Stargate Universe : Season 1

  • Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2009
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 488 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 22, 2014
    4
    They should have called this show Battlegate Galactica because it was obvious from day one that they wanted to copy what people loved about that show.

    This series can join Star Trek Enterprise in the group of spin offs that killed their franchises.

    The saddest thing is that the last episode was actually fairly good, everything else was tedious and boring.
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    5
    The biggest fault of this show is its insistence on focusing on the characters, who are not at all well-written, making some of the episodes littered with utterly ridiculous decisions. It is a sad thing when a sci-fi show centered around hyperspace trouble is written in such a way that it makes you not believe it not because of the settings, but because of the the everyday behaviour of theThe biggest fault of this show is its insistence on focusing on the characters, who are not at all well-written, making some of the episodes littered with utterly ridiculous decisions. It is a sad thing when a sci-fi show centered around hyperspace trouble is written in such a way that it makes you not believe it not because of the settings, but because of the the everyday behaviour of the heroes. Most of the characters are boring, useless, flawed and without sense of humour - why, indeed without any redeeming qualities at all, making you largely indifferent to the fate of the expedition as a whole. The sluggish pace of the narrative somehow quickens towards the season 2 finale, but there still wasn't enough to make me regret the cancellation of the show. I won't miss any of the characters, and none of the actors save the talented duo Ming-Na and Elyse Levesque, who sadly were rarely given more to do other than be kidnapped, useless, or just wrong. Expand
  3. jackow
    Oct 31, 2009
    4
    The initial plot building has been so slow that the first 4 episodes or so could have been condensed into about 2. I mean, an episode starts with the need to find material to scrub CO2 build-up and almost nothing happens until they find it an hour later... c'mon that could have been interesting in a 10 or 15 minute segment.
  4. RyanH
    Nov 20, 2009
    4
    After the first episode, I would have given SGU a 7.5 or 8. After a few episodes I was still hopeful with a 7. Now I'm down to a 4. Just watched the latest episode (I think it's called Life. Lt Scott finds out on this episode that he's a dad). The episode can be summarized in three words "A bad day". I really hope this isn't the direction they are taking Stargate... After the first episode, I would have given SGU a 7.5 or 8. After a few episodes I was still hopeful with a 7. Now I'm down to a 4. Just watched the latest episode (I think it's called Life. Lt Scott finds out on this episode that he's a dad). The episode can be summarized in three words "A bad day". I really hope this isn't the direction they are taking Stargate... what happened to the swashbuckling adventuring that drew all the fans in the first place? There's very little exploration going on and everything is so melodramatic, over-dramatic, controversial and political. I hated the last episode. I personally believe it was the worst stargate episode... e-v-e-r. Enough with the soap opera / fake-reality show and let's get on with the sci fi. Otherwise, put the show on a new channel and call it TLC Sci Fi and call the show "A ship and a Stargate, plus one hundred and 8". urg, I digress. Expand
  5. EikC
    Oct 18, 2009
    4
    For each episode I watch, I hope that they've now done away with the near-constant personal tragedies and crying that happens every single moment for some reason. Well, 3 episodes in and they haven't. Why do they make characters the viewers don't even care about yet go all-out emo in the first episodes?! Something tells me these characters are gonna be paper-thin and dull For each episode I watch, I hope that they've now done away with the near-constant personal tragedies and crying that happens every single moment for some reason. Well, 3 episodes in and they haven't. Why do they make characters the viewers don't even care about yet go all-out emo in the first episodes?! Something tells me these characters are gonna be paper-thin and dull when they're laying it on that thick right off the bat. They can still salvage this if they throw the emo chick and half the cast out an airlock accidentally, and stop the constant wannabe-dramatic atmosphere which they pretty much nicked off of Battlestar Galactica. Speaking of constant drama, what's with the gamer dude? He is clearly comic relief, but this is Battlegate Universica, so how do you expect him to make light of anything with the constant drama you've imposed? Expand
  6. CarlA
    Oct 23, 2009
    4
    The 4 rating is purely for the potential this show may have and that I desperately hope for. Otherwise, wake me up when something exciting or interesting happens. I'll be watching SG Atlantis for the 6th time, and loving it!!
  7. 21nine
    Oct 8, 2009
    5
    Take the Eli character out and this was good...his tomfoolery brought it down several notches and destroyed for me any real sense of suspense....this as a result verged on everyday soap rather than tense adult drama/thriller....disappointed as the premise was good, not a fan of the other stargates, just seemed too run of the mill...but BSG is/was great...give it 5 to allow it to see where Take the Eli character out and this was good...his tomfoolery brought it down several notches and destroyed for me any real sense of suspense....this as a result verged on everyday soap rather than tense adult drama/thriller....disappointed as the premise was good, not a fan of the other stargates, just seemed too run of the mill...but BSG is/was great...give it 5 to allow it to see where it goes...why do so many dramas, and films for that matter, have to have token dumb nerdy types in them. Expand
  8. JamesS
    Oct 9, 2009
    4
    So far, I would rate SGU below SG and SGA, and far below BSG. Blame it on the writing:. "Lost" meets "Voyager" and no one to root for yet. Casting doesn't look promising either, with the old cast of SG and special effects being the only bright spots in an otherwise off-key episode one. Maybe some of the characters will grow on us -- I hope so, otherwise, this show is DOA. Finally, is So far, I would rate SGU below SG and SGA, and far below BSG. Blame it on the writing:. "Lost" meets "Voyager" and no one to root for yet. Casting doesn't look promising either, with the old cast of SG and special effects being the only bright spots in an otherwise off-key episode one. Maybe some of the characters will grow on us -- I hope so, otherwise, this show is DOA. Finally, is it just me, or were the scenes in the promos for episode three deleted from the actual episode as shown? Pretty sloppy, if so. I'll continue to watch, hoping for improvement, but not expecting much. Caprica, where are you? Expand
  9. RickyP
    Jan 21, 2010
    6
    Well this is a little disappointing compared to Atlantis. For one like someone mentioned before its about who's sleeping with who. Yes that's right they tried to roll in some reality style drama in there which is a big no no for a Syfi show. Secondly the uber geek like Rodney or Daniel are missing. Instead we get a bunch of whinny people on board a star ship screaming "I Well this is a little disappointing compared to Atlantis. For one like someone mentioned before its about who's sleeping with who. Yes that's right they tried to roll in some reality style drama in there which is a big no no for a Syfi show. Secondly the uber geek like Rodney or Daniel are missing. Instead we get a bunch of whinny people on board a star ship screaming "I don't wanna die". Actions feel too scripted and Eli is just annoying with his portable web cammy thing. Expand
  10. NickG
    Nov 21, 2009
    4
    It's a poor imitation of Battlestar Galactica. In an attempt to reproduce its "edgy" "character-driven" drama, they've dimmed the lighting, jerked the camera around and a lot and given us gratuitous sex scenes and equally gratuitous bitchiness. They've given us all of this but haven't woven it into a compelling and well-told story. So I agree with the Chicago It's a poor imitation of Battlestar Galactica. In an attempt to reproduce its "edgy" "character-driven" drama, they've dimmed the lighting, jerked the camera around and a lot and given us gratuitous sex scenes and equally gratuitous bitchiness. They've given us all of this but haven't woven it into a compelling and well-told story. So I agree with the Chicago Tribune's assessment of SGU as "contrived". Expand
  11. KarlL
    Nov 7, 2009
    6
    Needs more swashbuckling adventure, exploration and comedy. Right now its just boring emotional crap about characters we haven't known long enough to care about. Completely different to, and not as good as the previous 2 shows.
  12. WayneP
    Nov 14, 2009
    4
    I rate this SGU a 4 because there are no intellegent advasaries we've seen in the past stargates. I will continue to watch but if i don't see any interesting changes in the story line i will have to move on to watch reruns of past stargate shows.
  13. AnonymousMC
    Nov 27, 2009
    6
    just not as good as it's predecessors, but still watchable on a weekly basis.
  14. Oct 18, 2010
    5
    After becoming a big fan of SG1 and SGA, I was looking forward to this series. I still watch every week simply because it's Stargate, but if it had no affiliation to a franchise and was simply called "Destiny," I probably would not be watching it by now.

