• Network: Starz
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 25, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 3
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 113

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 9, 2014
    7
    9 for the story and acting, -2 for the constant reliance upon slow-motion (can't tell if they are ripping off the matrix or 300, but either way it's pretty much 70% of every fight scene that is slow motion).

    Certain occurrences in the story did not make sense, while some of it was outright unbelievable.There are many, many scenes where it shows well over a 100 Romans charging at a group
    9 for the story and acting, -2 for the constant reliance upon slow-motion (can't tell if they are ripping off the matrix or 300, but either way it's pretty much 70% of every fight scene that is slow motion).

    Certain occurrences in the story did not make sense, while some of it was outright unbelievable.There are many, many scenes where it shows well over a 100 Romans charging at a group of what looks like 40 Gladiators, and yet the Romans with their heavier armor and better weaponry somehow get beat almost every time, or watch as they run away.

    Too much blood splatter and skulls getting smashed open or cut in half...no it doesn't bother me, it is just unnecessary and unrealistic at that.
    Expand
  2. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    the series finale went out on a high note!! this season was filled with tons of action and plot twist that left me stunned! the ending was extremely sad and left me feeling depressed afterwards. overall it was a fantastic way to end the series with all the pieces in place that made the other seasons so good! long live Spartacus!
  3. Jan 11, 2014
    8
    Presenting greater carnage and fornication than its peers, Spartacus returns to form after its less stellar second season. Everything works at highly dynamic pace with distinguished script, and most importantly a more comfortable cast. This rings especially true in the case of Liam McIntyre who had a demanding job of replacing Andy Whitfield as Spartacus after his unfortunate passing. LiamPresenting greater carnage and fornication than its peers, Spartacus returns to form after its less stellar second season. Everything works at highly dynamic pace with distinguished script, and most importantly a more comfortable cast. This rings especially true in the case of Liam McIntyre who had a demanding job of replacing Andy Whitfield as Spartacus after his unfortunate passing. Liam McIntyre establishes the role more firmly as opposed in second season where he seemed more of a glorified replacement. Now he projects a legitimate gladiator turned fugitive worthy of his own interpretation of Spartacus, after all a series can only be as good as its titular lead.

    Story follows Spartacus and his army of rebellious slaves as they trade blows and tactics against Marcus Crassus and Julius Caesar. Simon Merrells as Crassus is the richest man of Rome who strives for honor of defeating the persistent rebels. His character is a stoic father figure who regards discipline highly; he displays more wit and valor than previous pursuers, making him a viable imposing antagonist. Todd Lasance plays the young Caesar, cunning and wild, he has a respectable screen presence. Having slight debonair presence, he surprisingly fits as a brasher Caesar prior to the time of his leadership, a reiteration which isn't often seen of the character.

    Manu Bennett and Dustin Clare reprise their roles as Crixus and Gannicus, respectively. Bennett dons rougher looks, it does differ much from his previous more gladiatorial image, but the character is now overly invested in vengeance and rather one-dimensional. Dustin Clare headlined Spartacus: Gods of the Arena before as Gannicus, he returns with likeable charm. He has plenty of screen time; one of the episodes actually features his story, and proves he could be a proper leading man.

    One of the appeals of Spartacus' storytelling is how unique the script is. Characters speak with elegant tongue, sometimes with flamboyant analogy and indirect metaphor. It's pretty odd that slaves possess such eloquent vocabulary, but it gives the series a sophisticated tune of its own. This third season sees the rise of expletive curses aplenty, the volume of this f-bomb is a bit jarring and might be tasteless in few executions. Nevertheless, it defines the cruel and tenacious tone more, as they are now in all-time high.

    Action has been a staple of the series, trademarked by decently choreographed set pieces and abundance of slow motion use a la 300. It admirably invested effort of making the cast look like bona fide warriors, even the women. They carry themselves with gritty disposition and toned physique, some moves might lack refinement but they do the tumultuous war theme justice. If there's one concern, it's the quantity might be a bit much. Seeing men do the same aerial assault in slow-mo, often several times in one episode, is rather excessive. The first season had more diversity of weaponry and combat, but it's understandable since it had gladiator gimmick.

    Along the gruesome combat, it has also seen its fair share of CG. Most of the setting and some fight scenes play out in animated background. This shows some flaws since its forest, desert and city vista seem drab and uninspiring. It has some genuine setting, such as inner city or villa, but it lacks the scale of what should be thousands of people fighting for their lives. Some effects are still presentable, albeit over-the-top like blood geyser or swiveling snow.

