• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 13, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Aug 13, 2012
    60
    Whatever else you make of it--and it's enough to say that if you like this sort of thing, you will like this thing--it's all, or partly, for a good cause.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 24, 2012
    50
    The stunts are a confusing mix of bullets and blowups: Apocalypse Now on the scale of Wipeout. [3 Sep 2012, p.40]
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Aug 14, 2012
    30
    When grenade launchers, automatic weapons and war games substitute for salsa and swing dancing, the results are less wholesome entertainment and more armed-forces propaganda.
  4. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Aug 13, 2012
    50
    Though in this inaugural episode the easygoing personalities of the celebrities and the respect everyone shows each other is nice, no one seems able to admit to anger or frustration or any of the other real emotions that bond an audience to the competitors.
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Aug 13, 2012
    50
    [Stars Earn Stripes] drenches a promising premise in a distracting amount of troop-thanking.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Aug 14, 2012
    40
    Overall, the first installment was yet another overbloated, two-hour NBC reality marathon, The Biggest Loser with live ammo and C-list celebrities.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Aug 13, 2012
    58
    [The show] results in a picturesque endeavor that otherwise suffers from a lot of padded redundancy.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 13, 2012
    50
    While hardly a breakthrough on any level--indeed, about as unoriginal as the genre gets--if the goal is simply to keep the torch flickering between the Games and the fall season, mission probably accomplished.
  9. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Aug 13, 2012
    70
    Once they stop jawin', the competitors in Stars Earn Stripes put on quite a show, and that's the only point of reality television.
User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    5
    It's somewhat entertaining - and I admire the fact that all of the winnings are going to veteran charities - but the show is a little clunky. It reminds me of another show (Combat Wars?) that had special forces operators competing against one another - and that was an excellent show. Todd Palin is the stud on this show, though, as the operators stated, calling him Rambo. Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    As a rule I do not watch TV (Too many commercials), but do watch a few programs on my PC. After just about wearing out my DVD of "ACT OF VALOR" I really didn't expect much from this program, but I was quite surprised. The show is extremely well designed and executed (no pun). Just seeing Chris Kyle, a military icon, in action was worth it and Todd Palin was amazing to say the least. If iTunes will sell the season, I'll be sure to purchase it. Respectfully - Kent Williams (US Border Patrol - retired) Full Review »