• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 17, 2014
  • Season #: 1
Star-Crossed Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Natalie Hall, Matt Lanter, Aimee Teegarden
  • Summary: Ten years ago, a spaceship crashed just outside of Baton Rouge and the surviving aliens called Atrians are now being integrated into Earth society including seven Atrians into Marshall High School. 16-year-old Emery "Em" Whitehill (Aimee Teegarden) is drawn to the Atrian Roman (Matt Lanter),Ten years ago, a spaceship crashed just outside of Baton Rouge and the surviving aliens called Atrians are now being integrated into Earth society including seven Atrians into Marshall High School. 16-year-old Emery "Em" Whitehill (Aimee Teegarden) is drawn to the Atrian Roman (Matt Lanter), much to the dismay of their families and friends. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 13, 2014
    80
    Some of Star-Crossed falls into the CW’s well-trod comfort zone: young-adult romantic drama with a sci-fi twist. It shows extra ambition, though, by putting its outsiders so constantly and viscerally close to those who suspect and fear them. Add forbidden love, which can never escape the shadow of potential doom, and Star-Crossed could become both provocative and entertaining.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Feb 17, 2014
    75
    Turgid dialogue obscures intriguing ideas, amid uneven echoes of civil rights and supremacist crusades.
  3. Reviewed by: Laurel Brown
    Feb 17, 2014
    70
    Teen romance does play a major role in [Star-Crossed]... but there's a serious story of prejudice hiding underneath. That serious side--a look into the good and bad of humanity when faced with the "other"--is as compelling as it gets.
  4. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Feb 17, 2014
    50
    The tone is mostly dreary and the plot with few exceptions goes precisely where you expect.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 18, 2014
    40
    With a premise that's at least 20 years past its "fresh until" date, the issues in Star-Crossed get handled with mostly predictable, rote exploration to the point that one has to wonder, does this show matter? Probably not.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 17, 2014
    40
    The show, which goes, in its small parts and large arcs, where so many have gone before, is easy to mock. Yet within its bounds and even its baldly obvious analogies and soft political points, it is effective enough.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 11, 2014
    25
    The dialogue is so awful, it probably doesn't matter that most of the performances are inauthentic.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    A fresh new series that really keeps you wanting more! It really makes you ask yourself how will humans react if they came across alien life.A fresh new series that really keeps you wanting more! It really makes you ask yourself how will humans react if they came across alien life. I highly recommend it! Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    I am in love with this TV series!! The alien-human star-crossed lovers is a little cliché, but what makes it so much better is that they don'tI am in love with this TV series!! The alien-human star-crossed lovers is a little cliché, but what makes it so much better is that they don't immediately get together, they keep their distance, even though its killing me waiting for their first kiss!!! All I have to say is: I think I'm addicted. Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    This show is amazing and so much more different than other shows. I watched the pilot episode on hulu out of complete boredom and was blownThis show is amazing and so much more different than other shows. I watched the pilot episode on hulu out of complete boredom and was blown away after that. As I was watching the third episode, I managed to get my sister, boyfriend, AND another friend into it. It's seriously such a great show. At first, I was like "Oh.. I hate aliens.. I'm not gonna like this" But oh, trust me.. it's nothing like that. It's just wonderful. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    The premise was simple enough and was very tempting. Although we are still waiting on the juicy lovey-dovey scenes of Roman and Emery we areThe premise was simple enough and was very tempting. Although we are still waiting on the juicy lovey-dovey scenes of Roman and Emery we are stuck with political innuendos and the constant and exhausting attempts of successful integration. But what a good show without the drama right? So until Emery toughens up and makes up her mind, we will just be waiting to see how long Roman can hold on. Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    I just started watching Star Crossed last week and liked it so much I went back and watched all the other episodes that I missed. I wish StarI just started watching Star Crossed last week and liked it so much I went back and watched all the other episodes that I missed. I wish Star Crossed was promoted better. They barely promoted it, and when they did, it was mostly shown as a typical teenaged love story. But there’s so much more going on, double agents, traitors, political issues, etc. I love the sci-fi aspect of it among other things. I hope the show gets renewed. It reminds me of Dark Angel with Jessica Alba from back in the day which unfortunately got cancelled after being moved to the dreaded Fri night time slot. Star Crossed also has good music. I discovered some new bands and music because of the show. It’s not all teeny-bopper stuff. Wish more people would give it a chance. Poor promoting does not help. The show is good and still has lots of potential so I hope it does not get cancelled. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2014
    7
    Addictive and fun! I cannot wait to see how this series plays out. I have my expectations level so high because this show has so muchAddictive and fun! I cannot wait to see how this series plays out. I have my expectations level so high because this show has so much potential. The script was an 8/10. The alien appearance was a 2/10. The storyline was a 9/10. The tools used was a 10/10. The location was a 10/10. The action so far was a 4/10. The comedy was a 6/10. The drama was a 9/10. Overall; 7.25/10. Collapse
  7. Zic
    Feb 17, 2014
    0
    So 1st contact, dont land in USA (they shoot first and ask questions later, maybe). Lots of hatred between 2 races in this series, but noSo 1st contact, dont land in USA (they shoot first and ask questions later, maybe). Lots of hatred between 2 races in this series, but no explanation why. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews