• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2009
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 459 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CarlA
    Oct 23, 2009
    4
    The 4 rating is purely for the potential this show may have and that I desperately hope for. Otherwise, wake me up when something exciting or interesting happens. I'll be watching SG Atlantis for the 6th time, and loving it!!
  2. AliH
    Nov 12, 2009
    1
    I really really wanted to love this show but it's so depressing - I'm all in favour of gritty realism but at least throw the audience a bone and put in a bit of humour in there, even if it's dark humour! I decided to stop watching it today when I realised I was bored and swiftly becoming depressed - that never happened to me watching Stargate SG1.
  3. GregoryB
    Oct 11, 2009
    0
    They have transformed a great sci-fi serie into soap opera. To much emotions and darkness, not enough sci-fi stuff. I don't expect this serie to survive next year.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    0
    I am and always be an SG1 fan I also love SGA. I tried to like SGU but there was nothing to connect me to these characters the only it had in common with SG1 was a Star Gate. I gave up hope for it to improve the show was clearly going for a new audience not fans of the original show. SGU was the first Syfy cancellation I was happy about.
  5. Roger
    Oct 3, 2009
    0
    Worst Stargate series to date. Looks like they saw the success of the BSG franchise and tried to imitate it (very badly).
  6. BruceM
    Oct 7, 2009
    2
    We loved Stargate Atlantis, Bring it back. Stargate Universe was terrible, poor plot, poor acting. What were they thinking. The dialogue is horrible.
  7. KOBESBM
    Jan 19, 2010
    0
    This show is horrible. A stain on the otherwise great and successful Stargate franchise. Not only is the show boring and predictable and VERY derivative (BSG, Lost, Big Brother, Melrose Place, etc), its dreary and the characters are totally unlikeable. The few scored of "10" on this site stand out as being completely contrived and fake. The messages these fly by people are making are This show is horrible. A stain on the otherwise great and successful Stargate franchise. Not only is the show boring and predictable and VERY derivative (BSG, Lost, Big Brother, Melrose Place, etc), its dreary and the characters are totally unlikeable. The few scored of "10" on this site stand out as being completely contrived and fake. The messages these fly by people are making are canned and sound silly when you have actually seen the show. I gave it 5 episodes before I stopped watching live, and after seeing Life, I removed it from my DVR recording schedule. It completely blows and shoulod be canceled. I cant see it getting past a second season (its already approved). Ratings will tank even lower than the 1.3m for the "cliffhanger" The DVDis not selling well, and the reviews are horrible at Amazon. Dont be fooled by the shills posting "10" ratings. Expand
  8. DanteI
    Feb 2, 2010
    0
    Horrible. Frankly, i loved all stargate's franchise, but this is a joke. Drama sucks, that's why we watch Science fiction.
  9. ethanJ
    Oct 10, 2009
    3
    Ok this show hasnt made any sense. They should have made this more like SGA an lead up to this series. There was no mention of the 9th chevron in the past. Like i was sayiong before this show hast been making any sense we all know that the Deadulous class ship Hammond is one of the most powerful ships in the galaxy and would be able to withstand Orie ships. how come three Gauld could Ok this show hasnt made any sense. They should have made this more like SGA an lead up to this series. There was no mention of the 9th chevron in the past. Like i was sayiong before this show hast been making any sense we all know that the Deadulous class ship Hammond is one of the most powerful ships in the galaxy and would be able to withstand Orie ships. how come three Gauld could overcome the Hammond. it just doesn make sense. Also the thing that people enjoyed most about the SG was how people were familiar with the technology. This Rush guy seems to sound like he knows what he is doing but does not seem eligable for the role. Most of the characters seem be ok but if they do another desert like episode. im gonna proably stop watchng it and just watch reruns of SGA and SG1. Collapse
  10. JackL
    Nov 24, 2009
    3
    Is this really Stargate? Where is the hope, optimism, humor? I see none of it. I see no science or interesting technology, just bimbo lesbians and who slept with who. Too dark and edgy for me, it's garbage.
  11. jackow
    Oct 31, 2009
    4
    The initial plot building has been so slow that the first 4 episodes or so could have been condensed into about 2. I mean, an episode starts with the need to find material to scrub CO2 build-up and almost nothing happens until they find it an hour later... c'mon that could have been interesting in a 10 or 15 minute segment.
  12. RyanH
    Nov 20, 2009
    4
    After the first episode, I would have given SGU a 7.5 or 8. After a few episodes I was still hopeful with a 7. Now I'm down to a 4. Just watched the latest episode (I think it's called Life. Lt Scott finds out on this episode that he's a dad). The episode can be summarized in three words "A bad day". I really hope this isn't the direction they are taking Stargate... After the first episode, I would have given SGU a 7.5 or 8. After a few episodes I was still hopeful with a 7. Now I'm down to a 4. Just watched the latest episode (I think it's called Life. Lt Scott finds out on this episode that he's a dad). The episode can be summarized in three words "A bad day". I really hope this isn't the direction they are taking Stargate... what happened to the swashbuckling adventuring that drew all the fans in the first place? There's very little exploration going on and everything is so melodramatic, over-dramatic, controversial and political. I hated the last episode. I personally believe it was the worst stargate episode... e-v-e-r. Enough with the soap opera / fake-reality show and let's get on with the sci fi. Otherwise, put the show on a new channel and call it TLC Sci Fi and call the show "A ship and a Stargate, plus one hundred and 8". urg, I digress. Expand
  13. MurrayB
    Nov 4, 2009
    1
    I would have rated it 0 but it is better than "The Starlost" which was a 0. Even though I have followed Stargate from the original movie with Kurt Russell and was a regular viewer of the TV series I was unable to finish watching the first SGU episode. Not only was it slow and dark it was very boring. It is also more anti-science fiction then sci fi. BSG is also anti-science where the bad I would have rated it 0 but it is better than "The Starlost" which was a 0. Even though I have followed Stargate from the original movie with Kurt Russell and was a regular viewer of the TV series I was unable to finish watching the first SGU episode. Not only was it slow and dark it was very boring. It is also more anti-science fiction then sci fi. BSG is also anti-science where the bad guys are the product of human science. Strangely, the good reviews on every forum I have looked at are all written by the same authors. Two or three people posting rave reviews under many different names. What is up with that? Expand
  14. PaulI
    Nov 4, 2009
    2
