• Network: A&E
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 1, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 5, 6, 7
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 9, 2010
    60
    The storage hunters aren't warm and fuzzy. They're hard guys, always looking for the edge and the way to get that nickel first. On the other hand, they seem to like their work. In the end, what part of the American Dream is bigger than that?
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    Those who still dream of making a killing on "Antiques Roadshow" might conceivably get a kick out of watching a bunch of guys try to outmaneuver one another for the right to take home whatever's behind Door No. 3, but if there's an acquisitive bone in your body, you should probably steer clear, lest you find yourself the subject of yet another cautionary tale on A&E's "Hoarders."
  3. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Dec 23, 2010
    60
    Storage Wars--trivial and magnetic, sociologically peculiar and elementally creepy-gives the reality-show treatment to a class of merchants slinking beneath the radar of many a solvent citizen.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    Storage Wars is an especially entertaining addition to the genre. Who doesn't love the sound of an auctioneer's voice? Beyond that, the four buyers on whom the show focuses are well chosen, and the "reveals"--the moments when the buyers see what they've acquired and get estimates of its value--are great fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    Granted, one can argue that such programs, including History's "Pawn Stars" and Syfy's auction series "Hollywood Treasure," tap into a recessionary desire to mine moolah from unexpected sources. Such deeper meaning, however, proves elusive in the sheer banality of the process.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    Both shows [Storage Wars and Discovery's "Gold Rush: Alaska"] also have their moments of absorbing drama and distasteful levels of bullheadedness, set against an American backdrop that once again seems mere steps away from the full-on, Cormac McCarthy-style apocalypse.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    7
    The concept seems very silly, but once you start watching, it's actually a very good show. I don't know why, but I just love it. The peopleThe concept seems very silly, but once you start watching, it's actually a very good show. I don't know why, but I just love it. The people featured are easy to get attached to and it almost makes you want to pursue a career as a thrift store owner. Full Review »
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    5
    A decent show. It doesn't need the drama with Dave and Barry. The show just needs to be them buying the items. That's all, there's too muchA decent show. It doesn't need the drama with Dave and Barry. The show just needs to be them buying the items. That's all, there's too much drama and not enough buying. Full Review »
  3. Feb 17, 2011
    2
    I have watched a number of episodes primarily because of it's late show time and I need something to help me fall asleep. It's possible someI have watched a number of episodes primarily because of it's late show time and I need something to help me fall asleep. It's possible some of the storage unit content is set up, however, that is the most interesting aspect of the show. The characters are irrelevant and an obstruction when time is spent with them. I'm sorry, I can't watch this anymore. Full Review »