• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 17, 2014
Star-Crossed Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ten years ago, a spaceship crashed just outside of Baton Rouge and the surviving aliens called Atrians are now being integrated into Earth society including seven Atrians into Marshall High School. 16-year-old Emery "Em" Whitehill (Aimee Teegarden) is drawn to the Atrian Roman (Matt Lanter),Ten years ago, a spaceship crashed just outside of Baton Rouge and the surviving aliens called Atrians are now being integrated into Earth society including seven Atrians into Marshall High School. 16-year-old Emery "Em" Whitehill (Aimee Teegarden) is drawn to the Atrian Roman (Matt Lanter), much to the dismay of their families and friends. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 13, 2014
    80
    Some of Star-Crossed falls into the CW’s well-trod comfort zone: young-adult romantic drama with a sci-fi twist. It shows extra ambition, though, by putting its outsiders so constantly and viscerally close to those who suspect and fear them. Add forbidden love, which can never escape the shadow of potential doom, and Star-Crossed could become both provocative and entertaining.
  2. Reviewed by: Carrie Raisler
    Feb 17, 2014
    75
    The politics are surprisingly complex ... That’s a lot of heavy lifting for a fluffy teen sci-fi romance, but so far the show acquits itself well, sticking the landing with its romantic moments and politically minded scenes in equal measure.
  3. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Feb 17, 2014
    70
    Teen romance does play a major role in [Star-Crossed]... but there's a serious story of prejudice hiding underneath. That serious side--a look into the good and bad of humanity when faced with the "other"--is as compelling as it gets.
  4. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Feb 17, 2014
    50
    The tone is mostly dreary and the plot with few exceptions goes precisely where you expect.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 18, 2014
    40
    With a premise that's at least 20 years past its "fresh until" date, the issues in Star-Crossed get handled with mostly predictable, rote exploration to the point that one has to wonder, does this show matter? Probably not.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 17, 2014
    40
    The show, which goes, in its small parts and large arcs, where so many have gone before, is easy to mock. Yet within its bounds and even its baldly obvious analogies and soft political points, it is effective enough.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 11, 2014
    25
    The dialogue is so awful, it probably doesn't matter that most of the performances are inauthentic.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    A fresh new series that really keeps you wanting more! It really makes you ask yourself how will humans react if they came across alien life.A fresh new series that really keeps you wanting more! It really makes you ask yourself how will humans react if they came across alien life. I highly recommend it! Expand
  2. May 22, 2014
    10
    I can not believe they cancelled star crossed it made me so angry the ratings are good very sad to see a great show end on season 1 the showI can not believe they cancelled star crossed it made me so angry the ratings are good very sad to see a great show end on season 1 the show was amazing and the CW should bring it back its a shame, it makes you want me every week and they ended it :( Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    This show is amazing and so much more different than other shows. I watched the pilot episode on hulu out of complete boredom and was blownThis show is amazing and so much more different than other shows. I watched the pilot episode on hulu out of complete boredom and was blown away after that. As I was watching the third episode, I managed to get my sister, boyfriend, AND another friend into it. It's seriously such a great show. At first, I was like "Oh.. I hate aliens.. I'm not gonna like this" But oh, trust me.. it's nothing like that. It's just wonderful. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    This Show Gives Us A New Perspective About Human - Alien Interaction. If This Series Is To Be Played With A Big Budget, I This This Would BeThis Show Gives Us A New Perspective About Human - Alien Interaction. If This Series Is To Be Played With A Big Budget, I This This Would Be The Best Series. This Idea Is Fresh. Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    Star-Crossed thus far has been a very good show. I've been keeping track of viewer ratings and to my surprise they haven't been off theStar-Crossed thus far has been a very good show. I've been keeping track of viewer ratings and to my surprise they haven't been off the charts. Guaranteed if people would give the show a chance they would be hooked. I hope ratings increase because if they don't there just might not be a season 2. I would also like to put out a big THANK YOU to The CW Network because they put out a lot of awesome shows. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    A brand new series with a bright interesting take on alien life. Teen angst mixed in with serious mature themes might make this interestingA brand new series with a bright interesting take on alien life. Teen angst mixed in with serious mature themes might make this interesting for more then the 12 to 17 age group. I watched with my 2 grand daughters and we all enjoyed the first 2 episodes. The premise of aliens adapting to life with humans, mixed with muderous plots may make for a few more episodes to see if the show becomes ludicrous, or continues to make good sense.so far, so good. Expand
  7. Zic
    Feb 17, 2014
    0
    So 1st contact, dont land in USA (they shoot first and ask questions later, maybe). Lots of hatred between 2 races in this series, but noSo 1st contact, dont land in USA (they shoot first and ask questions later, maybe). Lots of hatred between 2 races in this series, but no explanation why. Collapse

See all 31 User Reviews