    Tries to be Lost meets Star Trek but fails miserably (Lost in Space anyone?). Mediocre acting (Carlyle excepted), cardboard characters, bad scripts and poor direction. Episodes 1 to 3 should have been wrapped into just two. Boring and longwinded but can be forgiven as scene setting for the show. Episode 4 actually quite good. Entertaining. Carlyle starts to flex his acting muscles and Tries to be Lost meets Star Trek but fails miserably (Lost in Space anyone?). Mediocre acting (Carlyle excepted), cardboard characters, bad scripts and poor direction. Episodes 1 to 3 should have been wrapped into just two. Boring and longwinded but can be forgiven as scene setting for the show. Episode 4 actually quite good. Entertaining. Carlyle starts to flex his acting muscles and Eli's character is toned down a bit to make him more bearable. As the comic relief he is just annoying. Ship loses power and pops up in a star system supposedly so its passengers can head for nearby inhabitable planets but Oh No!..They're heading straight for a star! Hands up who realised immediately that it was the ships intention in order to refuel itself harnessing the stars power somehow..yup..nearly everyone. Will the writers acknowledge that its audience is reasonably intellligent and not spring this as the "surprise" conclusion to episode 5? Episode 5. Nope..they think we don't know. Oh dear. Perhaps an interesting side story will appear. Yes. A group can survive by heading for a planet on the shuttlecraft. Colonel young decides on a lottery system to choose. If you expect a group of humans to end their days alone on a planet you need a balance of men and women for obvious reasons. This could have been turned into an entertaining and comic vehicle for the actors and viewers (who gets the gal with big bazooms? etc), but no, as about 14 men and 3 women board the craft I knew within a year most of the men would have clubbed each other to death fighting over the women. When Dr. Rush realises what is really happening he explains the power loss is due to the ship diverting all its power to the shields in order for it to enter the star and reenergise itself. So how did the shuttle manage to leave the ship with its shields at full strength? Episode 6. Water is disappearing so the ship pops up at an icebound planet so the passengers can get more water. Colonel Young decides to head a 2 man team with second in command Scott in tow. Hang on!? In the last episode Young takes himself out of the lottery of survivors as he is crippled and weak and wouldnt survive the arduous nature of survival on a barren planet. This week he's going on a mission to carve up and transport chunks of ice to the ship. A task requiring great physical strength and endurance. Two of his strongest grunts would have sufficed for this one. One more of the shows inconsistencies in plot development. Bet next week he's back on his crutch , hobbling around the ship. Seems the writers threw in this one to as an excuse to put Lt. Johansen in charge and deal with the aliens discovered aboard the ship. Seems a swarming group of particle sized aliens are taking thousands of litres of water at a time. How? How do these tiny aliens take the water. Absorb it? they don't have the body mass! Why do they need it? Such small creatures with simple anatomies probably exist by photosynthesis, turning sunlight into energy. There was no water on the desert planet they originally came from so if they need water to survive wouldn't they have died out on that planet? How did Johansen get them into the barrel? They obligingly swarmed in and that was it? Also, with the ship reenergised they can simply dial Earth using the Stargate and go home. Hurray! No. The ship only got 40% power back. Why? And if the ship is partially sentient, constantly sensing the needs of its passengers and obliging by popping up wherever its needed, why doesnt it sense their need to return home, head for a star, get full power and let them use the stargate? All these inconsistencies and more make this show a real loser. It underestimates its audience on every level. Where is the science in this science fiction? The lazy writers need a science advisor desperately. Any 12 year old in any education system in the world will do... This should have been so good but is so bad! Enoughs enough for me. Can't see this getting any better. Time to jump ship I'm afraid. Expand
  15. DanielC
    Oct 15, 2009
    2
    Oh my God. They turned one of the best SciFi franchises in a piece of crap like Battlestar Galactica. That hurts!
  16. emmaw
    Oct 15, 2009
    0
    I had hoped that if they were going to "go for it" and do something else, that it would mean doing more than just borrowing ideas of other shows. Boring characters none of whome id care about if they did infact get left behind or accidentally fell out of an air lock. Sorry but i think me and stargate will part ways here.
  17. zULUeCHO
    Oct 17, 2009
    2
    The biggest flaw of the show is it tries to take itself seriously using characters which don't have much depth by adding lots of useless melodrama.
  18. BjarniEiríkur
    Dec 7, 2009
    0
    WTF, "Cry me a river in space" everi episode is the same no houmor, no action, no suprise, no fun just drama to the death, and no special kind of drama just boring guideing light shit drama Ultra boring and, who in there right mind could ever accept paying real money to get this made unless they are complitly delusional, i am a big fan of stargate and i realy liked the houmor, the WTF, "Cry me a river in space" everi episode is the same no houmor, no action, no suprise, no fun just drama to the death, and no special kind of drama just boring guideing light shit drama Ultra boring and, who in there right mind could ever accept paying real money to get this made unless they are complitly delusional, i am a big fan of stargate and i realy liked the houmor, the originality of it and the efford the producers put in to it, and to see what is being done to it is unbelivable how boring can a tv show realy be? i think this show will be the new Zero piont on how bad a tv show can get, pushing guideing light out of the last place, Do not watch this show or spend money in any relations with it EVER. Expand
  19. ScottK
    Oct 4, 2009
    2
    I knew they were taking the show in a new direction, and by new direction, they meant everything that has already been done to death. Instead of coming off as edgy or even sci-fi in any manner of the word, they turn around and are actually quite generic on the base where the previous installments although safe, were very story driven and kept people coming back for more. With Universe so I knew they were taking the show in a new direction, and by new direction, they meant everything that has already been done to death. Instead of coming off as edgy or even sci-fi in any manner of the word, they turn around and are actually quite generic on the base where the previous installments although safe, were very story driven and kept people coming back for more. With Universe so far, were left with the only thing in this sequel that actually resembles the show stargate, being the stargate itself. The cast are all young and their acting ability shows through with how green they can be. Your best bet if you want to enjoy this show, is to most likely forget that its stargate and throw all your hopes and dreams out the window, because its no longer story driven, its a soap opera drama now, going off the fights among the characters, and from what we have seen from the premier, .are all forced conflicts do to poor writing. Some things to consider if you have watched SG-1 and SGA... The new "geek" who happens to be a gamer who solved some impossible code that apparently the combine force of McKay, Daniel Jackson, and Samantha Carter couldn't figure out, this kid apparently figured out without much effort. Within 2 days, he had acquired more knowledge on the ancients than the combine knowledge of Daniel Jackson and Mckay and was able to control ship systems with relative ease. The military personnel were weak at best, being what appeared to be weekend warriors serving their 1 weekend a month. The show has no control, no real direction and was very sloppy for a premier that was meant to bring people in...The show will get 2 episodes more at best before being ditched completly if things dont "fix" themselves. No im not looking for a rehash of SG-1 or Atlantis, however, solid acting and a story are a requirement...This is wormhole extreme all over again. Expand
  20. ty
    Oct 5, 2009
    1
    Boring as this show has reached the end of its Universe. What's an Eli? Please!
  21. ScottN
    Oct 6, 2009
    1
    Very disappointing. I went in spoiler free, so I didn't know there were doing a pale imitation of BSG, but that is what it is. The plot is the same old: "more power, another chevron and a big jump." The "new" thing, is a veneer of BSG, dark, depressing, with angry shrill characters yelling at each other. No fun at all. Not a single compelling character. I can't see it being Very disappointing. I went in spoiler free, so I didn't know there were doing a pale imitation of BSG, but that is what it is. The plot is the same old: "more power, another chevron and a big jump." The "new" thing, is a veneer of BSG, dark, depressing, with angry shrill characters yelling at each other. No fun at all. Not a single compelling character. I can't see it being fixed. It is Stargate sucked dry of any fun by design. Expand
  22. AydinB
    Oct 8, 2009
    1
    This was not "the thing" i have expected after stargate sg1 and stargate atlantis. the scenario was really too poor. actings were not so good, in my opinion. sorry.
