--there's no favoritism here) and "Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon"-type photography.
  9. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 24, 2013
    20
    The plot often just seems to be killing time between endless battles in which throats are slashed, limbs severed and torsos bisected.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    This is a love it or hate it show. It is awesome if you ever saw something like Legend of the Seeker or Xena and wanted a very much R-rated version of it. This is basically a campy, brutal, sexy historic drama. It takes a lot of creative liberty with the source material as well. You're either going to think this show is hilariously awesome and hot or think anyone who likes this show is crazy. For my part, I can't help but smile every time they do the slow-mo/speed-up/slow-mo action sequences with incoherent yelling in the background. Full Review »
  2. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    I would give this a 10, but due to the fact that Starz really needs to learn their demographic, I give it a 9. This is a guys guy show, tons of violence, cool story line and excellent, innovative filmography... The one drawback is the excessive male nudity. Listen Starz, we get it, it's Roman times where orgies and pretty much everything else goes... but really, guys don't wanna see other guys junk, especially not every episode!! Seriously, learn your demographic and focus on the important 'bits of the show. Full Review »
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    4
    love the blood and violence, gannicus, and the new 'villian' crassius are interesting and watchable. for me thats where the good times end, and the show becomes week. for me Liam is a poor cast, worse tho is the dialogue he has to work with ultimately making him look like a douche. i see spartacus portrayed as little more than an angry thug with no real vision and all the charisma of a piece of toast. i dont understand why anyone would follow him.. sadly the way i can watch theshow is to view spartacus as the villian. and be in support crassius. not what was intended i think. overall not really impressed, but will perservere just to see if they get smashed by the romans.. hope so... Full Review »