• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    Stargate Universe is a fantastic show for those who facepalm the old ideals of sci-fi tv being wacky effects, uninteresting characters and laughable dialogue. If like me, you're a science fiction fan looking for a more gritty real space drama, with believable characters, sublte effects, mystery and intrigue, Stargate Universe fills this void.
  2. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    I was so surprised to read all the negative reviews about SGU. I agree that the first season was very slow to take off and somewhat depressing but it has definitely picked up in season 2. Of all the Stargate shows I think this is the best one yet. SG1 had some memorable episodes but near the 10th season I thought it got ridiculous and corny. SGA was garbage - reminiscent of Babylon5. I'mI was so surprised to read all the negative reviews about SGU. I agree that the first season was very slow to take off and somewhat depressing but it has definitely picked up in season 2. Of all the Stargate shows I think this is the best one yet. SG1 had some memorable episodes but near the 10th season I thought it got ridiculous and corny. SGA was garbage - reminiscent of Babylon5. I'm tired of StarTrek wannabe utopias. I agree that SGU is a lot like BSG but you can't really compare the two other than to say it's a similar dark dramatic style. Although I have my opinions about the whole SG franchise, I really have only ever watched the movie, and even though I missed out on a lot of the backstory of SGU, I still find it to be a gripping premise. I think if you hold out until Season 2 you won't be disappointed. It's really one of the best written, most stylishly creative sci-fi shows I've seen in years. It's my favorite show right now on TV. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2010
    1
    First time i have commented but just so BAD i had to write something somewhere.

    Get the previous Star Gate writers back. Universe has so much potential and each episode is worse than the last. This series won't last. Boring episodes and the series is going nowhere ! Explore the bloody ship ! If i wanted a drama I'd watch 'days of our lives' ! Really people, with such successes of
    First time i have commented but just so BAD i had to write something somewhere.

    Get the previous Star Gate writers back. Universe has so much potential and each episode is worse than the last. This series won't last. Boring episodes and the series is going nowhere !

    Explore the bloody ship ! If i wanted a drama I'd watch 'days of our lives' !

    Really people, with such successes of the previous Star Gate series why on earth, or any planet :-), would you go so far from the original filming style. This episode was so predictable, and the long music scenes at the end of most episode are getting old very fast.
    Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    I like Stargate Universe because of its difference to SG1 and SG Atlantis. SGU's strong point is its gritty reality, dark circumstances, and human fallibility. Comparing this to the other stargate is a grave mistake, its not supposed to be an action filled hour with no strings attached. I rather see it as quite similar to ABC's Lost. This show is about average people dealing withI like Stargate Universe because of its difference to SG1 and SG Atlantis. SGU's strong point is its gritty reality, dark circumstances, and human fallibility. Comparing this to the other stargate is a grave mistake, its not supposed to be an action filled hour with no strings attached. I rather see it as quite similar to ABC's Lost. This show is about average people dealing with extraordinary events. There is a perfect amount of humour, drama, and action too keep you entertained, but not too much to make you forget about their dire circumstances. The second season doesn't disappoint and caries on season one's legacy. Over all this show has more to say than just average sci-fi adventure and if you let be what it is meant to be (not a copy of SG1 and Atlantis) then it shines. Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2011
    3
    As someone who was a huge fan of both Stargate SG-1 and Stargate Atlantis, I've always been very disappointed in Stargate Universe. While some enjoy the drama, space soap that Stargate Universe adopted, I'm one of those that just did not. What made Stargate SG-1 and Atlantis work was the fact that it was cheesy, it never took itself seriously. Stargate Universe is the exact opposite.As someone who was a huge fan of both Stargate SG-1 and Stargate Atlantis, I've always been very disappointed in Stargate Universe. While some enjoy the drama, space soap that Stargate Universe adopted, I'm one of those that just did not. What made Stargate SG-1 and Atlantis work was the fact that it was cheesy, it never took itself seriously. Stargate Universe is the exact opposite.

    There are very few characters that actually peak my interest, and those that do get very little screen time. The only parts that I actually can say that I enjoyed were the crossovers with characters from the old series.

    What it really comes down to, though, is whether or not you like the space soap opera genre. It's never appealed to me, so of course Stargate Universe isn't going to appeal to me. If you like that style, then this is the show for you. Unfortunately, I can't say this is a show that I enjoy watching, no matter how much I wanted to like it.
    Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    The first episode of season 2 was a little of a let down. With that said, the little bits of character foreshadowing in it forces me to watch the next episode.
  7. May 9, 2011
    10
    best show ever. every episode there is something going on. problems, epicness, and who knows what. keeps you entertained and nterested. best show ever
  8. May 3, 2011
    10
    This is the best sci-fi series since BSG. It's just a shame that Syfy killed it with poor scheduling and rebranding of the network. If a more mainstream network had picked this show up instead, we'd probably be looking at another 10 seasons of Stargate. While I'm a fan of SG-1 and SGA, I feel that SGU was definitely the best, though sadly the shortest lived of the three. SG-1 was a bitThis is the best sci-fi series since BSG. It's just a shame that Syfy killed it with poor scheduling and rebranding of the network. If a more mainstream network had picked this show up instead, we'd probably be looking at another 10 seasons of Stargate. While I'm a fan of SG-1 and SGA, I feel that SGU was definitely the best, though sadly the shortest lived of the three. SG-1 was a bit campy, which seems to be what people miss the most that are harshly rating SGU with a "0" score. I'm not sure where it's written down that sci-fi is supposed to contain bucket loads of comedy, but I don't subscribe to that view. Goodbye SGU, those of us that are true Stargate and sci-fi fans will miss you dearly! Collapse
  9. May 6, 2011
    10
    The series started off a little slow, and soap-opera like, but season two has set the show on track to follow a story-line similar in style to previous incarnations of the Stargate franchise. It's a real shame that the SyFy is risking its identity by not renewing the series. It has been showing a lot of promise, and has a huge fan-base. It's my personal favorite out of all of the StargateThe series started off a little slow, and soap-opera like, but season two has set the show on track to follow a story-line similar in style to previous incarnations of the Stargate franchise. It's a real shame that the SyFy is risking its identity by not renewing the series. It has been showing a lot of promise, and has a huge fan-base. It's my personal favorite out of all of the Stargate series, it's simply more realistic. Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Christian Blauvelt
    Mar 4, 2011
    25
    In its final season, this is one space opera that deserves to be put out of its misery. [11 Mar 2011, p.70]