  23. AlexanderM
    Oct 11, 2009
    3
    Fans of Stargate and sci-fi steer clear of this one. Fans of Battlestar Galactica 2.0, take a look. With the renaming of the Sci Fi Channel to Syfy comes a similarly painful re-branding of Stargate, Stargate: Drama on a Spaceship. The premier was a mixed bag, the increased focus on inter-character drama was clear but it still appeared to have a reasonable amount of the Stargate focus but Fans of Stargate and sci-fi steer clear of this one. Fans of Battlestar Galactica 2.0, take a look. With the renaming of the Sci Fi Channel to Syfy comes a similarly painful re-branding of Stargate, Stargate: Drama on a Spaceship. The premier was a mixed bag, the increased focus on inter-character drama was clear but it still appeared to have a reasonable amount of the Stargate focus but the second episode has cleared up any confusion. Stargate Universe is a drama and the next few episodes appear to continue the character drama if the descriptions are correct. Fans of soaps will likely enjoy it but fans of sci-fi are in for a disappointment with poorly written characters, generic character drama, half-arsed sci-fi writing, and mediocre acting. The show has been summarized as Lost meets StarTrek Voyager but that's a misrepresentation because there doesn't seem to be any indication that they will run into other people anytime soon. SG-1's whole message about gods and the religions surrounding them being created by other mortal or once mortal beings, thus something to be avoided seems to be ignored in order to allow religion to work for personal conflict within one of the protagonists. While this generic drama tool can be used in many other series, it creates a conflict in overtones in the Stargate universe. Expand
  24. ThomasC
    Oct 10, 2009
    0
    Could they have at least hired a few actors for the main cast? How about some writers who can put together a semi-realistic based storyline within the context of the plot? When the main go-to military guy looks like someone barely old enough to have just joined the military, it's hard to accept him as any kind of authority figure as a viewer. Female characters who look like they were Could they have at least hired a few actors for the main cast? How about some writers who can put together a semi-realistic based storyline within the context of the plot? When the main go-to military guy looks like someone barely old enough to have just joined the military, it's hard to accept him as any kind of authority figure as a viewer. Female characters who look like they were transplanted from reality tv and that looks mattered more than acting abilities. The doctor-medic is more believable as eye candy than a person we should care about. I guffawed so often during the pilot at the absurd dialogue I should have started a drinking game. At the height of life or death, an hour of air left, the doctor and 2nd in command refuse to let the head guy sacrifice himself to save everyone. No one person should have to die so everyone else can live, better that they all go down trying. My eye's are still rolling over this. This didn't need to be another SG-1 or Atlantis. Didn't need to be another Battlestar or even Farscape. But what they are offering up as the new SG series on the new SyFy network makes me long for the Sci-Fi channel. I'm willing to give it a little time to shake out the chaff from the cast & crew, but so far the only thing keeping me coming back is Eli. I just pray they don't try to score kiss butt points with SG fans by finding a way to get McKay onto the ship via some sort of holo-program. Expand
  25. TristanM
    Nov 17, 2009
    2
    Teen drama in space. Very childish. Too much sex and voyerism. Not enough SCIENCE and FICTION. The producing are spitting on the old fans in favor of reality TV watching children. The show now panders to those who think with their hormones instead of with their minds. It won't make it til the end of the second season, unless it gets a major overhaul. I love stargate .. just not Teen drama in space. Very childish. Too much sex and voyerism. Not enough SCIENCE and FICTION. The producing are spitting on the old fans in favor of reality TV watching children. The show now panders to those who think with their hormones instead of with their minds. It won't make it til the end of the second season, unless it gets a major overhaul. I love stargate .. just not Stargate Universe. Expand
  26. KathyBoland
    Nov 21, 2009
    0
    These writers are simply not able to pull off this kind of dramatic show. All of the character development has been very hands off...through a video camera held by a second character, or through eaves dropping on clinical psych evaluations. Everything is third person. It is not as if you are "in" the action but viewing it from a clinical viewpoint. With such a stand offish style it's These writers are simply not able to pull off this kind of dramatic show. All of the character development has been very hands off...through a video camera held by a second character, or through eaves dropping on clinical psych evaluations. Everything is third person. It is not as if you are "in" the action but viewing it from a clinical viewpoint. With such a stand offish style it's hard to get invested in any of the characters. Yet I WANT to like it. I keep trying! Expand
  27. d.y.
    Nov 22, 2009
    0
    Painful to watch. I have an idea: make this a mock-reality show. Every episode, the characters have a bunch of interpersonal drama, have some ridiculous competition, then they vote one person off the ship and shove them out the airlock. People who think these characters are complex need to get a dictionary. They get flatter by the minute. Let's not confuse unsympathetic with complex. Painful to watch. I have an idea: make this a mock-reality show. Every episode, the characters have a bunch of interpersonal drama, have some ridiculous competition, then they vote one person off the ship and shove them out the airlock. People who think these characters are complex need to get a dictionary. They get flatter by the minute. Let's not confuse unsympathetic with complex. This series has a situation ("we're stuck on a ship!") but no plot to speak of. I waited for it to go somewhere but after Episode 9 ("Life") I gave up. Sorry to say it, I'm a huge fan of SG-1 with its fresh approach to mythologies and of Atlantis with its character struggles (Weir going from negotiating peace treaties to condoning torture--great psychological complexity); both had amazing world-building and action. I cared what happened to the characters. I still love Stargate--just not SGU. Hopefully this show is a one-season stand we can all try to forget ever happened. Expand
  28. DaveP
    Nov 22, 2009
    1
    It's confusing, and not getting any better. All the flashbacks are getting boring, and taking you away from the theme - whatever that is? It's more like a pyscho-drama, too much in the head, too drawn and contrived. So far It's put me to sleep, without fail, every time. Something which the original Stargate, or its successor Atlantis never did. If the older shows are on I It's confusing, and not getting any better. All the flashbacks are getting boring, and taking you away from the theme - whatever that is? It's more like a pyscho-drama, too much in the head, too drawn and contrived. So far It's put me to sleep, without fail, every time. Something which the original Stargate, or its successor Atlantis never did. If the older shows are on I watch them over and over again, even though I know the story well - just for the character interaction. Sorry this one leaves me cold, so much overacting to fill in for content. Expand
  29. DarrenM
    Nov 22, 2009
    0
    This is a horrible show. I have been a fan of All Stagate, but this one is terrible!!! I mean, the trouble they have is stuck in the desert? stuck in the ice? My lesbian lover misses me? My ex girlfriend didn't have an abortion? My host body guy is hitting on my wife? What a pile. I keep hoping it will get better, but I am losing hope at this point. And why does everything have to be This is a horrible show. I have been a fan of All Stagate, but this one is terrible!!! I mean, the trouble they have is stuck in the desert? stuck in the ice? My lesbian lover misses me? My ex girlfriend didn't have an abortion? My host body guy is hitting on my wife? What a pile. I keep hoping it will get better, but I am losing hope at this point. And why does everything have to be so negative? Maybe the writers should watch the other SG series to see what the theme is supposed to be. Where's the sci-fi fun gadgets, adventures? Expand
  30. EikC
    Oct 18, 2009
    4
    For each episode I watch, I hope that they've now done away with the near-constant personal tragedies and crying that happens every single moment for some reason. Well, 3 episodes in and they haven't. Why do they make characters the viewers don't even care about yet go all-out emo in the first episodes?! Something tells me these characters are gonna be paper-thin and dull For each episode I watch, I hope that they've now done away with the near-constant personal tragedies and crying that happens every single moment for some reason. Well, 3 episodes in and they haven't. Why do they make characters the viewers don't even care about yet go all-out emo in the first episodes?! Something tells me these characters are gonna be paper-thin and dull when they're laying it on that thick right off the bat. They can still salvage this if they throw the emo chick and half the cast out an airlock accidentally, and stop the constant wannabe-dramatic atmosphere which they pretty much nicked off of Battlestar Galactica. Speaking of constant drama, what's with the gamer dude? He is clearly comic relief, but this is Battlegate Universica, so how do you expect him to make light of anything with the constant drama you've imposed? Expand
  31. JamesM
    Nov 9, 2009
    1
    SGU is complete rubbish. A low-budget, washed out american soap drama set in space. They
  32. AlexK
    Nov 9, 2009
    0
    This new "Stargate" series is going to make you appreciate you have DVR and just skip over 90% of each episode. There is actualy nothing worth watching. No edgy science, no action, no plot, just crying and whining. You have to wake up at the end of each episode and kick yourself for wasting another hour of your life. Unless new Sy-fy channel aspires to be lame version of Lifetime then I This new "Stargate" series is going to make you appreciate you have DVR and just skip over 90% of each episode. There is actualy nothing worth watching. No edgy science, no action, no plot, just crying and whining. You have to wake up at the end of each episode and kick yourself for wasting another hour of your life. Unless new Sy-fy channel aspires to be lame version of Lifetime then I suggest they pay some old writers to help them out. Sci-Fi fans are better of watching ABC or Fox with its new series. "Fringe" "V" "Flash Forward" Expand
  33. GC
    Dec 10, 2009
    0
    i've already abandoned the show. didn't even bother with the midseason cliffhanger episode. here's why. - the characters are all unpleasant - the characters argue and create drama for no apparent reason. every episode - the political correctness of the show annoys me - the ancient stones allowing communication with earth are a cheat. takes away any sense that these people i've already abandoned the show. didn't even bother with the midseason cliffhanger episode. here's why. - the characters are all unpleasant - the characters argue and create drama for no apparent reason. every episode - the political correctness of the show annoys me - the ancient stones allowing communication with earth are a cheat. takes away any sense that these people are a zillion light years away from earth - too much sex for the sake of sex - setting up the lead scientist to be a bad guy not interested in the welfare of the others has been done before. see "Lost in Space" - very little humor - did i mention that the characters are all unpleasant. why would i want to spend an hour with unpleasant people every week when i can just change the channel? it's a horrible, horrible show. the writers and producers need to be fed to the wraith. Expand
  34. JohnH
    Dec 1, 2009
    1
    I hate the look and feel of it. Bad cast of characters that are too familiar with other hits. I can't get Labamba out of my head, among other shows. Hate the explicit sexual content. Hate the characters. I really liked sg1 and atlantis, but am super disappointed with this. I hope they scrap it and go back to their roots. Produce a family-friendly show without all of the crap.
  35. KlarkK
    Dec 20, 2009
    0
    This is not Sci-fi but Syfy which means more soap opera and less of what we the fans want.
  36. BJT
    Dec 20, 2009
    0
    Too much like BSG for my taste. No need for this to have the title of StarGate at all.
  37. cnib
    Oct 2, 2009
    0
    It felt like Battle Star Galactica, i really didn't like the characters. it was a downer ..... just dark and gloomy. i know there are many who like gritty realism served up with their entertainment, but it ain't my cup of tea.
  38. MarioT
    Dec 23, 2009
    1
    Let
  39. Jackf
    Dec 4, 2009
    2
    Univertse is terrible. The charachtes are two-dimensional at best and the whole show has the look and feel of a soap opera. And why for god's sake haven't they found the lights yet. every scene seems to be shot in twilight.......... it's very depressing.
  40. AlanG
    Dec 9, 2009
    3
    Every week I keep hoping it will improve and every week I'm disappointed. It's far more soap than sci-fi. If they do decide to do another series I hope they read some of the comments posted here and get it right!
  41. PeterT.
    Oct 5, 2009
    2
    I don't know what was worse, the jumping back and forth in time (rips away any suspense), the recycled actors (glad they were only on the one show), or the Dr Suess dialogue.
  42. DavidL.
    Oct 5, 2009
    0
    And they canceled SG Altantis for this, what were they thinking. It is a big loser for me.
  43. JonDoe
    Oct 5, 2009
    2
    What the hell! Battlestar Galactica/Lost/ kind of stargate show what happen? If this crap doesn't change just bring back atlantis. what a waste of stargate goodness.
  44. MartinL
    Oct 7, 2009
    0
    Can anyone tell me when it became acceptable to replace plot and good writing with buckets of angst?
  45. JohnM
    Nov 27, 2009
    2
    Simple and poor idea about how to kill the briliate franchise.
  46. Oct 10, 2010
    3
    I really, really wanted to like this show. I could like it--I like science fiction and some of the actors featured on this show--but the writing is persistently so very, very, very bad. Please get new writers to save this show. As it is, the script--what the actors do and say and decisions they make--is completely unbelievable 90% of the time. I spend most of the show thinking,I really, really wanted to like this show. I could like it--I like science fiction and some of the actors featured on this show--but the writing is persistently so very, very, very bad. Please get new writers to save this show. As it is, the script--what the actors do and say and decisions they make--is completely unbelievable 90% of the time. I spend most of the show thinking, "you've got to be kidding me." I cringe every time the writers over explain the obvious with lines that underestimate the intelligence of the audience and and provoke a "duh!" response. They could have done so much with this show; it had so much potential, and an eager Sci-Fi audience. Such a disappointment. The characters are just bad tempered, mean, some of them irrelevant--I end up thinking, "Who cares about these people?" Some have called SGU "dark" and "depressing" I think the "dark" aspect is just plain bad writing. I think the "depressing" aspect is that it leaves the viewer depressed because it so just so bad. It is so bad, it can't even be funny bad. I do watch this regularly because I am a big Sci-Fi fan, and I am persisting in my belief that a turnover in writers and actors could save this show. So I watch every week with hope, and end up disappointed. I won't stop watching--because I love Sci-Fi, have loved the SG series, and because I seem to be pathetically optimistic that next time will get better. Expand
  47. Nov 3, 2010
    0
    THIS IS ONE OF THE WORSE SCI-FI SERIES THAT I HAVE EVER SEEN !!! (if you consider this as Sci-FI...). The series is way claustrophobic and most episodes are very boring....
    The action is stale and as a sci-fi the fantasy section feels way way limited.... Most of the series plot is about curing some alien disease or about visiting some boring planet with no local people or some boring
    THIS IS ONE OF THE WORSE SCI-FI SERIES THAT I HAVE EVER SEEN !!! (if you consider this as Sci-FI...). The series is way claustrophobic and most episodes are very boring....
    The action is stale and as a sci-fi the fantasy section feels way way limited.... Most of the series plot is about curing some alien disease or about visiting some boring planet with no local people or some boring personal incidents of the team inside the ship !! I even watched the 2 episodes of Season 2 hoping it will be better but again i was very disappointed.. I will not even bother with this series again, as a Sci-Fi fan i am very disappointed of how pathetic Stargate has turned out...
    Expand
  48. May 3, 2011
    0
    Every week this show finds a why to smother the science fiction genre to death. It really is not so hard. Every week you beam (or gate) down to a planet shoot some alien in the face and hook up with some green chick.
  49. Aug 27, 2012
    1
    As a big SG1 and SGA fan i was thrilled to see another spin off show had been created, after watching half a dozen shows the level of disappointment has been overwhelming, absolutely nothing happened. Its so different to SG1 that it is unrecognisable, the characters are unlikeable, the spaceship is dull, the plot is thin, the alien technology that allows the crew to zap themselves back toAs a big SG1 and SGA fan i was thrilled to see another spin off show had been created, after watching half a dozen shows the level of disappointment has been overwhelming, absolutely nothing happened. Its so different to SG1 that it is unrecognisable, the characters are unlikeable, the spaceship is dull, the plot is thin, the alien technology that allows the crew to zap themselves back to earth is so obviously just there so that extra earth based plots are available to be inserted when the rest of the story is thin which is most of the time. Its just awful and does not deserve the SG prefix. Expand
  50. JessantS.
    Oct 13, 2009
    0
    I hate this show. There are no likable characters. There were big problems with plot in SGA but characters like John and Rodney made it bearable. I don't like anyone on this horrible mishmash of a show.
  51. SteveO.
    Oct 12, 2009
    0
    Boring show and it gets worse with every new episode... Completely weired science, irrational characters trying to be funny (the fat gamer dude)... Can it get worse ? Yes it can ! I hope this one gets canceled soon.
  52. John
    Nov 9, 2009
    2
    If people want BSG, then watch that... I hated it. Its sad that Stargate is now a soap opera. The first 2 episodes looked promising and I told myself that they were just building characters... nope, I need to find a new show now. Maybe someone will turn the new Star Trek movie into a series. And please leave out the drama!
