• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: May 23, 2006
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 22, 2013
    4
    When Stephen King's work started being turned into movies, they were always great, but the newer stuff, has really been hit or miss. For the first hour, Desperation was great and Ron Pearlman was hilarious as the twisted sheriff, abducting people on the highway. Unfortunately, about half way through this film, the movie changes focus to young David, played by the kid from the Stacy's MomWhen Stephen King's work started being turned into movies, they were always great, but the newer stuff, has really been hit or miss. For the first hour, Desperation was great and Ron Pearlman was hilarious as the twisted sheriff, abducting people on the highway. Unfortunately, about half way through this film, the movie changes focus to young David, played by the kid from the Stacy's Mom video, Shane Haboucha. David is some kind of prophet who is more aware of things than the other. That was cool, but his constant ramblings about God, and spouting of all this religious bull got really annoying. By the time things built up to the end, I was so annoyed with this little kid and his ramblings that I just didn't care about what was going to happen. I just wanted the film to be over. Desperation is just another case of a writer and an actor taking things too far, to a point where it taints the whole movie. Collapse
  2. Cillian
    Aug 18, 2009
    7
    I applaud the movie for remaining so faithful to the novel, which is surprisingly rare for King adaptations (Shinning, I'm looking at you). A good bit was left out (the middle of the book was cut down to maybe 10 minutes, but I imagine that this was to deal with time constraints. A lot was changed for the movie, namely Johnny's background, and his story about Vietnam was totally I applaud the movie for remaining so faithful to the novel, which is surprisingly rare for King adaptations (Shinning, I'm looking at you). A good bit was left out (the middle of the book was cut down to maybe 10 minutes, but I imagine that this was to deal with time constraints. A lot was changed for the movie, namely Johnny's background, and his story about Vietnam was totally made up for the movie, but that was just to make it work on screen. Acting was so so, with Ron pearlman stealing it (musc to everyones shock *sarcasm*) As far as adaptations can go, it was good, just too short. Expand
  3. XanderC
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    Well.... Cristopher M you christian kooke I would rather worship a statue of 2 dogs having sex with a seahorse than your fly-by night unrealistic lame duck god. The bible makes about as much sense as Tom Cruise, the ambiguously gay couch hoping Scientolagist freakshow. The bible lies more than your parents did everytime they told you they loved you.... You convaluted gullable delusional Well.... Cristopher M you christian kooke I would rather worship a statue of 2 dogs having sex with a seahorse than your fly-by night unrealistic lame duck god. The bible makes about as much sense as Tom Cruise, the ambiguously gay couch hoping Scientolagist freakshow. The bible lies more than your parents did everytime they told you they loved you.... You convaluted gullable delusional Jesus humper. I guess I'd see you in hell if there was one stickybuns. Expand
  4. garyg
    Sep 17, 2006
    4
    pathetic drivel lets see now good start , mediocre middle , awful ending long winded bible bashing with a few huffs and puffs that wouldnt blow a hanky down a plot that is so weak i mean Tak? TAK TAK! Whats is all about? All powerful and yet gets blown up in 5 minutes without a decent fight or revelation? Very disappointed! so (not scary) its scary Very few of his books translate well And pathetic drivel lets see now good start , mediocre middle , awful ending long winded bible bashing with a few huffs and puffs that wouldnt blow a hanky down a plot that is so weak i mean Tak? TAK TAK! Whats is all about? All powerful and yet gets blown up in 5 minutes without a decent fight or revelation? Very disappointed! so (not scary) its scary Very few of his books translate well And this is sadly another! Expand
  5. AngelV
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    it was great and good entertainment enjoyed it!
  6. SharonnB
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    the movie was good but i thought the book was better tho, still, can't expec it to be perfect !
  7. MOVIECRITIC
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    loved it
  8. DeseraeM
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    the movie was prolly low budget but it was pretty good so give them credit
  9. EricS
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    scary, i too pissed my pants
  10. anonymous2
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    great
  11. CristopherM
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    don't blame king for the movie, and it wasn't confusing. everyone acted like the kid was a freak cause in real life, christians are rejected and prosecuted in many ways, i say so myself cause i'm a christian i can sympathize you have to understand, the acting wasn't bad tether.
  12. AndyN
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    great movie! acting was not bad either.
  13. chanceZ
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    good enough.
  14. JohnW
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    AWESOME, love it though i thought it was too short
  15. andrewS
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    10/10 cause it was better than i expected especially after watching all the other stephen king based movies (carrie, dreamcatcher, secret window, IT, etc.). Give the movies a break, they can't all be as good as say green mile or shawshank. it was good enough for me.
  16. TexR
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    entertaining, most of it was like the book and that is all that matters to me when it comes to filming a movie based on stephen kings' books. Desperation was an awesome novel. At least this wasn't like a dreamcatcher film that threw the main point and plot of the story way off balance (duddits turned into a freakin alien in the movie), and i expected this film to be way worse entertaining, most of it was like the book and that is all that matters to me when it comes to filming a movie based on stephen kings' books. Desperation was an awesome novel. At least this wasn't like a dreamcatcher film that threw the main point and plot of the story way off balance (duddits turned into a freakin alien in the movie), and i expected this film to be way worse than it was; it surprised me even though it missed Johnny being dead, david carver having that dream and he loses faith, and all that. but over all it was pretty well done according to the book, they probably did the best they could with whatever budget they got for teh movie. 10/10 for the movie cause the book is too good; let its awesomeness reign for both of them. Expand
  17. EnricoB
    Jun 12, 2006
    10
    I've Read the Novel..And Couldn't wait for the Movie ..Steven King is a GOD of Horror and Suspense...This is a Battle of Good and Evil..King is a Genious..I Love It..Keep it Comin'..Rico B Queens N.Y...
  18. TOMMIEH
    Jun 11, 2006
    0
    Horrible, I'm glad i'm not the only one that didn't like it. I didn't like the religious aspect of the movie. Everyone acted like the little boy was a freak because he belived in GOD what was up with that plus the dialog was shallow and the story was confusinng. I hated the movie I thought the plot the actors everything was terrible
  19. RuthB
    May 29, 2006
    4
    expected much more from King. The thing they were fighting ( earth Demon) was confusing.... where it lived how it controled the animals, or for that matter PEOPLE, but i guess you could not destroy it until you went to the source, which lived in the Mine. and these rocks??? that carried evil influences?? The movie "IT" was simalar in the way the evil took over, and that was located expected much more from King. The thing they were fighting ( earth Demon) was confusing.... where it lived how it controled the animals, or for that matter PEOPLE, but i guess you could not destroy it until you went to the source, which lived in the Mine. and these rocks??? that carried evil influences?? The movie "IT" was simalar in the way the evil took over, and that was located underground also. The story was laid out and told MUCH better with the movie "IT". I did not care much for the people, except for the child. Just over all, done vaguely, poorly. Expand
  20. DaveN
    May 26, 2006
    2
    This movie really sucked. Bad acting, cheesy production, and a heavy-handed dose of religiosity. One of the weaker attempts to adapt King's work to the silver (or phosphor) screen. There have been worse (e.g. Children of the Corn and its sequels) but also many far better.
  21. [Anonymous]
    May 25, 2006
    1
    As with most Stephen King shows, the first half hour was ok, but it pretty much falls apart after that and remained uninteresting and confusing to the very end.
  22. EricH
    May 24, 2006
    10
    I think I pissed myself twice.
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    75
    Serviceably scarifying. [26 May 2006, p.100]
  2. The real surprise is that, for all the times King has taken us down this creepy path, he can still evoke chills and thrills over and over again.
  3. 30
    Sadly truncated.