    Be warned that this series is teeming with gore and nudity, mutilation and intercourse are as common as bread and butter. For those with more fragile eyes and ears, it'd be wise to avert them as this is one mature rating that's gallantly earned on all aspects. Despite the rough exterior, Spartacus: War of the Damned has thorough characterization, great acting by its cast and stylish dramatic storytelling. It stands as an equal bloody alternate of other acclaimed series, and possibly above in some terms.
    Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    A sense of doom hovers over this final chapter in the Starz series. It's clear that it will not end well for Spartacus and his rebellion. It might not be the best season yet, but it is a brutal, bloody, and satisfying conclusion to the series. The villains are more despicable than ever. These Romans constantly believe themselves superior to everyone around and are constantly scheming andA sense of doom hovers over this final chapter in the Starz series. It's clear that it will not end well for Spartacus and his rebellion. It might not be the best season yet, but it is a brutal, bloody, and satisfying conclusion to the series. The villains are more despicable than ever. These Romans constantly believe themselves superior to everyone around and are constantly scheming and stabbing each other in the back. Spartacus and the rest of the rebels are as supportable as ever and it is hard to watch one of these characters fall. The action is bloodier than ever thanks to the much improved special effects and it all takes place on a much larger scale. You're watching huge armies go at it and it is super satisfying.

    It is another fantastic season and a great conclusion to the series. If you've ever considered yourself a fan of the shows previous chapters then you'll love this one as well.
    Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    0
    COSHH: Duties and standards on all aspects of control of substances hazardous to health including chemicals, dust, micro-organisms and dangerous pathogens. (Control of substances hazardous to health regulations 2002 require employers to assess the risks from hazardous substances and take appropriate precautions)

    DONT WATCH THIS ITS SH1T
  6. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Spartacus War of the Damned defines the word epic. If you're into historical shows or swords and shield epics this is the show for you. If you like drama there is plenty of that, If you like violence, blood and nudity there is also plenty of that. Each episode is like watching a mini movie. There is always something going on, the story is really compelling and the drama keeps youSpartacus War of the Damned defines the word epic. If you're into historical shows or swords and shield epics this is the show for you. If you like drama there is plenty of that, If you like violence, blood and nudity there is also plenty of that. Each episode is like watching a mini movie. There is always something going on, the story is really compelling and the drama keeps you interested to see what will happen next. If you liked the movie 300 in many ways this is shot in the same way. The characters really draw you into their world and you will feel yourself really caring about some of them and hating others.

    If you've watched the previous Spartacus series, Blood and sand, vengeance and their prequel gods of the area and liked them you will love this. If not watch them first because you really need to.
    Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    For a series with some very poor first episodes, the third and last reason is so epic that it is perhaps one of the most astonishing thing we have seen on TV lately. Even Game of Thrones might be a bit under, in term of emotions. And if you're a guy, prepare yourself to cry, really....
  8. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Fans of this hugely entertaining show will love this epic final season, which closes the chapter on Spartacus' journey from Thrace to Batiatus' ludus to hero of the slave rebellion.

    The final season sees Spartacus as de facto leader, supported by the gladiator heroes of the previous seasons, Crixus, Gannicus and Agron. The leaders routinely clash of the rebellion's direction and
    Fans of this hugely entertaining show will love this epic final season, which closes the chapter on Spartacus' journey from Thrace to Batiatus' ludus to hero of the slave rebellion.

    The final season sees Spartacus as de facto leader, supported by the gladiator heroes of the previous seasons, Crixus, Gannicus and Agron. The leaders routinely clash of the rebellion's direction and objectives, Crixus in particular driven by uncompromising vengeance on the republic, dreaming of smashing an army through the gates of Rome, while Spartacus has grown more responsible, dreaming of a free life for his followers if not for himself. Seeing the two spar reminds of seasons of old. Gannicus also mellows, and finally finds a cause to fight for other than the traditional spoils of victory, wine and women.

    Following the precedent of previous seasons, War of the Damned is loaded with copious amounts of blood, sex and scenery chewing speeches, perhaps even more than before. The montage at the beginning of the first episode beats 300 for blood spilt and sprayed across the screen. The scheming and trickery of Lucretia and Illythia from past seasons is replaced by that of Caesar and Tiberius, fighting for the lead role under Crassus. I originally disliked the casting of Caesar, but after time newcomer Todd Lasance won me over with his ambitious, scheming, hot headed take on the famous leader.