  53. KamP
    Oct 22, 2009
    0
    The characters are awful. They have no depth and they are very annoying plus the actors can't act to save their life. I am actually rooting for them to either freeze to death or the show to get cancelled. Although the idea is good the execution is the worst. I've seen 3 episodes and I am not interested to see anymore. I loved the first 3 seasons of SGA why not bring that back.
  54. MichaelS.
    Oct 3, 2009
    1
    As a huge fan of all things Stargate I was very disappointed. The plot was slow and boring and the screenplay was so full of logic holes it boggled the mind. Where are the villains? Where are the aliens either evil or good or somewhere in between? Where is all the cool sci-fi tech stuff? The only tech we saw on the ship other than a view computer stations was a floating movable camera! As a huge fan of all things Stargate I was very disappointed. The plot was slow and boring and the screenplay was so full of logic holes it boggled the mind. Where are the villains? Where are the aliens either evil or good or somewhere in between? Where is all the cool sci-fi tech stuff? The only tech we saw on the ship other than a view computer stations was a floating movable camera! That was it! Not exactly exciting stuff. Most importantly where is all the drama and the action. Other than the surpise attack on the base there was none. So far what we have to worry about is a misguided scientist who sent the survivors to the ancient spaceship and the old broken down ship itself which looks more like a tramp cargo ship from World War 2 than it does a cool spaceship. This is supposed to be the third stargate series not the sequel to Battlestar Galctica. I hope the show improves but with so little connection to the first 2 stargate series I don't see a lot of stargate fans sticking around for a full season and unless the show gets a lot more interesting and yes I dare to say a lot more exciting I don't see a lot of new fans staying for a full season either. For now I will keep watching in the hope of some serious improvement but from what I have seen so far I'm not all that optimistic. I mean, come on! For a show centered on a lack of air on a lost spaceship there was very little tension. No one lost consciousness or collapsed. All we had was people complaining about the bad air and about having headaches. And when the urgent air problem was solved for 24 hours the sacrifice of one character hardly seemed dramatic at all. The premiere of Universe was not what makes for exciting and interesting sci-fi. If this is suposed to be dark and edgy and realistic sci-fi then they missed the mark and hit dull and slow instead. Expand
  55. andreww
    Jan 14, 2010
    1
    Like most other viewers, I kept hoping the sci fi would come out, but it views like East Enders in Space. What is all this crap with people keep popping back to earth in somebody else's body?? - drop it!, or the writers, or both! There is limitless potential for exploring the wonders of the ship - yes, they are on a ship- in case you had forgotten! it could be done on a low budget if Like most other viewers, I kept hoping the sci fi would come out, but it views like East Enders in Space. What is all this crap with people keep popping back to earth in somebody else's body?? - drop it!, or the writers, or both! There is limitless potential for exploring the wonders of the ship - yes, they are on a ship- in case you had forgotten! it could be done on a low budget if needs; but please stop all the over dramatic interplay between characters- simplify it, go read up on the strengths os the previous stargate series, and remember it's pobably the same viewers. YOU ARE BORING US TO DEATH GUYS! - and could the so-called proffessional critics take a look at what the normally silent majority think, because you guys are losing the plot, along with the writers of SGU. I am free next weekend, as a favour, if you want, I will knock out an episode that people will watch- because thats how difficult it isn't! - are the writers getting paid for this? - Why?? Expand
  56. DaveS
    Jan 20, 2010
    1
    Started out well enough but plunged down hill fast. To much Soap Opera who's sleeping with who. Any day now we'll find out Eli is his own grandpa.
  57. GuyS
    Jan 8, 2010
    0
    It's just a bad soap with the stereo-typical mad scientist. Just plain awful
  58. BruceH
    Oct 18, 2009
    1
    This new show focuses more on interpersonal drama than exploration or discovery. It's nothing more than a soap opera set on a spaceship. This is not the Stargate I watched, and it is not a show I will continue to watch. It may win awards, but I believe this is the show that kills the franchise.
  59. ElizabethD
    Jan 11, 2010
    1
    SGU was one of the worst things I have ever seen! I loves Stargate Atlantis. It was an epic win! This is a epic fail! The characters have no personalities, the story sucks! And 8 episodes could be one episode. Everything is so slow and it never happens anything! I mean, I can watch slow TV shows, I mean Ghost Whisperer is pretty slow, but it happens stuff in that show that makes you more SGU was one of the worst things I have ever seen! I loves Stargate Atlantis. It was an epic win! This is a epic fail! The characters have no personalities, the story sucks! And 8 episodes could be one episode. Everything is so slow and it never happens anything! I mean, I can watch slow TV shows, I mean Ghost Whisperer is pretty slow, but it happens stuff in that show that makes you more excited! So it's not that I can't watch stuff taht is slow. It's just that this is so slow and nothing ever happens, the 3D animation sucks, the actors dosen't bring life to the characters! I can go on for hours! But this is an epic fail! Stay away from this if you're an SG fan! Go and watch SGA all over again instead and wait for the upcoming S´GA movie "Stargate: Extinction" instead. Wow, what a dissapointment! Expand
  60. BobbleHat
    Jan 12, 2010
    0
    Lost !! In Space !! Can it ever hope to be as good as SG1 or SGA? Can it ever hope to have a decent watchable episode? Can it ever develop characters ior plots into something we are interested in watching? No !!! So just CAN IT !!!
  61. CrystalD
    Jan 20, 2010
    1
    I can't believe they canceled Atlantis for this pathetic show! The characters are all boring and it seems to lack imagination at every angle. I kept hoping it would turn around but about the 4th show in just couldn't stand watching it anymore. It seems completely void of humor. It's like they were trying to turn Stargate and Battlestar all into one and save themselves some I can't believe they canceled Atlantis for this pathetic show! The characters are all boring and it seems to lack imagination at every angle. I kept hoping it would turn around but about the 4th show in just couldn't stand watching it anymore. It seems completely void of humor. It's like they were trying to turn Stargate and Battlestar all into one and save themselves some bucks. Well guess what it's not working. Neither fan group is satisfied. It's dark and depressing and not at all enjoyable to watch and the sex crap is just that CRAP{! Expand
  62. JosephG
    Jan 22, 2010
    1
    DISGRACEFUL. The only reason I give this a 1 and not a 0, is that the characters of Eli, Rush, and the commander (forgot his name) are well acted. But good acting cannot make up for the utter embarassment, disgrace of a show that the writers have put together so far. I don't mind a desert planet at all. I don't mind a slow-build up. But don't insult our intelligence by DISGRACEFUL. The only reason I give this a 1 and not a 0, is that the characters of Eli, Rush, and the commander (forgot his name) are well acted. But good acting cannot make up for the utter embarassment, disgrace of a show that the writers have put together so far. I don't mind a desert planet at all. I don't mind a slow-build up. But don't insult our intelligence by focusing on plot lines that you would see in "Chuck" or some teenie-bopper show. Stargate fans are a sophisticated bunch, and very loyal to well-written shows. But you have totally abaondoned us - seriously guys. You gave sophisticated camera-work and more theatrical acting, with god-awful plots. And look - I was in the military. Of course there are gays in the military and there are people with other diverse backgrounds. You don't have to make that the focus of 50% of your shows!! This is such drivel, its so awful, its like being forced to watch "As the World Turns" or "General Hospital" dressed up in the Stargate franchise. Brad, and the other creator guy... time to rest on your laurels and retire. I'd rather watch C-SPAN than this c**p. Expand
  63. kyleb
    Oct 11, 2009
    3
    Not impressed so far. I knew the second they canceled Atlantis they had a bad case of BSG envy. SGU shows every sign of being BSG light--the worst of both worlds. What they're sacrificing is the fun, humor and charismatic characters that were Stargate hallmarks. And what they're overlooking is that BSG was only fantastic 20% of the time and the rest was pretentious crap.
