Suburgatory : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 28, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 118
  2. Negative: 7 out of 118

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 29, 2011
    5
    The show is very well-executed (cleverly cast, written, and directed), but I question whether it's worth executing in the first place. For the past 60 years, films, books, plays, songs, and TV shows have satirized the conformity and superficiality of suburbia, so most of us get the point already, thanks, and need a pretty compelling reason to revisit such well-trodden (albeit beautifullyThe show is very well-executed (cleverly cast, written, and directed), but I question whether it's worth executing in the first place. For the past 60 years, films, books, plays, songs, and TV shows have satirized the conformity and superficiality of suburbia, so most of us get the point already, thanks, and need a pretty compelling reason to revisit such well-trodden (albeit beautifully landscaped) ground. I had hoped the participation of Jeremy Sisto might signal a genuinely fresh and edgy take on the subject, but, no, here we are again in the rhinoplastic land we know so well, where no one walks, all housewives are horny, the mall is the promised land, and it's too damn quiet in the morning. Our requisite city-slicker witnesses alternate anthropological dispassion with horrified revulsion, and the only new element is not a good one: a final, sentimental acknowledgment that, sometimes, beneath suburbia's plastic breasts, beats a real heart. No, I'm not making that up, and, yeah, I cringed, too. On the plus side, there are some pitch-perfect caricatures, such as a salon-groomed mom singing bad*ss gangsta lyrics in the family sedan, and the show has an exuberant visual style, with bright colors and clever choreography. The leads are charming, and, though I'm not that interested in charm by itself, I suspect it may win the show enough fans to keep it afloat--at least until they realize that they have been in "Suburgatory" before and might actually prefer hell. Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    6
    The best thing about the show is that main character is very good and her Dad, friend Lisa and Alan Tudyk's character are good too. Dallas the neighbor sometimes varies between a completely shallow, detestable **** and someone slightly more normal and likable from episode to episode but she fits her purpose well. The episodes are a bit hit and miss when it comes to being funny but it doesThe best thing about the show is that main character is very good and her Dad, friend Lisa and Alan Tudyk's character are good too. Dallas the neighbor sometimes varies between a completely shallow, detestable **** and someone slightly more normal and likable from episode to episode but she fits her purpose well. The episodes are a bit hit and miss when it comes to being funny but it does have a bit of that factor some comedies like HIMYM have where even if an episode is less funny its still good because of the characters. I think its really one of those shows where you have to be able to relate to it (have lived in the suburbs) to fully enjoy it. Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2012
    5
    I wasn't a fan of the premise of this show - it didn't make sense that a single father would move his daughter out of the city because he found an unopened packet of condoms and into the suburbs where everything seems overly sexualised. I cannot stand Tessa, she's just as shallow as Dalia but at least Dalia's honest about it - Tessa just walks around believing she's better than everyoneI wasn't a fan of the premise of this show - it didn't make sense that a single father would move his daughter out of the city because he found an unopened packet of condoms and into the suburbs where everything seems overly sexualised. I cannot stand Tessa, she's just as shallow as Dalia but at least Dalia's honest about it - Tessa just walks around believing she's better than everyone else in Chatswin. I stop watching Suburgatory, it will be because of Jane Levy and Tessa Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Wow, much too high ratings here! Some episodes are really felicitious, but about 75% of them are a real failure. I like the way the creators are overstating, but you can't make a serious story out of all exaggerated characters. Some actors are better, some disappointed me a lot. The main thing for my low rating is, that this TV series calls itself a comedy series - but I laughed 2 timesWow, much too high ratings here! Some episodes are really felicitious, but about 75% of them are a real failure. I like the way the creators are overstating, but you can't make a serious story out of all exaggerated characters. Some actors are better, some disappointed me a lot. The main thing for my low rating is, that this TV series calls itself a comedy series - but I laughed 2 times perhaps, in all the 22 episodes. It gets boring and the main stories of the single episodes get dumber and dumber. I don't recommend you this series. The best thing here is definitely Ana Gasteyer - I don't like her character, but she's got a lot of scenes that make you smirk. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2012
    6
    The season starts off great! Pretty funny and fresh, but then late into the season, it seems to lose its spark and is almost a struggle to get through an episode.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Oct 6, 2011
    80
    What Surburgatory lacks in novelty, it compensates for with a steady stream of gags, splashes of nuance (and nuance's vivid opposite), the comedic flow of Ana Gasteyer and Chris Parnell as the Altmans' neighbors, and an undercurrent of sweetness.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 28, 2011
    75
    Sisto is surprisingly sweet as a befuddled dad. Everyone seems to want the next Emma Stone. Levy isn't there yet, but given time she might grow into a solid comic actress.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Sep 28, 2011
    80
    The dialogue has a nice snap, the jokes come from just to the left of where you expect them to, and the players are all first-rate.