    I loved the prior two series' because of the humor, action and right amount of drama... and the premise obviously. SGU lacks humor,
    After becoming a big fan of SG1 and SGA, I was looking forward to this series. I still watch every week simply because it's Stargate, but if it had no affiliation to a franchise and was simply called "Destiny," I probably would not be watching it by now.

    I loved the prior two series' because of the humor, action and right amount of drama... and the premise obviously. SGU lacks humor, lacks action, but I guess it's heavy on the drama. I guess. I come away finding it dark and boring. Dark, as in, crank up the brightness and contrast on your HDTVs. And yes, the dark and gloomy atmosphere makes it depressing. I understand their plight and everything, but this is supposed to be entertainment, isn't it? It feels more like a documentary about travelers stuck in outer space where nothing ever happens. And even in those sparse moments when something does happen, it still feels like nothing ever happens because the show it lacking a pulse.

    I give it a 5 based solely on the fact that it has Stargate in the name. I think it still has potential, but they would really have to go in a different direction. They easily could, but I don't think they will.
    Expand
  15. Nov 6, 2010
    4
    It's a rip off of Battlestar Galactica without being nearly as interesting. Thing that annoys me the most are the soundtracks. Normally I'm almost completely oblivious to such a thing but in this case some of the selections are so horrible that I'm pointing it out. And do we really need to put lesbian couples in every series now days? Come on guys, at least try to step outside the box & beIt's a rip off of Battlestar Galactica without being nearly as interesting. Thing that annoys me the most are the soundtracks. Normally I'm almost completely oblivious to such a thing but in this case some of the selections are so horrible that I'm pointing it out. And do we really need to put lesbian couples in every series now days? Come on guys, at least try to step outside the box & be original (except you sound engineers). Sounds like they get drunk and edit the tracks at an Irish pub. If this is just another attempt to rip off Battlestar Galactica; for the record, they used Scottish bagpipes. Big difference. put the beer down. Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 50
    Stories aren't particularly dense or surprising, and some of the conflict feels quite contrived
  2. Hopefully the story itself, which finds a band of alien-attack victims jumping blindly through a Stargate and landing on a mysterious spaceship billions of light years from Earth, will eventually transcend this premiere's BSG-lite-ness.
  3. With 19 episodes remaining in this season, there's plenty of time for all this drama to intensify and the characters to sort themselves out as good and not-so-good.