    For a show that many dismissed as trashy and gratuitous, Spartacus is surprisingly accurate (for a TV show) with respect to its historical basis. Spartacus' rebellion was squashed by Crassus, he was betrayed by Sicilian pirates, the names of Oenamaus, Gannicus and Crixus were among the rebellion leaders and those captured were crucified along the Appian Way into Rome.

    The final episodes build up to the inevitable ending, firstly dedicating suitable time to Crixus, before a fantastic finale worthy of the show's epic nature, culminating in some emotional final scenes. The closing credits returned many of the fallen character over the four seasons and as a touching gesture were book ended with both Liam McIntyre's and Andy Whitfield's Spartacus. Gratitude.

    Overall, a fantastic show featuring a cast of largely unknown bunch of Aussies and New Zealanders that only got better and one that will be sorely missed.
    Expand
  9. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    I would give it a TEN but since the series changed so many things from the real historic events i would also like to have it as a fairy tale where Spartacus wins and we have a happy ending. I read a lot about unnecessary sex and violence... well it is ancient times guys come on... oh what was that? you like the gore but not the sex scenes? You like blood and guts but not the guys on yourI would give it a TEN but since the series changed so many things from the real historic events i would also like to have it as a fairy tale where Spartacus wins and we have a happy ending. I read a lot about unnecessary sex and violence... well it is ancient times guys come on... oh what was that? you like the gore but not the sex scenes? You like blood and guts but not the guys on your screen? Then, maybe you have issues and must go to a psychologist to check it out... Anyways... The show is a Masterpiece it's fast when it has to be it's emotional whenever it needs to be so, it is Gory as HELL and honest to the people watching it. Nice show and it is sad that it has come to end. Expand
  10. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    Yes the season dragged a bit, and there was a sense of impending doom throughout, but this season was a thoroughly satisfying conclusion to a remarkable and hugely under-appreciated show.

    The finale in particular was one of the finest ends I've seen. Although finales for the likes of say, Battlestar Gallactica and The Sopranos left a little to be desired, Spartacus delivered in spades.
    Yes the season dragged a bit, and there was a sense of impending doom throughout, but this season was a thoroughly satisfying conclusion to a remarkable and hugely under-appreciated show.

    The finale in particular was one of the finest ends I've seen. Although finales for the likes of say, Battlestar Gallactica and The Sopranos left a little to be desired, Spartacus delivered in spades. It's honestly the first time I've left a show happy with the way it ended.

    A fantastic programme that deserves better than the likely cult fandom it will experience on DVD...

    10/10
    Expand
  11. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    One word: Amazing.

    This season in my opinion, eclipsed all others in all aspects: action, gore and story. War of the Damned manages to keep you wanting more after every episode and this is due to the phenomenal performances by ALL the leads The four rebel generals and our three main antagonists. Liam as Spartacus was absolutely outstanding however the real prize goes to Todd Lasance,
    One word: Amazing.

    This season in my opinion, eclipsed all others in all aspects: action, gore and story. War of the Damned manages to keep you wanting more after every episode and this is due to the phenomenal performances by ALL the leads The four rebel generals and our three main antagonists. Liam as Spartacus was absolutely outstanding however the real prize goes to Todd Lasance, Simon Merrells and Christian Antidormi who play Caesar, Marcus Crassus and Tiberius respectfully. War of the Damned executes these different personalities so well that we somehow end up rooting for Caesar, hating Tiberius and respecting Marcus Crassus for DeKnight to do this successfully, it truly is testament to how thought out these characters were (considering they were all antagonists). Just like the very first season, we began to share a bond with the rebels, become part of their cause an in turn, grieve for their losses. From the decimation scene to the loss of our loved ones, we as an audience felt every blow on screen, whether it was to the rebels or to the Romans, and felt some sort of heavy emotion (think about how you felt during the final scene in ep 8). We even began to question ourselves as to who was really bad and who was really good, specifically during Sinuessa. All these aspects are what made this season a fitting finale and I just hope to see more of this world that DeKnight has re-imagined.
    Expand
  12. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    What makes this show great is not the violence and nudity, but the show's heart and soul. I think that more people should discover this show and start watching it because it is just phenomenal.
  13. Apr 13, 2013
    4
    The final season of Spartacus is also its weakest, but it ends on a fairly high note. Having watched since the original Blood and Sand season with Andy Whitfield, I was really disappointed by this one. Many of the characters whose unique personalities once defined the show begin to act completely out of character for the sake of moving the plot forward, many times unforgivably. TheThe final season of Spartacus is also its weakest, but it ends on a fairly high note. Having watched since the original Blood and Sand season with Andy Whitfield, I was really disappointed by this one. Many of the characters whose unique personalities once defined the show begin to act completely out of character for the sake of moving the plot forward, many times unforgivably. The villains in this season are a mixed bag; some are great and bring something new to the table, others are absolutely and completely idiotic. There's a definitive line between making a character villainous because their evil actions demand it, and making a character villainous just because he's a bad guy, it doesn't have to make sense what he does, as long as he's bad. This is a big writing mistake that will kick a lot of people out of the experience, and this wasn't nearly as much of an issue in earlier seasons.

