Stephen King's It : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 18, 1990
Stephen King's It Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Stephen King's classic novel made for a terrifying mini-series about seven childhood friends whose lives are threatened by a demonic creature known as IT and how they try to put a stop to the killings he commits in routine. Twenty-seven years later, they must face him once again as theyStephen King's classic novel made for a terrifying mini-series about seven childhood friends whose lives are threatened by a demonic creature known as IT and how they try to put a stop to the killings he commits in routine. Twenty-seven years later, they must face him once again as they discovered that IT was not killed after all. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Movie/Mini-Series
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 20, 2016
    10
    One of the most remarkable book adaptions I've ever seen. While it's not likely that everything from the book made it into to the movie, thisOne of the most remarkable book adaptions I've ever seen. While it's not likely that everything from the book made it into to the movie, this mini-series feels like a complete tale all on it's own. I never felt like I was missing something. As a result what I watched stood out as one of the most fascinating works of horror I have ever watched.

    Part of what makes Stephen King's It so great is that it's so much more than a horror story. It's a tale about friends coming together to (literally) face the demons of their past. Themes like overcoming fear, the influence childhood experiences have on who you become, and many more make this such a compelling story. The characters are well-realized and layered. It's just as emotional as it is scary.

    The horror element of this mini-series is also on point. There's just so much freaky crap happening. The sense of imagination here is incredible. Tim Curry's work as Pennywise is iconic for a reason. He makes genuinely unsettling and real. The way "It" is able to bend reality to it's will and manipulate the characters is genuinely terrifying in a way few other works of horror have ever been able to achieve. They simply don't make them like this anymore.

    Stephen King's twisted vision might not entirely capture the essence and events of the book (I really can't say for sure as I have not read it), but what's here is a complete, masterfully created, and twisted horror vision that needs to be experienced. It's an outright masterpiece that's earned it's name as a classic piece of horror. It gives us one of the most terrifying villains in horror history that's backed up by an incredible performance by Tim Curry. All of which is supported by all around excellence in every other department as well. It is nothing less than a must watch.
    Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    The best Stephen King without a doubt. At first I was scared to watch it, but as I got older the dialouge made more sense and the storylineThe best Stephen King without a doubt. At first I was scared to watch it, but as I got older the dialouge made more sense and the storyline was very well thought through. Deffinitely a movie to watch with a group of friends instead of alone. Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    Probably the scariest movie of my childhood. Tim Curry's performance as Pennywise is just phenomenal. Just a real shame that it ended the wayProbably the scariest movie of my childhood. Tim Curry's performance as Pennywise is just phenomenal. Just a real shame that it ended the way that it did. The ending did feel a bit out of context and really didn't fit very well with the rest of the film. To be honest I really only liked the first 75% of this movie. The end does get a bit boring. Really great seeing Seth Green in one of his earlier roles. Overall: a great horror of its time, and will always be a classic in my eye. Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2014
    7
    "Stephen Kings It is Creepy and one of the best novel/movie of kings career". I watch this movie with my brother sam and it was creepy ,"Stephen Kings It is Creepy and one of the best novel/movie of kings career". I watch this movie with my brother sam and it was creepy , awesome , weird and creative . Grade A Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2014
    7
    "It" is one of the better adaptations of one of Stephen King's works. It originally aired as a two-part miniseries. I felt the first part,"It" is one of the better adaptations of one of Stephen King's works. It originally aired as a two-part miniseries. I felt the first part, which took place in 1960, was genuinely scary. The second part, which took place in 1990, was weaker, but it still had its moments. The acting from everyone is great, including the child actors, and Tim Curry as the titular character gives an especially disturbing performance. I feel it's a classic of the horror genre, and if you are a fan of Stephen King's works, I definitely recommend this. Expand
  6. May 25, 2013
    5
    Originally aired as a two-part television movie in the early 90's 'I't has since been re-edited into a three hour movie. Based on the novel byOriginally aired as a two-part television movie in the early 90's 'I't has since been re-edited into a three hour movie. Based on the novel by Stephen King 'It' opens in Maine where a young girl is murdered by a malevolent force that takes the form of a clown known as Pennywise. Whilst at the scene, Mike, a resident of the town notices a picture, a picture of his friends brother, killed 30 years ago. Having originally put a stop the clown's murderous spree as children he soon realises that he must reunite with his friends, a group who called themselves "the losers club", in order to defeat Pennywise once and for all.

    Let me say now that I am a huge fan of Stephen King's novels but will always try to judge any movie taken from his work on its own merits. Condensing a book well in excess of 1000 pages into 180 minutes was never going to be an easy task and cuts have obviously been made. The real problem however is that with some less than stellar dialogue, a few uneven performances and any scenes of violence taking place off screen the movies low budget TV origins are painfully obvious throughout. As a result, despite a memorable performance from Tim Curry as Pennywise, It lacks the creepy atmosphere created by King’s book and while Pennywise may inspire nightmares for younger viewers very little in the movie is actually scary.

    It’s not all bad of course. Underneath it all there is a good tale and it certainly makes for a watchable three hours but if you want the full story I suggest you read the book instead (or listen to the unabridged audiobook that is now available).
    Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2014
    5
    I remember reading the original novel, and it was really, really good. It was well over a thousand pages, one of the few epics of the horrorI remember reading the original novel, and it was really, really good. It was well over a thousand pages, one of the few epics of the horror genre. However, when I saw the television show, I was... less than pleased. The show ran for 189 minutes, just over three hours, and so it's to be expected that they couldn't condense the entire book into those three hours. I can also understand that they were unable to make a television series out of the novel.

    However, the performances could be better. The story feels jumbled and disjointed, and it feels like they just took the main plot elements and threw them in. The acting and effects are cheesy and, since it's a television movie, they were unable to throw in the more violent aspects of what was an extremely violent novel. However, this film does have one saving grace, and that's Tim Curry as Pennywise the Dancing Clown. He pulls of something that very few horror movie actors have in recent times, or ever have. Pennywise is actually freaking terrifying.

    However, this film has a jumbled and abrupt plot, silly and cheesy dialogue and effects and extremely average acting (mostly), so it's not as brilliant as I would have hoped.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews