User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 35
  2. Negative: 13 out of 35

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2013
    5
    SpongeBob was amazing back in the day when it was rare to see a good kids show with adult characters. Nowadays, however, it's suffered from a bad case of Season Rot. Yes, the first three seasons were the best, with excellent family humor and memorable moments. Since Hillenberg left the show after the first movie, the writers have resorted to toilet humor and violence. SpongeBob lostSpongeBob was amazing back in the day when it was rare to see a good kids show with adult characters. Nowadays, however, it's suffered from a bad case of Season Rot. Yes, the first three seasons were the best, with excellent family humor and memorable moments. Since Hillenberg left the show after the first movie, the writers have resorted to toilet humor and violence. SpongeBob lost momentum quickly, but I can still imagine many fans may continue to enjoy the show. I haven't seen an episode for a while, but I might see the second movie out of curiosity. Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    0
    Don't even bother watching this, nothing really enjoyable to watch. I sat on my sofa and watched the first half of the Season and I just completely stunned and angered by this garbage. JUST BLAM THIS TO KINGDOM COME!
  3. DME
    Jun 11, 2012
    7
    Spongebob still possesses the same humor it used to have, but seems to have veered away from it's original intended audience: Family (not just kids)
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Ok,here's the season 9, This season have the same humor of the old episodes...I LOVE IT!
  5. Jun 7, 2013
    0
    What just happened? This isn't even spongebob anymore. The true Spongebob fans know the true Spongebob is the spongebob from Seasons 1-3. Nothing is even worth a smile in this trashy season. It's completely gross-out humor without the humor. How is this even on Nick when they focus on making shows for kids when this isn't even acceptable as a TV-Y7 kids show.
  6. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    Thus far, this season seems to have stepped up its game from the last three. (None of them were paticularly bad) but it seems we get a handful of episodes that really get your knee slapping, and (often) some thicker plotlines. It may still be a bit too over the top, goofy, or even absurd for some viewers, but most will find it fun. A clever plotline with "Squid Baby" or a ridiculously funThus far, this season seems to have stepped up its game from the last three. (None of them were paticularly bad) but it seems we get a handful of episodes that really get your knee slapping, and (often) some thicker plotlines. It may still be a bit too over the top, goofy, or even absurd for some viewers, but most will find it fun. A clever plotline with "Squid Baby" or a ridiculously fun tale told in "Little Yellow Book" should keep you watching... Well, if you enjoy the series that is. There will always be the unfaithful few that will dislike it due to the fact that it's new, but, for the majority, I'd advise you check this out. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Spongebob is a gulity pleasure for everyone, even older teens like me. Personally, I have always loved the show, just because it is so funny. All kids should watch it.
  8. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    I LOVE THIS SEASON, I LOVE Spongebob!I hope Spongebob doesn't finish here....C'MON PAUL TIBBIT!!LET'S MOVE IT!I WANT A TENTH SEASON!!C'MON! Ah,yes....The old writers are returning ;)
  9. Oct 16, 2013
    3
    A brief review of each episode:
    NOTE! The newest episode on this list is Safe Deposit Krabs; I haven't gotten the chance to see the Halloween and the unaired episodes yet! I WILL update it when I do get the chance!
    Extreme Spots: Stereotype and bland characters, even the Old Lady couldn't save this episode. Squirrel Record: Abysmal rehash of beloved classic episode Pre Hibernation week.
    A brief review of each episode:
    NOTE! The newest episode on this list is Safe Deposit Krabs; I haven't gotten the chance to see the Halloween and the unaired episodes yet! I WILL update it when I do get the chance!
