Spartacus: War of the Damned : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 25, 2013
Season #: 1, 3
Spartacus: War of the Damned Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The final season of Spartacus sees the rebel army continuing to win against Rome. The Roman Empire turns to Marcus Crassus (Simon Merrells) and Julius Caesar (Todd Lasance) to stop the rebels.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Feb 5, 2013
    88
    As the tactics of these two characters [Marcus Crassus and Spartacus] grow all but indistinguishable, it becomes clear why this final season is labeled War of the Damned, and all but guarantees that while their fighting will lead to a bitter end, it will lead viewers to the most savory of conclusions.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 25, 2013
    83
    You think you know how this story will end, but trust DeKnight and his company of players to surprise us to the last bloody moment.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 22, 2013
    70
    As the program comes to an end with this final season, subtitled "War of the Damned," it's hard not to admire its improved quality and heightened sense of purpose.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 25, 2013
    60
    Making things more intriguing this time, Spartacus' main adversary as the series builds toward its final showdown isn't the usual sniveling, craven, oversexed patsy.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 23, 2013
    58
    War of the Damned doesn't spare any of it en route to its no doubt hellish conclusion. But the characters aren't as compelling as they once were, rendering the fight scenes even more voyeuristic.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 25, 2013
    50
    Spartacus worked best when it was an ancient "Upstairs Downstairs" with the house of Battiatus as the "upstairs" component and the gladiator school as the "downstairs." With that element gone, the show has no natural home base and feels a bit unmoored.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 24, 2013
    20
    The plot often just seems to be killing time between endless battles in which throats are slashed, limbs severed and torsos bisected.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    This is a love it or hate it show. It is awesome if you ever saw something like Legend of the Seeker or Xena and wanted a very much R-ratedThis is a love it or hate it show. It is awesome if you ever saw something like Legend of the Seeker or Xena and wanted a very much R-rated version of it. This is basically a campy, brutal, sexy historic drama. It takes a lot of creative liberty with the source material as well. You're either going to think this show is hilariously awesome and hot or think anyone who likes this show is crazy. For my part, I can't help but smile every time they do the slow-mo/speed-up/slow-mo action sequences with incoherent yelling in the background. Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    For a series with some very poor first episodes, the third and last reason is so epic that it is perhaps one of the most astonishing thing weFor a series with some very poor first episodes, the third and last reason is so epic that it is perhaps one of the most astonishing thing we have seen on TV lately. Even Game of Thrones might be a bit under, in term of emotions. And if you're a guy, prepare yourself to cry, really.... Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    Excellent show.Excellent show.Excellent show.Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..ExcellentExcellent show.Excellent show.Excellent show.Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show..Excellent show. Collapse
  4. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    I would give it a TEN but since the series changed so many things from the real historic events i would also like to have it as a fairy taleI would give it a TEN but since the series changed so many things from the real historic events i would also like to have it as a fairy tale where Spartacus wins and we have a happy ending. I read a lot about unnecessary sex and violence... well it is ancient times guys come on... oh what was that? you like the gore but not the sex scenes? You like blood and guts but not the guys on your screen? Then, maybe you have issues and must go to a psychologist to check it out... Anyways... The show is a Masterpiece it's fast when it has to be it's emotional whenever it needs to be so, it is Gory as HELL and honest to the people watching it. Nice show and it is sad that it has come to end. Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    Spartacus: War of the Damned is the epic conclusion to one of the greatest shows I've ever seen. The failures of Spartacus: Vengeance wereSpartacus: War of the Damned is the epic conclusion to one of the greatest shows I've ever seen. The failures of Spartacus: Vengeance were largely based on changes to the pace, style, or actors of the show. The biggest problem with Vengeance was that I had trouble accepting Liam McIntyre and Cynthia Addai-Robinson as the characters of Spartacus and Naevia, respectively. After two seasons, that was no longer really a factor. The other problem I had was that the feel of last season was so drastically different from the first two seasons. Again, that was no longer a problem. As with the other three seasons, the action sequences were incredible, the acting was fantastic, the drama developed well, and the atmosphere created by the style and the setting was amazing. There were some annoying elements, namely the annoying son of Crassus and Naevia's temporary betrayal of her previously developed character, but those elements are largely resolved with substantial time for proper conclusion. Speaking of which, I absolutely loved the conclusion of this season and, as a result, the series itself. The speech before that final battle was epicly awesome and moving and the way the characters' stories wrapped up, while not necessarily happy, felt appropriate and stayed true to both history and what the show developed for each of them. Overall, this was a fantastic show that I very much enjoyed watching. Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2014
    7
    9 for the story and acting, -2 for the constant reliance upon slow-motion (can't tell if they are ripping off the matrix or 300, but either9 for the story and acting, -2 for the constant reliance upon slow-motion (can't tell if they are ripping off the matrix or 300, but either way it's pretty much 70% of every fight scene that is slow motion).

    Certain occurrences in the story did not make sense, while some of it was outright unbelievable.There are many, many scenes where it shows well over a 100 Romans charging at a group of what looks like 40 Gladiators, and yet the Romans with their heavier armor and better weaponry somehow get beat almost every time, or watch as they run away.

    Too much blood splatter and skulls getting smashed open or cut in half...no it doesn't bother me, it is just unnecessary and unrealistic at that.
    Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    1
    It's not the blood or the sex that's the problem here (after all, if you've made it this far, as I have, that's part and parcel of the shows'It's not the blood or the sex that's the problem here (after all, if you've made it this far, as I have, that's part and parcel of the shows' appeal), it's the story. As has been stated, the plotting and pacing is weak, especially when measured against previous seasons. I can't really determine what the writers/producers are trying to accomplish, but it's not working for me. Julius Caesar as an action hero was the last straw for me. Too cheesy. I'll stick it out, but I'm not as excited, and I'm ready for it to end now. Meh... Expand

See all 25 User Reviews