  64. DanielW
    Dec 23, 2009
    2
    Stargate is a franchise known for it's humor and traditional sci-fi plot lines, not character development or drama. And yes, after a total of 15 years of that kind of show, a change was needed (the later seasons of Atlantis showed us this). Unfortunately, Stargate Universe tried to be too different. The show feels much more like a soap opera set in space. The best episode yet was Stargate is a franchise known for it's humor and traditional sci-fi plot lines, not character development or drama. And yes, after a total of 15 years of that kind of show, a change was needed (the later seasons of Atlantis showed us this). Unfortunately, Stargate Universe tried to be too different. The show feels much more like a soap opera set in space. The best episode yet was only on par with some of the worst SG-1 or Atlantis episodes. Like previous commenters, I watched this show hoping each week that it would get better; that it would stop focusing on the sex and the drama and actually have an episode with a real science-fiction plot. I've since given up. SGU continues to show a pattern of relationship drama and, well, sheer boringness. Perhaps this show will attract more mainstream viewers who aren't necessarily sci-fi fans, but I don't think even they'll be interested for that long. I'd be surprised if this show lasted longer than 2 seasons. Expand
  65. fantasy
    Oct 3, 2009
    1
    I have watched all the Stargate series. Yesterday's offering was a two hour commercial showing the same scene over and over. It better quickly catch my attention as there were no memorable characters in the entire cast. And Eli? Where are they going?
  66. MichaelS
    Dec 7, 2009
    3
    I just watched the season finale. Look. It's real simple. This is incredibly boring! It's insulting really. We veiwers need tangible bad guys to root against! If I see one more episode of a dark ship with a dark plot and dark moody people walking around with sad faces I'm out! It's so sad to take a wonderful concept for a series and then totally mishandle it! Aargh! I just watched the season finale. Look. It's real simple. This is incredibly boring! It's insulting really. We veiwers need tangible bad guys to root against! If I see one more episode of a dark ship with a dark plot and dark moody people walking around with sad faces I'm out! It's so sad to take a wonderful concept for a series and then totally mishandle it! Aargh! Could have been awesome but instead it just makes me more upset that they canceled SG1 and SGA in the first place. Expand
  67. StephanieC
    Apr 15, 2010
    3
    I can't wait for the next episode.
  68. SomeBody
    Nov 8, 2009
    3
    It's like the original SG1, but without the fun.
  69. BenD
    Oct 8, 2009
    2
    Stargate in name only. The winning formula is MIA, replaced by a premise that is both hackneyed and shallow. The show borrows from genres that have already been done better and offers nothing new. The allusions to Lost, BSG, and Voyager are all valid -- only Universe fails to duplicate any of the aspects that made those shows memorable and captivating. Gone is the compelling team dynamic Stargate in name only. The winning formula is MIA, replaced by a premise that is both hackneyed and shallow. The show borrows from genres that have already been done better and offers nothing new. The allusions to Lost, BSG, and Voyager are all valid -- only Universe fails to duplicate any of the aspects that made those shows memorable and captivating. Gone is the compelling team dynamic of SG-1. Instead, we're treated to hollow drama delivered by mediocre actors. When the pivotal character tragedy of the pilot episode could have been avoided by duct taping a stick to an aerial observation drone introduced just minutes earlier, you know the writers haven't brought their A-game. Good sci-fi may be a little sparse right now, but do yourself a favor and skip this mess. Expand
  70. DoodleFace
    Oct 9, 2009
    2
    Surprisingly bad. Not a single character has made me want to learn more about him or her. The story so far is also not engaging. And I hated BSG, so the imitation isn't doing it any good at all with me. Carlyle can do great comedy, so I wish they had utilized that part of his talent, but foolishly, they made his character all grim with no oddities. Damn, what a waste. I miss Stargate Surprisingly bad. Not a single character has made me want to learn more about him or her. The story so far is also not engaging. And I hated BSG, so the imitation isn't doing it any good at all with me. Carlyle can do great comedy, so I wish they had utilized that part of his talent, but foolishly, they made his character all grim with no oddities. Damn, what a waste. I miss Stargate Atlantis even more now. Expand
  71. JamesS
    Oct 9, 2009
    4
    So far, I would rate SGU below SG and SGA, and far below BSG. Blame it on the writing:. "Lost" meets "Voyager" and no one to root for yet. Casting doesn't look promising either, with the old cast of SG and special effects being the only bright spots in an otherwise off-key episode one. Maybe some of the characters will grow on us -- I hope so, otherwise, this show is DOA. Finally, is So far, I would rate SGU below SG and SGA, and far below BSG. Blame it on the writing:. "Lost" meets "Voyager" and no one to root for yet. Casting doesn't look promising either, with the old cast of SG and special effects being the only bright spots in an otherwise off-key episode one. Maybe some of the characters will grow on us -- I hope so, otherwise, this show is DOA. Finally, is it just me, or were the scenes in the promos for episode three deleted from the actual episode as shown? Pretty sloppy, if so. I'll continue to watch, hoping for improvement, but not expecting much. Caprica, where are you? Expand
  72. PedroS
    Nov 1, 2009
    3
    The only thing even remotely related to the Stargate mythos this series has is the stargate they use to reach planets... that's IT! There is no overarching story (yeah their are on a spaceship, destiny unknown, but we know THAT since day 1), each episode is a one-off "we need food", "we need water", "we need energy", "we need mineral X" kind of quest. There is little or no action, no The only thing even remotely related to the Stargate mythos this series has is the stargate they use to reach planets... that's IT! There is no overarching story (yeah their are on a spaceship, destiny unknown, but we know THAT since day 1), each episode is a one-off "we need food", "we need water", "we need energy", "we need mineral X" kind of quest. There is little or no action, no tension, no sympathy for the characters, no nothing. Each episode I hope things pick up, that something interesting will happen, and each and every episode I'm disapointed! It's seems they intended to add a more serious tone to this series (heavily inspired by BSG, almost copy-cat like) but they failed miserably, this series is a compelete waste of time, don't bother with it! What were they thinking! My bet is this doesn't live to see a second season. Expand
  73. BobH
    Nov 15, 2009
    1
    This show is officialy dead on arrival. I have painfully tried to find any redeeming quaity in this sorry excuse for an extension of the Stargate trilogy which I haved loved for years. This version is dark, dreadful and boring without one character I care anything about. I have officially taken it off my TIVO. What were the creators thinking?
  74. NickG
    Nov 21, 2009
    4
    It's a poor imitation of Battlestar Galactica. In an attempt to reproduce its "edgy" "character-driven" drama, they've dimmed the lighting, jerked the camera around and a lot and given us gratuitous sex scenes and equally gratuitous bitchiness. They've given us all of this but haven't woven it into a compelling and well-told story. So I agree with the Chicago It's a poor imitation of Battlestar Galactica. In an attempt to reproduce its "edgy" "character-driven" drama, they've dimmed the lighting, jerked the camera around and a lot and given us gratuitous sex scenes and equally gratuitous bitchiness. They've given us all of this but haven't woven it into a compelling and well-told story. So I agree with the Chicago Tribune's assessment of SGU as "contrived". Expand
  75. AdamG
    Nov 21, 2009
    3
    Show has too many characters, Some key characters need to go, and are unlikeable (at least three characters are good however). Writing isnt too strong. Way too much sex in first couple of episodes. Seems to appeal to the 14 year old male. No real strong woman characters
  76. carlT
    Nov 23, 2009
    3
    they have wasted an opertunity to make good scifi and turned it into bog brother in space.I'm not interested in who is shaggin who and peoples inner most depression.lets see people pushed to the limits and meeting the challenge.curious, driven people. come on SGU pull it together
  77. Frank
    Nov 25, 2009
    1
    If I was interested in interpersonal dramas I would watch something else. I expected more of this. They have a huge opportunity to create something really cool but they are squandering it. I could care less about the things that happen with the communication stones. There are amazing things to be found in the universe. And why don't they just follow the previously placed stargates If I was interested in interpersonal dramas I would watch something else. I expected more of this. They have a huge opportunity to create something really cool but they are squandering it. I could care less about the things that happen with the communication stones. There are amazing things to be found in the universe. And why don't they just follow the previously placed stargates back to Earth? It may take a while but they sure wouldn't have to pass through every one. A little planning and they could find a line of gates to get them pretty close. Expand
  78. LizH
    Nov 30, 2009
    2
    Boring. If it wasn't for Robert Carlisle I'd have gave up weeks ago. Bit confusing at times. This had so much potential but it's being ruined with too much personal life back fill; why keep returning to Earth? Need more action on planets they're visiting to keep fans interested. No real plot, bit of a rehash of other series, e.g. Space 1999, Battlestar Galactica.
