Storage Wars : Season 1

  • Network: A&E
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 1, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 9, 2010
    60
    The storage hunters aren't warm and fuzzy. They're hard guys, always looking for the edge and the way to get that nickel first. On the other hand, they seem to like their work. In the end, what part of the American Dream is bigger than that?
  2. Philadelphia Daily News
    Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    Those who still dream of making a killing on "Antiques Roadshow" might conceivably get a kick out of watching a bunch of guys try to outmaneuver one another for the right to take home whatever's behind Door No. 3, but if there's an acquisitive bone in your body, you should probably steer clear, lest you find yourself the subject of yet another cautionary tale on A&E's "Hoarders."
  3. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Dec 23, 2010
    60
    Storage Wars--trivial and magnetic, sociologically peculiar and elementally creepy-gives the reality-show treatment to a class of merchants slinking beneath the radar of many a solvent citizen.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Dec 9, 2010
    80
    Storage Wars is an especially entertaining addition to the genre. Who doesn't love the sound of an auctioneer's voice? Beyond that, the four buyers on whom the show focuses are well chosen, and the "reveals"--the moments when the buyers see what they've acquired and get estimates of its value--are great fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    Granted, one can argue that such programs, including History's "Pawn Stars" and Syfy's auction series "Hollywood Treasure," tap into a recessionary desire to mine moolah from unexpected sources. Such deeper meaning, however, proves elusive in the sheer banality of the process.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    Both shows [Storage Wars and Discovery's "Gold Rush: Alaska"] also have their moments of absorbing drama and distasteful levels of bullheadedness, set against an American backdrop that once again seems mere steps away from the full-on, Cormac McCarthy-style apocalypse.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Two years ago, A&E's Storage Wars came out of nowhere and quickly became one of the highest rated shows on cable. The show is extremelyTwo years ago, A&E's Storage Wars came out of nowhere and quickly became one of the highest rated shows on cable. The show is extremely addictive and I watch it religiously, but why? Most people think it has something to with the mystery about what's behind the door or the hunt for buried treasure, as usual; I have a different take on things. The reason this show is as popular as is it, is the buyers themselves. Reality TV is about watching real people in real situations. We like to see people who are just like us, struggling to survive, fighting with at work, etc. The cast of Storage Wars are people that we can relate to and more than that, they are interesting as hell. Every week I can't wait to see what Barry does, who Dave's gonna piss off, and what inappropriate thing Jarrod is going to say to his wife. I believe the show’s popularity has little to do with what's behind the door. It's the unique and interesting cast that keeps us coming back for more. The truth is that doesn't matter if it's storage auction buyers, repo men, meter maids, or hand fisherman, what we want is people we like and can easily relate to in different situation both inside and out of the office, and Storage Wars provides that and then some. Full Review »
  2. Aug 3, 2012
    7
    The concept seems very silly, but once you start watching, it's actually a very good show. I don't know why, but I just love it. The peopleThe concept seems very silly, but once you start watching, it's actually a very good show. I don't know why, but I just love it. The people featured are easy to get attached to and it almost makes you want to pursue a career as a thrift store owner. Full Review »
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    5
    A decent show. It doesn't need the drama with Dave and Barry. The show just needs to be them buying the items. That's all, there's too muchA decent show. It doesn't need the drama with Dave and Barry. The show just needs to be them buying the items. That's all, there's too much drama and not enough buying. Full Review »