Stargate Universe : Season 2

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2009
Season #: 1, 2
Stargate Universe Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After the secret of the Stargate's ninth chevron is discovered, a team of explorers from Earth travels to the unmanned starship Destiny, which was launched by the Ancients hundreds of millenia ago as an experiment. The new crew, not able to control the Destiny's navigation, is forced toAfter the secret of the Stargate's ninth chevron is discovered, a team of explorers from Earth travels to the unmanned starship Destiny, which was launched by the Ancients hundreds of millenia ago as an experiment. The new crew, not able to control the Destiny's navigation, is forced to complete its original mission. They travel far out into the universe, encountering new races and enemies.

    Stargate Universe is produced and distributed by MGM Television and Sci-Fi Channel. It is filmed at Bridge Studios and on location in and around Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Christian Blauvelt
    Mar 4, 2011
    25
    In its final season, this is one space opera that deserves to be put out of its misery. [11 Mar 2011, p.70]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    Stargate Universe is a fantastic show for those who facepalm the old ideals of sci-fi tv being wacky effects, uninteresting characters andStargate Universe is a fantastic show for those who facepalm the old ideals of sci-fi tv being wacky effects, uninteresting characters and laughable dialogue. If like me, you're a science fiction fan looking for a more gritty real space drama, with believable characters, sublte effects, mystery and intrigue, Stargate Universe fills this void. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    I like Stargate Universe because of its difference to SG1 and SG Atlantis. SGU's strong point is its gritty reality, dark circumstances, andI like Stargate Universe because of its difference to SG1 and SG Atlantis. SGU's strong point is its gritty reality, dark circumstances, and human fallibility. Comparing this to the other stargate is a grave mistake, its not supposed to be an action filled hour with no strings attached. I rather see it as quite similar to ABC's Lost. This show is about average people dealing with extraordinary events. There is a perfect amount of humour, drama, and action too keep you entertained, but not too much to make you forget about their dire circumstances. The second season doesn't disappoint and caries on season one's legacy. Over all this show has more to say than just average sci-fi adventure and if you let be what it is meant to be (not a copy of SG1 and Atlantis) then it shines. Collapse
  3. May 3, 2011
    10
    This is the best sci-fi series since BSG. It's just a shame that Syfy killed it with poor scheduling and rebranding of the network. If a moreThis is the best sci-fi series since BSG. It's just a shame that Syfy killed it with poor scheduling and rebranding of the network. If a more mainstream network had picked this show up instead, we'd probably be looking at another 10 seasons of Stargate. While I'm a fan of SG-1 and SGA, I feel that SGU was definitely the best, though sadly the shortest lived of the three. SG-1 was a bit campy, which seems to be what people miss the most that are harshly rating SGU with a "0" score. I'm not sure where it's written down that sci-fi is supposed to contain bucket loads of comedy, but I don't subscribe to that view. Goodbye SGU, those of us that are true Stargate and sci-fi fans will miss you dearly! Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    I was so surprised to read all the negative reviews about SGU. I agree that the first season was very slow to take off and somewhat depressingI was so surprised to read all the negative reviews about SGU. I agree that the first season was very slow to take off and somewhat depressing but it has definitely picked up in season 2. Of all the Stargate shows I think this is the best one yet. SG1 had some memorable episodes but near the 10th season I thought it got ridiculous and corny. SGA was garbage - reminiscent of Babylon5. I'm tired of StarTrek wannabe utopias. I agree that SGU is a lot like BSG but you can't really compare the two other than to say it's a similar dark dramatic style. Although I have my opinions about the whole SG franchise, I really have only ever watched the movie, and even though I missed out on a lot of the backstory of SGU, I still find it to be a gripping premise. I think if you hold out until Season 2 you won't be disappointed. It's really one of the best written, most stylishly creative sci-fi shows I've seen in years. It's my favorite show right now on TV. Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    The first episode of season 2 was a little of a let down. With that said, the little bits of character foreshadowing in it forces me to watchThe first episode of season 2 was a little of a let down. With that said, the little bits of character foreshadowing in it forces me to watch the next episode. Expand
  6. Jul 20, 2011
    3
    As someone who was a huge fan of both Stargate SG-1 and Stargate Atlantis, I've always been very disappointed in Stargate Universe. While someAs someone who was a huge fan of both Stargate SG-1 and Stargate Atlantis, I've always been very disappointed in Stargate Universe. While some enjoy the drama, space soap that Stargate Universe adopted, I'm one of those that just did not. What made Stargate SG-1 and Atlantis work was the fact that it was cheesy, it never took itself seriously. Stargate Universe is the exact opposite.

    There are very few characters that actually peak my interest, and those that do get very little screen time. The only parts that I actually can say that I enjoyed were the crossovers with characters from the old series.

    What it really comes down to, though, is whether or not you like the space soap opera genre. It's never appealed to me, so of course Stargate Universe isn't going to appeal to me. If you like that style, then this is the show for you. Unfortunately, I can't say this is a show that I enjoy watching, no matter how much I wanted to like it.
    Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2016
    0
    A poor imitation of the masterpiece of television known as BATTLESTAR GALACTICA. I'm glad to see SGU was put out of its misery after 2A poor imitation of the masterpiece of television known as BATTLESTAR GALACTICA. I'm glad to see SGU was put out of its misery after 2 seasons. You could tell it was geared towards those with low IQs. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews