Star Trek: The Next Generation : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Star Trek: The Next Generation Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "Space... The final frontier... These are the voyages of the Starship Enterprise. Its continuing mission: To explore strange new worlds... To seek out new life; new civilisations... To boldly go where no one has gone before!"

    Monologue of Captain Jean-Luc Picard in the opening credits
    "Space... The final frontier... These are the voyages of the Starship Enterprise. Its continuing mission: To explore strange new worlds... To seek out new life; new civilisations... To boldly go where no one has gone before!"

    Monologue of Captain Jean-Luc Picard in the opening credits

    Star Trek: The Next Generation is a science fiction show with some action and drama, that presents the watcher with a series of adventures from the crew of the USS Enterprise. The Enterprise is an explorer spaceship composed of a mix of different characters, from various races and cultures, whose crew is on a quest to discover the galaxy secrets and specially their inner secrets.
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. San Diego Union-Tribune
    Reviewed by: Robert P. Laurence
    Jun 25, 2013
    80
    It has captured much of the original magic. Right off the launching pad, Roddenberry has sent his crew into a dandy, suspenseful story with an original and satisfying ending and even some romance. [29 Sep 1987]
  2. Miami Herald
    Reviewed by: Steve Sonsky
    Jun 25, 2013
    70
    Re-visiting Star Trek on television holds the same nostalgic, socko appeal that the boffo-box-office movies do. I didn't miss Kirk, Spock and friends. [28 Sep 1987]
  3. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Marvin Kitman
    Jul 12, 2013
    60
    I like the old "Star Trek" better than the new. I also think the new show is somewhat boring and derivative. ... The new "Star Trek" tries to make the characters "realistic," and they turn out to be unbreakably plastic. [3 Jun 1988]
  4. Washington Post
    Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Jun 25, 2013
    50
    The crew of the new Starship Enterprise doesn't seem as intriguingly colorful as the original bunch. ... "Star Trek" aims to fill the eye and engage the mind; it has a long way to boldly go at both. But the new beginning is not without its rejuvenating properties, and there's nothing else on the air quite like it. [3 Oct 1987]
  5. Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Jun 25, 2013
    40
    The new cast is fine (Stewart is a very interesting actor) and the story, although not very deep, inspired or mind-melding, has a nice payoff. But getting there takes much too long. ... Although handsome, this is a slow, thudding two hours badly in need of energizing.
  6. The New York Times
    Reviewed by: John J. O'Connor
    Jun 25, 2013
    30
    On this initial voyage, the Enterprise and its new crew simply fail to take flight. [5 Oct 1987]
  7. The Globe and Mail (Toronto)
    Reviewed by: John Haslett Cuff
    Jun 25, 2013
    30
    The ... special effects are impressive enough and the cast is likeable, so maybe it will catch on with new and old fans. But for character development and true excitement, Bowling for Dollars is more interesting. [1 Oct 1987]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Possible the best scifi show of all times. The theme of all seasons is moral. An intellectual discussion about how an Utopian society meets,Possible the best scifi show of all times. The theme of all seasons is moral. An intellectual discussion about how an Utopian society meets, treats and handles space exploration in a very populated universe. At times a bit pretentious but its hardly a fault that changes its review score.

    The show should not be judged on its first season because its awkward and the actors are all finding their place. It also feels very dated visually in the first season. After that it just gets better and better.
    Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    All the critics reviews are bogus to the nth degree. The characters are great, the graphics were great, and the story is amazing. If you loveAll the critics reviews are bogus to the nth degree. The characters are great, the graphics were great, and the story is amazing. If you love great movies watch this. Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    "Shakespeare in space" is the phrase that comes to mind when I think of how to describe this series. To this day this is my favourite TV"Shakespeare in space" is the phrase that comes to mind when I think of how to describe this series. To this day this is my favourite TV series of all time. It was based on the universe created by Gene Roddenberry in the original great Star Trek series, but it went on to expand that universe and its optimistic vision for the future of man, err... humankind (the speech at the beginning changed 'man' to 'one' to be more politically correct so I have to due the same ha ha..). The first season was a little shaky when the cast did not fully know their characters or the direction the show would head yet, and there were a few corny episodes spread over the seasons, but there were many, many high-quality episodes that were Hollywood movie quality. I liked this series best since it had really good character development of the regular crew and it was also thicker with subplots than the later watered-down spin off series. The show kept up with the times by having topics based on the latest theoretical science theories. This show was also more overtly intellectual than the original series which was mostly battles and fist fights. Of course TNG does have its share of battles and fist fights, but it is more about using wits and diplomacy to solve problems rather than brute force. Once the main characters knew their characters well the acting was really good too. Overall a great series and with the exception of The X-Files and the 2003 remake of Battlestar Galactica there has not been a Sci Fi series to match its quality since, including the Star Trek TNG spin-offs. Definitely a 10/10. Expand
  4. Jun 28, 2015
    8
    I realize this review is supposed to be for just season 1, but to really appreciate this show, it must be examined as an entire series. AI realize this review is supposed to be for just season 1, but to really appreciate this show, it must be examined as an entire series. A common criticism of this series is that each episode is more-or-less independent. I understand this criticism, and can see how it could cause some people to dislike this series. However, there is a connection between the episodes, it is just not extremely apparent in a traditional story line. Instead, it comes in the form of the development of relationships between the characters and in the development of the characters as well. In TNG, the development does not occur in leaps and bounds, but rather, it is more gradual, which in my opinion makes it more believable.