    While Spartacus has never been a perfect show, it deserved a better final season than this. Plot holes and characters problems abound. I will say that the series finale was very well handled though. It's still far from perfect plot wise, and contains a few moments meant to be serious but made me laugh out loud, but it rivals the season 2 finale and is a fitting end to the series. If all of the episodes of this season kept up with the finale, I'd probably be giving this a 9, but there are so many problems that about halfway through the season, I wanted to just stop watching the show, which is a feeling I never had during the first 3 seasons.
    Expand
  14. Apr 11, 2013
    7
    I believe this is now in its fourth series and there seems to be no let up in the gory action stakes, with sex and profanity thrown in for good measure. Despite, or maybe even because of, all this it's actually good fun and still far more entertaining than many a series in its first season.
  15. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Amazing story, amazing characters, great action, every minute your heart is constantly racing while you hope your favorite characters survive, out of all the shows i have watched on TV, this is by far my favorite.
  16. Apr 8, 2013
    8
    Some characters are very poor, and no resemblance to the historical reality, many special effects are quite bad, the sex scenes are sometimes quite explicit and not necessarily useful for scenario, but we can not help watch each week the next episode.
  17. Apr 1, 2013
    7
    Spartacus is the type of show you love to hate. I love the style of combat the camera angles, the music, the blood spatter, and the political scheming among antagonists. What I hate are the things that fill this show the constant and unnecessary nudity (expect a long, graphic sex scene each episode), the stick-up-the-ass expressions of Crixus, the lack of depth to any protagonistSpartacus is the type of show you love to hate. I love the style of combat the camera angles, the music, the blood spatter, and the political scheming among antagonists. What I hate are the things that fill this show the constant and unnecessary nudity (expect a long, graphic sex scene each episode), the stick-up-the-ass expressions of Crixus, the lack of depth to any protagonist (characters are often highlighted by one single trait homosexual, brute, freedom fighter, etc.), the constant profanity (which at times gives a good laugh, but other times removes the seriousness of the show "Jupiter's in ass," etc.). This show can be amazing if you are willing to laugh at parts of it and just say "Haha, here we go Spartacus." Especially when those drums start up for an awkward sex scene. All in all, this is a great show to watch with your buds so you all can share in the laughs, the awes (for those great finishing blows, in combat not sex), the defeats, and the triumphs. Expand
  18. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    I would give this a 10, but due to the fact that Starz really needs to learn their demographic, I give it a 9. This is a guys guy show, tons of violence, cool story line and excellent, innovative filmography... The one drawback is the excessive male nudity. Listen Starz, we get it, it's Roman times where orgies and pretty much everything else goes... but really, guys don't wanna see otherI would give this a 10, but due to the fact that Starz really needs to learn their demographic, I give it a 9. This is a guys guy show, tons of violence, cool story line and excellent, innovative filmography... The one drawback is the excessive male nudity. Listen Starz, we get it, it's Roman times where orgies and pretty much everything else goes... but really, guys don't wanna see other guys junk, especially not every episode!! Seriously, learn your demographic and focus on the important 'bits of the show. Collapse
  19. Mar 5, 2013
    1
    It's not the blood or the sex that's the problem here (after all, if you've made it this far, as I have, that's part and parcel of the shows' appeal), it's the story. As has been stated, the plotting and pacing is weak, especially when measured against previous seasons. I can't really determine what the writers/producers are trying to accomplish, but it's not working for me. Julius CaesarIt's not the blood or the sex that's the problem here (after all, if you've made it this far, as I have, that's part and parcel of the shows' appeal), it's the story. As has been stated, the plotting and pacing is weak, especially when measured against previous seasons. I can't really determine what the writers/producers are trying to accomplish, but it's not working for me. Julius Caesar as an action hero was the last straw for me. Too cheesy. I'll stick it out, but I'm not as excited, and I'm ready for it to end now. Meh... Expand
  20. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Magnificent, i loved the first two seasons and didn't know if it would or could get any better but it did. Better than any movie, because they're restricted to 2 or 3 hours tops, Steven S. DeKnight has done career defining work here. Steven S. DeKnight you are Crassus, surrounding yourself with all this talent/ staff so you cannot lose.
  21. Feb 15, 2013
    2
    This series is starting to falter for me. All of the blood and gore is useless. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind violent shows. Just not at the expense of story and plot. It seems that (and sex scenes) is all this show has to offer nowadays.