  79. VictorV
    Oct 14, 2009
    1
    Most boring, annoying, irritating and confusing pilot of a new TV show I've ever seen in my life! Flat characters, unnecessary scenes, a simple plot streched over 3 episodes filled with melodrama and stupid / senseless dialogs! If you're a Stargate fan, don't look for anything familiar here. If you're somebody looking for whining, crying, more whining and more crying Most boring, annoying, irritating and confusing pilot of a new TV show I've ever seen in my life! Flat characters, unnecessary scenes, a simple plot streched over 3 episodes filled with melodrama and stupid / senseless dialogs! If you're a Stargate fan, don't look for anything familiar here. If you're somebody looking for whining, crying, more whining and more crying because you have no real life, you actually might like it! Expand
  80. RogerO
    Oct 14, 2009
    3
    You dropped SG-1 and SGA for this !?? SGU is not sci-fi, it is a soap opera in disguise, and a bad one at that. Bring back SGA or keep losing viewers by the scores.
  81. JerS
    Nov 6, 2009
    0
    I guess I'll just be rehashing what others have already said, and what I found out: SG-U is nothing but Battlestar Galactica. That is, it's a complete soap opera taking place on a starship. It's easy to hate all of the characters (except for Dr. Rush, who was pretty damn intelligent), and that's mostly because of how dark and gritty they're acting. It fits the I guess I'll just be rehashing what others have already said, and what I found out: SG-U is nothing but Battlestar Galactica. That is, it's a complete soap opera taking place on a starship. It's easy to hate all of the characters (except for Dr. Rush, who was pretty damn intelligent), and that's mostly because of how dark and gritty they're acting. It fits the atmosphere of BSG perfectly. While some may not have wanted another rehash of SG-1 or SGA, it would've been better to see something at least /remotely/ similar. The only similarity this has with the other SG series is the Stargate itself. Period. I hope to god that either most of the crappy characters will be killed off, or that the series will make a turn-around for the better. Expand
  82. WillP
    Nov 7, 2009
    1
    I really was hoping this would be good because I love Stargate, SGU has a lot of potential but the truth is the writing is just bad.The characters have ZERO depth, the only character that has a little depth is Rush, but only for the obvious reasons. The bottom line is the whole thing is forced, it's like the writer's don't know how to grow a story naturally, so characters I really was hoping this would be good because I love Stargate, SGU has a lot of potential but the truth is the writing is just bad.The characters have ZERO depth, the only character that has a little depth is Rush, but only for the obvious reasons. The bottom line is the whole thing is forced, it's like the writer's don't know how to grow a story naturally, so characters end up doing things they most likely wouldn't; if you have any decent level of intellect you'll find yourself saying "Why the hell is that happening" a lot. A prime example is this, in an early episode you see a lieutenant and some other SGC member having sex, now this already seems like it's only done to make the show seem intense, but whatever. In a later episode you have the math wiz kid starting to get close to and getting feelings for some girl, the next eposide, she is having sex with the lieutenant from earlier, and from the dialog they are in a full fledged relationship, but they never interacted in anyway prior to this episode. That's just bad writing, they just moved him from being with the other girl to this new one for what looks like the sole purpose of adding some sort of conflict for the math wiz kid... that's terrible. You'll find many scenes like that in SGU which makes it very hard to watch. It's like the writes don't know how to develop their thoughts and just throw out what they wanted the end result to be. It's the same with all the forced dramatic scenes others have commented on. Build up the character first and then a scene will be dramatic because we care about them, playing dramatic music an making two people the audience views as strangers cry is not dramatic... or good. Expand
  83. jwitt
    Nov 7, 2009
    1
    the ONLY show i have ever recorded where I fast forward through 1/3 of the episode, each episode. i wonder why i record it - it only makes me wish i didn't. i am not sure i could make a more annoying and grating and useless show, if i tried. it is so bad that i honestly think the positive reviews are by paid MGM folk....
  84. DeniseL
    Oct 18, 2009
    0
    Are they kidding? I hope that they all freeze to death.
  85. Ghost
    Nov 9, 2009
    0
    This is the crappiest thing I ever seen. This is not the Stargate we all love. They just killed the franchise by transforming it into a soup opera!
  86. AndrewD
    Dec 19, 2009
    0
    Take a brilliant franchise (SG1 anyway) then give it the lowest of low budget treatments...disaster. I feel sorry for Robert C who I think is a very fine actor
  87. CalebF
    Dec 20, 2009
    0
    Its like stargate/bsg on a pbs budget. but in bsg you at least got to see the vipers in dog fights. So far in nine episodes they have been to five plants and three of them were very obviously small sets. Furthermore I am getting tired of seeing the same three rooms on the "destiny". Also I have not seen a DHD next to any of the stargates. Why is it in the old galaxies all the stargates Its like stargate/bsg on a pbs budget. but in bsg you at least got to see the vipers in dog fights. So far in nine episodes they have been to five plants and three of them were very obviously small sets. Furthermore I am getting tired of seeing the same three rooms on the "destiny". Also I have not seen a DHD next to any of the stargates. Why is it in the old galaxies all the stargates had a DHD and in this new galaxy not one of the gates has a DHD? Also in nine episodes they have learned how to open the doors, take showers, and that the ship has a chair. And they have dedicated whole episodes to each of these. Furthermore, they have these stones that lets them change places (in their minds) with anyone with the matching stone on earth, so instead of switching with really smart people like daniel jackson, samantha carter, rodney mccay, or other brilliant people that can help them, they keep switching out with military people that want to take command from the guy in charge. All in all the show is like big brother (I hate big brother) where they send people on the worst field trips ever, and instead of it being funny it is kinda depressing, and everybody on the show seems to be the worst person for the job, which very stupid because the stargate program is supposedly supposed to be super top secret and yet they seem to be having the most mentally unstable people on this mission. I could go on but most of the other posters have made the points. But all in all it is very disappointing, cheap nock off of the star gate universe. Expand
  88. keithr
    Dec 28, 2009
    1
    Every time I watched it I expected it to get better. But it is just boring and deary every time. Definaitely soap not sci-fi. In fact if it did not say they were on ship they could just as well be on an oil rig. We have had 10 episodes and know nothing obout the ship. There is no humour or anything sci-fi ish to hold my attention any longer, so I am going to drop it.
  89. richardd
    Dec 28, 2009
    0
    All the weaknesses of BSG (unlikeable charactes, petty interpersonal dramas), but none of the strengths (compelling writing, depth of charctes, philisophical issues). Poorly acted, poorly written; such a shame... Finally, as others note, the ultimate condemnation: more boring than watching paint dry.
  90. greenm
    Dec 8, 2009
    1
    SGU? Poor writing, thin plots and thinner characters. Instead of reaching out, it reaches in. Bad idea. Such a shame with so much potential. Very disappointing.