    Extreme Spots: Stereotype and bland characters, even the Old Lady couldn't save this episode. Squirrel Record: Abysmal rehash of beloved classic episode Pre Hibernation week. Patrick-Man!: Bubble Buddy IV (Its a townspeople torture porn, and the 4th so far Gary's New Toy: First there's a boring montage of Gary chewing up everything, then there's an annoying montage of Gary ignoring SpongeBob. License to Milkshake: It wins an award for the most boring episode of all time. An academy based on milkshakes? That's the best you could come up with?! Squid Baby: Ah, a breath of fresh air. Its only decent, but I love how kind SB and Pat are to care for Squidward when he's helpless. Little Yellow Book: This doesn't make sense; Why is it okay to abuse Squidward (Squid Wood, Boating Buddies, Choir Boys, etc.) but when Squid finally gets revenge you flipping lock him up in town square?!!! Bumper to Bumper: They should go ahead, give SpongeBob his license, and scrap Mrs. Puff because apparently they can't come up with any new material. Eek, An Urchin!: Pretty lacking in everything though I like the original plot. Squid Defense: The concept sounds decent, but the boring training sequences and retarded twist ending ruin it. Jailbreak!: This just sucks because it is so boring. They should've made Mr. Krabs not believe SpongeBob then when Plankton does show up KK crew defeats Plankton and his thugs in a creative way. .but nope. They just call the cops and they hide in the safe. Zzzzzz. Evil Spatula: Its better than Jailbreak! but its still lackluster and SpongeBob is really annoying. Safe Deposit Krabs: Mr. Krabs is extremely unlikeable because he's just practically hoarding everyone's money in this safe. Plankton's Pet: Not funny, not deep, not creative, just PLAIN CUTE.
    Decision:
    1 B grade episode
    1 B- grade episode
    1 C+ grade episode
    3 C grade episodes
    1 C- grade episode
    1 D grade episode
    6 F grade episodes
    Final Grade: D+
    Conclusion: Season 9 is very boring; even past post-film episodes were horrible, they still had a sense of memorability and frantic action. About 45% of these episodes have absolutely none. And the other about 55% have very little.
    Since I have so many characters left, I want to list my Top 20 Favorite Episodes (After rewatching them a few things I've said in previous seasonal reviews may not be accurate)
    20. SB-129
    19. Its a SpongeBob Christmas!
    18. Shanghaied
    17. Krab-Borg
    16. Graveyard Shift
    15. Christmas Who?
    14. Suds
    13. Arrgh!
    12. The Camping Episode
    11. F. U. N.
    10. Sailor Mouth
    9. Chocolate With Nuts
    8. Patty Hype
    7. Can You Spare a Dime?
    6. Something Smells
    5. Party Pooper Pants
    4. Ugh
    3. Pizza Delivery
    2. Band Geeks
    Honorable Mentions
    21. Rock Bottom
    22. Opposite Day
    And my #1 favorite episode is. .
    Naughty Nautical Neighbors! :D
    Now my favorite to least favorite seasons:
    1. Season 3
    2. Season 2
    3. Season 1
    4. Season 5
    5. Season 4
    6. Season 8
    7. Season 6
    8. Season 7
    9. Season 9
    Season 8 review coming soon!
    Expand
  10. Jun 8, 2013
    0
    This just made me loose all faith in Spongebob. Every episode is about gross-out humor with nothing to laugh at. It's not funny, it's just nasty and inappropriate for the kids that watch this. Good job Nickelodeon, you just made yourselves hypocrites with this. I remember when I was a huge fan over this. I guess I was wrong.
  11. Mar 3, 2014
    0
    I have the last straw. Spongebob Squarepants shouldn't go any further at all with this terrible season in hand. There is NO humor in this and is completely boring. I felt like shoving my TV out the window, and my brain was streaming as I turned off the show. I gave Spongebob another chance a while back...but this show just fell apart. No soup for you Nickelodeon!
  12. Oct 9, 2014
    10
    It's not easy to make an awesome show and keep it that way for nine long seasons, with a tenth one coming soon, Nickelodeon managed to pull it off, and because of that, it's by far the most popular show on the channel. Good job, keep it going with new episodes, Nick!!

There are no critic reviews yet.