    I feel the other seasons had much more character development and immersive story. Now it’s just comp. animated fight scene after fight scene. Plus,
    This series is starting to falter for me. All of the blood and gore is useless. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind violent shows. Just not at the expense of story and plot. It seems that (and sex scenes) is all this show has to offer nowadays.

    I feel the other seasons had much more character development and immersive story. Now it’s just comp. animated fight scene after fight scene. Plus, the blood looks so fake. Looks like bright red paint at times.

    I mean, Game of Thrones has violence and sex too, but never ever at the expensive of being lazy with their plot or story.

    This show does not deserve a good rating. I’m going to stop watching it at this point
    Expand
  22. Feb 12, 2013
    4
    love the blood and violence, gannicus, and the new 'villian' crassius are interesting and watchable. for me thats where the good times end, and the show becomes week. for me Liam is a poor cast, worse tho is the dialogue he has to work with ultimately making him look like a douche. i see spartacus portrayed as little more than an angry thug with no real vision and all the charisma of alove the blood and violence, gannicus, and the new 'villian' crassius are interesting and watchable. for me thats where the good times end, and the show becomes week. for me Liam is a poor cast, worse tho is the dialogue he has to work with ultimately making him look like a douche. i see spartacus portrayed as little more than an angry thug with no real vision and all the charisma of a piece of toast. i dont understand why anyone would follow him.. sadly the way i can watch theshow is to view spartacus as the villian. and be in support crassius. not what was intended i think. overall not really impressed, but will perservere just to see if they get smashed by the romans.. hope so... Expand
  23. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    blah blah blah blah, screw all the critics and their nose turning to how gruesome and bloody this show is, that is exactly what makes it awesome nothing to over think, pure and unadulterated gore and violence riddled with sex and stories of war! Not that the story is bad, not at all, the stories are entertaining and thats what this show is entertainment.
  24. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    This is a love it or hate it show. It is awesome if you ever saw something like Legend of the Seeker or Xena and wanted a very much R-rated version of it. This is basically a campy, brutal, sexy historic drama. It takes a lot of creative liberty with the source material as well. You're either going to think this show is hilariously awesome and hot or think anyone who likes this show isThis is a love it or hate it show. It is awesome if you ever saw something like Legend of the Seeker or Xena and wanted a very much R-rated version of it. This is basically a campy, brutal, sexy historic drama. It takes a lot of creative liberty with the source material as well. You're either going to think this show is hilariously awesome and hot or think anyone who likes this show is crazy. For my part, I can't help but smile every time they do the slow-mo/speed-up/slow-mo action sequences with incoherent yelling in the background. Expand
  25. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    Excellent show.Excellent show.Excellent show.Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Feb 5, 2013
    88
    As the tactics of these two characters [Marcus Crassus and Spartacus] grow all but indistinguishable, it becomes clear why this final season is labeled War of the Damned, and all but guarantees that while their fighting will lead to a bitter end, it will lead viewers to the most savory of conclusions.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 25, 2013
    83
    You think you know how this story will end, but trust DeKnight and his company of players to surprise us to the last bloody moment.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 25, 2013
    50
    Spartacus worked best when it was an ancient "Upstairs Downstairs" with the house of Battiatus as the "upstairs" component and the gladiator school as the "downstairs." With that element gone, the show has no natural home base and feels a bit unmoored.