• Network: USA
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 22, 2011
    50
    It's too bland to elicit very strong feelings either for or against. It's a legal drama with the same kind of buddy dynamic as "Psych" and "White Collar," and by the end of the hour--or, just for tonight, the hour and 20 minutes--I felt like shrugging my shoulders.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 22, 2011
    50
    The pilot episode definitely would have benefited from a less-is-more approach, while the series as a whole could use a little more meat and/or logic.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 22, 2011
    60
    If you can get past the setup of Suits, the ride could be fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 23, 2011
    60
    On a scale of TV series that shoot for the high end of mediocre, USA's Suits fares far better than the recently introduced TNT legal drama "Franklin & Bash." The guys in Suits are more likable, and the legal stories a little more grounded in reality.
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 23, 2011
    50
    This is what USA does best, and Suits has a good shot of staying on the team. The only real danger is whether viewers will reach the saturation point for this kind of show. That's possible, even if the premise for Suits isn't.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jun 23, 2011
    50
    It hasn't yet proven that it can find consistently satisfying things to do with the legal drama (Harvey's "closing" scenes are fun though I can see them becoming a bit of a crutch).
  7. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Jun 22, 2011
    50
    Though the series begins amusingly enough, it quickly descends into cloying buddy escapade, in which the full-of-heart slacker seeks to teach his careerist boss how to care, and the careerist boss teaches his moldable young thing about cunning and diligence and clothes that cost a mortgage payment.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 23, 2011
    40
    The supporting cast (including Torres and Rick Hoffman as a rather suspicious attorney who can't stand Harvey) almost redeems the show, but they amount to accessories, while the two primary pieces aren't especially colorful.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 411 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 94
  2. Negative: 6 out of 94
  1. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    I really think it's witty and smart. I wish more shows were like this. The thursday night is also the perfect time slot for a show like this.I really think it's witty and smart. I wish more shows were like this. The thursday night is also the perfect time slot for a show like this. And the music is actually pretty good. WATCH IT PEOPLE! Full Review »
  2. Jul 9, 2011
    9
    Come on critics-this is funny and clever. The stars are over the top competitive but there promises to be balance. The writing is slick andCome on critics-this is funny and clever. The stars are over the top competitive but there promises to be balance. The writing is slick and it's good to see a lawyer show that doesn't live in the court room, but rather the boardroom. Full Review »
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    This show is a comedy. All the critics I've read seem to want it to be a drama, with totally believable plots (come to think of it - what TVThis show is a comedy. All the critics I've read seem to want it to be a drama, with totally believable plots (come to think of it - what TV dramas live up to that?) and serious substance. Get over that, and you'll enjoy SUITS. The writing is clever, the characters are sharp and play off each other well. We'll see if the chemistry will carry the show beyond its first season, but at this point I'm optimistic. Full Review »