  91. amib
    Oct 31, 2009
    1
    Goodbye Stargate series, it was fun. Now it's not anymore, it sucks big timr. Who care about Eli playing with his balls?
  92. WayneP
    Nov 14, 2009
    4
    I rate this SGU a 4 because there are no intellegent advasaries we've seen in the past stargates. I will continue to watch but if i don't see any interesting changes in the story line i will have to move on to watch reruns of past stargate shows.
  93. FrqankX
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    Using BSG, the new one, as some type of measuring stick is ridiculous. That show was moral relativistic crap. SGU is the same thing every week. The ship brings them to where they need to go to get what they need, but none of the braniacs have figured it out yet. The show could be called Stargate Babies as all the young, inexperienced people without the skills to do what they're doing Using BSG, the new one, as some type of measuring stick is ridiculous. That show was moral relativistic crap. SGU is the same thing every week. The ship brings them to where they need to go to get what they need, but none of the braniacs have figured it out yet. The show could be called Stargate Babies as all the young, inexperienced people without the skills to do what they're doing (Eli is the prime one of these) try to do it. Eli breaks into kiddy philosophy at the drop of a hat - the adults should be telling him to shut up. Expand
  94. liab
    Nov 17, 2009
    0
    having been a huge stargate fan, I'm totally disappointed with SGU...it's so slow moving that I practically fall to sleep watching it.
  95. PhilipH
    Nov 19, 2009
    0
    Loved SG1 Love Stargate Atlantis but finding this difficult to get interested in.Nothings happening.And will somebody fix the lights on the ship you cant see a thing
  96. MikeM
    Nov 21, 2009
    2
    My son and I watched Stargate SG 1 and Atlantis and loved the shows and the characters. SGU seems totally different...so far, 6 or 7 shows in and we don't like any of the characters. It's all talk, no action. It's more sexual which I think makes it more an adult show than a younger audience. It seem to highlight how to have interpersonal conflict...without resolving it. If My son and I watched Stargate SG 1 and Atlantis and loved the shows and the characters. SGU seems totally different...so far, 6 or 7 shows in and we don't like any of the characters. It's all talk, no action. It's more sexual which I think makes it more an adult show than a younger audience. It seem to highlight how to have interpersonal conflict...without resolving it. If it doesn't pick up soon, we're bailing on this and that'll be sad because we were anxiously awaiting its premier earlier this year. It's more like BSG not Stargate!! Are there any new stargates in production? Expand
  97. JasonM
    Nov 21, 2009
    3
    As a very satisfied viewer of the the previous (2)Stargate series, I expected even more from SGU, not much less. I actually stopped watching Episode 9 tonight because it was it was just a mess. The SGU formula is all wrong. There's far too much character conflict, too much focus on the the communication stones , in general , tjust too much lame boring dialog between the characters. As a very satisfied viewer of the the previous (2)Stargate series, I expected even more from SGU, not much less. I actually stopped watching Episode 9 tonight because it was it was just a mess. The SGU formula is all wrong. There's far too much character conflict, too much focus on the the communication stones , in general , tjust too much lame boring dialog between the characters. The science content is near zero. Unless the remaining episodes try to return to a semblance of the successful formulaes of the previous series, SGU will be a one year failure. Too bad, it could have been another 5 yr + run, if it had some decent plots. Expand
  98. seanf
    Nov 22, 2009
    1
    I am an avid fan of SG1 & SGA. The movies were outstanding and repeated watching of all of the seasons bring me and my family hours of enjoyment. I have two young sons and they both love SG1 and SGA as well as the movies. After watching "Air, Light, Water, Earth, Time, Life"; I am very disappointed that this series is not as enjoyable to watch as the others, or as family friendly. I can I am an avid fan of SG1 & SGA. The movies were outstanding and repeated watching of all of the seasons bring me and my family hours of enjoyment. I have two young sons and they both love SG1 and SGA as well as the movies. After watching "Air, Light, Water, Earth, Time, Life"; I am very disappointed that this series is not as enjoyable to watch as the others, or as family friendly. I can tell you that my family never missed an episode of either Atlantis or SG1 and my family loved sitting down and watching both, and continue to watch them over and over on DVD. My 14 year old, doesn't like SGU, nor does my 9 year old. I haven't developed any care for it because of interpersonal turmoil taking place in SGU and the homage it seems to give to BSG, both thematically, and in cinematic style. There is enough stress in the world and real life, that Sci-Fi is a nice hour long escape into a world that we would , for many fans, love to be a part of; not in an insane, escapist, mental way, but as enjoyable entertainment, isn't that what it is about. The writers of this show are charging heavily on the credit of the other two series and hoping that our interest will payoff for them. They seem to think that we will support it because it has Stargate in the name, so far the characters are all whiney self indulgent, overly whiney, arrogant, I could go on; I think that I would enjoy a midseries finale which all SGU characters get sucked out of an airlock and are replaced by furlings. The other shows were great because of the statements made over and over in the series and extras, "we don't take ourselves too serious"; it was enjoyable sci-fi adventure, sci-fi action and plain fun. This show seems to want to garnish viewers from other series that were no where near as successful or entertaining to the loyal Stargate Fans, or the public in general. I hope this show goes somewhere fast, or their run will be short. And that is painful for a loyal fan of the franchise to say. After watching "Life" I am convinced that this garbage is not worth my family's time, we will be removing the auto recording schedule from our DVR and no longer submitting ourselves to SGU. Expand
  99. carlb
    Dec 17, 2009
    2
    I have given it enought of my time 10 episodes in and well i dont like it at all. The actors are doing the best job anyone could do but the hap-hazard story line lets the whole franchize down. I LOVED SG-1. I LOVED Stargate Atlantis. I had high hopes for SGU but it has failed all SG Fans in every way. i would normally watch an episode and be smiling with glee and wanting more and annoyed I have given it enought of my time 10 episodes in and well i dont like it at all. The actors are doing the best job anyone could do but the hap-hazard story line lets the whole franchize down. I LOVED SG-1. I LOVED Stargate Atlantis. I had high hopes for SGU but it has failed all SG Fans in every way. i would normally watch an episode and be smiling with glee and wanting more and annoyed because i would have to wait a week for the next but with Stargate Universe i am ANNOYED and disheartened because there is no real scifi stargate journey P.S. PLEASE fire the writers Expand
  100. NigelN
    Dec 29, 2009
    3
    Its like a soap opera-esque knockoff of low budget battlestar galactica with terrible writing and no chemistry between the weak characters. Robert Carlyle is phenomenal given the material and he's basicaly holding this fluff show together and Ming Na is underutilised, more of her perfomance would boost the show to less mediocre. I think the Stargate creators should stick to their Its like a soap opera-esque knockoff of low budget battlestar galactica with terrible writing and no chemistry between the weak characters. Robert Carlyle is phenomenal given the material and he's basicaly holding this fluff show together and Ming Na is underutilised, more of her perfomance would boost the show to less mediocre. I think the Stargate creators should stick to their strengths or hire the writers and some of the cast from Battlestar galactica. I was patient, i thought maybe i wasnt listening properly or that i wasnt giving it enough attention turns out it really isnt a good show. Its very forgetable and the episodes lack scope and depth, my goodness what where they thinking. If this is a joke of some kind someone should tell Brad Wright and Robert Cooper that its not funny. Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 50
    Stories aren't particularly dense or surprising, and some of the conflict feels quite contrived
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Bernardin
    67
    Hopefully the story itself, which finds a band of alien-attack victims jumping blindly through a Stargate and landing on a mysterious spaceship billions of light years from Earth, will eventually transcend this premiere's BSG-lite-ness.
  3. With 19 episodes remaining in this season, there's plenty of time for all this drama to intensify and the characters to sort themselves out as good and not-so-good.