    In my opinion, this series has the best acting/cast out of any of the Star Trek TV series. While some would argue that the original series to be better, I find the acting of Chris Stewart and company to be much stronger overall than that of the original series.

    Another common criticism of this series is that it reuses the same challenges over and over. This is one reason why this show doesn't get a 10 for me. However, I do understand why they chose to repeat some of these elements. The first reason is to "tip the cap" to the original series. This is a relatively common thing in any type of franchise. The second reason is that major intra-crew conflict was all but banned by Star Trek creator Gene Roddenberry. Also, the fact that it is a StarFleet crew makes conflict within the crew really out of character and unsatisfactory. This ultimately forces writers to rely on outside influences to create conflict. However, I do think this could have been done a little better. I think more interaction with the Borg could definitely improved the series. To have such a powerful enemy go so unused harmed the series is my opinion. Every episode would not have to be dedicated to fighting a single enemy, however I think finding a more central enemy in the series would have increased cohesiveness between the episodes for those who desire that quality.

    Compared to modern sci-fi series, this is a much "lighter" show. It does not take itself too seriously. For those of you looking at this for Netflix, I think this is a good show to "binge watch" because it will allow you to see the character development more clearly.
    Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2016
    7
    Star Trek TNG is a seminal show in the Sci-Fi genre. Spanning 7 Seasons between 1987 to 1994 it was Gene Roddenberry's update on the 'WagonStar Trek TNG is a seminal show in the Sci-Fi genre. Spanning 7 Seasons between 1987 to 1994 it was Gene Roddenberry's update on the 'Wagon Train in Space' premise that was the crux of the original 1960's TV show that started the whole thing off.
    At its best it was gripping, in every sense. From the writing, the direction, the acting (although the quality of the main cast, as well as the guest stars was, shall we say.... Debatable!), the famous opening theme, the (for the time) special effects.
    At its worst is was almost car-crash TV. Lazy writing, monster of the week, Ex-Machina story conclusions, pointlessly over the top acting.... The list goes on and on.

    So, in order to arrive at some kind of general 'score', you have to weigh all those factors together, as well as looking at how the show progressed over the years. How some things were written in, but never spoke of or referenced again... To the allies/enemies who have become an intractable part of the Star Trek 'universe'. How the main characters developed (or didn't really develop at all). How many things have since become iconic, or cringeworthy!

    It's no shock to know that over 20 years after it finished, and over 13 years since the final 'TNG' movie was released, that it's still one of the most watched/syndicated shows in the world. This alone proves that there is more 'good' than 'bad'.
    However, for every really top drawer episode (especially in the later seasons), there is an absolute piece of crap episode (generally in the earlier seasons), so there is a balance to find.
    I would suggest that because we live in a world where you can dip in and out of the show with ease, you can nudge the needle a little bit closer to a higher score because it's so simple to just avoid the crap, and seek out the brilliant.
    Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2015
    7
    First Season even being with mixed episodes makes up with Picard and his crew acting, engaging combat and setting. Even though first seasonFirst Season even being with mixed episodes makes up with Picard and his crew acting, engaging combat and setting. Even though first season isn't great, it provides character development and insight into new Star Trek franchise. What fascinates me by fact if this season is "wildly" considered as average, because of it's uneven episodes, however as I mentioned it flaws overall paste pace is full of engaging combat, thrills and decent acting, especially from Patrick Stewart, it emerges beginning of one of the greatest sci-fi series. Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    4
    Season 1 TNG is a lot of ups and downs, and it's obvious that they didn't really know where they were going with a lot of the characters thisSeason 1 TNG is a lot of ups and downs, and it's obvious that they didn't really know where they were going with a lot of the characters this early on. That's fine, sci-fi shows always have a rocky first season basically. As first seasons go, this one has some very solid episodes and some really bad ones. You get introduced to a bright and shining future world where things might be better than they are today. I think it's kinda nice to go back and have that from time to time, because a lot of sci-fi since Star Trek has turned towards being more and more dark and dystopian. Collapse

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames

    To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames Image
    Published: February 19, 2010
    The new Star Trek Online is only the latest in a storied line of Star Trek-related videogames dating back to the early 1970s. Voyage with us as we chart a course through Star Trek history.