• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Suits Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 347 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A corporate lawyer hires a genius college dropout as his newest associate.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jun 21, 2011
    83
    These stylish suits aren't empty, by any means. But we'll have to see if USA is truly willing to let its heroes' souls get emotionally naked.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 16, 2011
    75
    The fun comes in watching the uncynical Adams learn to undercut everyone else's cunning. [27 Jun 2011, p.46]
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 23, 2011
    75
    No one expects "The Good Wife," but if the show is aiming for balance, it needs to step up its court game.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 23, 2011
    60
    On a scale of TV series that shoot for the high end of mediocre, USA's Suits fares far better than the recently introduced TNT legal drama "Franklin & Bash." The guys in Suits are more likable, and the legal stories a little more grounded in reality.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jun 23, 2011
    50
    It hasn't yet proven that it can find consistently satisfying things to do with the legal drama (Harvey's "closing" scenes are fun though I can see them becoming a bit of a crutch).
  6. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Jun 22, 2011
    50
    Though the series begins amusingly enough, it quickly descends into cloying buddy escapade, in which the full-of-heart slacker seeks to teach his careerist boss how to care, and the careerist boss teaches his moldable young thing about cunning and diligence and clothes that cost a mortgage payment.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 22, 2011
    25
    You might be willing to overlook the show's structural flaws if the cases themselves were wildly compelling, but unfortunately, they are of a piece with their misguided series.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 83
  2. Negative: 4 out of 83
  1. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    I really think it's witty and smart. I wish more shows were like this. The thursday night is also the perfect time slot for a show like this. And the music is actually pretty good. WATCH IT PEOPLE! Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    Fantastic show. A bit unrealistic at first but as it continues on you become hooked. Lots of twists and turns through out the episodes. You never know what will come next but Harvey always seems to get his way so its kind of predictable in some ways. Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    With regard to the present status of television shows, there has been lots of good shows but there has been more of bad shows. The elite members of critics usually have a very narrow sets of ideas and those ideas are fulfilled by even less number of shows. So, what we have is some overly exaggerated shows which keeps on repeating the same ideas over and over. In contrary to this, there are some shows which everybody seems to like but when the time come for the real support, people back out. Among such shows is SUITS. Now i want to highlight why critics seem to have given it an overlook rather than giving it a real chance. Firstly, it started on a network which has almost never delivered a show for the critics to worth check out. Then comes the cast, though they are amazing as it is; very few are actually immersed in eyes and hearts of people (before the show). and lastly the idea that there can almost never be any new script for a legal show because most ideas have already implemented in some overly exaggerated shows like The practice, boston legal etc. If i would have define suits in a sentence, then it would be " Suits: It is a simile to the suit which help an ordinary man turn to be extraordinary, just like it helped USA network turn to be an extraordinary network" Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    I really like these 'legal' things. My last favorite of this kind is Boston Legal which was so fascinating until season 4. Comparing to BL, SUITS presents more excitement in the interplay between so many sharp characters, as well as the reasonable development of the whole story. Even without amazing closures at the end of each EP, it is more realistic and smart and attracts me a lot. Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    Witty comedy that actually makes you laugh mixed with heart from characters generally not seen in a law series. Suits is a show unlike the rest of its kind, it is one of the few shows where you can sit down and love every minute of the episode without ever getting bored. This show comes highly recommended. Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2011
    8
    I was looking for a show to fill a void on my late night Thursdays and Suits is definitely it! The witty one liners between Gabrielle Macht and Patrick Adams leaves me completely satisfied. The plot is somewhat repetitive (problem-> solution that fails -> someone triggers an epiphany to a new solution-> firm wins) but it is entertaining. Characters are well developed even through 3 episodes. Very satisfying. Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2011
    3
    Once again USA created another dromedy with zero likability. It saddens me to think that a team which could create some of the extremely interesting scenarios that USA posts falls flat on its face when character warmth comes in play. The creation of seeming unflawed, perfect male characters leads me to believe that USA really only cares about what they're apparent target audience of middle school girls thinks. Why would I relate to a character who can score 180 on every LSAT ever or a guy who routinely has super models asking him to eat off of their stomach. Maybe once USA creates a show where one can relate to anyone in the cast they will be able to captivate all audiences, but until this happens they are doomed to continue creating these cookie cutter failures. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews