• Network: TBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jul 18, 2012
    91
    Bracing and tasty.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 18, 2012
    70
    Within a few episodes and with slightly lowered expectations, it gets a good buzz going.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 19, 2012
    60
    Plenty of material here, spoken by people we like. It's what a good cable sitcom can be.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 18, 2012
    60
    Sullivan & Son is no instant TV classic, but its reinterpretation of a place where everyone knows your name is outrageous enough to bear watching.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 19, 2012
    58
    Anyone really thirsty for laughs will probably come up dry.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jul 18, 2012
    50
    Sullivan & Son doesn't break any new ground, and you'll probably have a sense of deja vu all over again as it evokes "Cheers" and, more subtly, "Everybody Loves Raymond."
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jul 19, 2012
    40
    Sullivan & Son certainly feels like something you've seen before. Only done much better.
  8. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Dragon lady, cougar and feisty redhead; dutiful son, jealous daughter and henpecked husband are all present and accounted for, with pat and predictable jokes leeching whatever hope might be had from a racially diverse cast and a promising enough setup.
  9. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Byrne is trapped in a mediocre effort he created with Rob Long of "Cheers" that's best forgotten.
  10. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Sullivan & Son is a contrived sitcom with nothing original or new to offer.
  11. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Sullivan & Son has fewer explosive laughs per episode than Mr. Jeong [Chang in "Community,"] provides per minute.
  12. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Granted, some of these throwback-style shows can work sparingly, but the comedy here feels so tepid and predictable as to virtually cap the upside.
  13. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jul 19, 2012
    30
    Whether it's the unfunny, raunchy jokes, the acting, the writing, or the awful blocking, nothing in Sullivan & Son seems to jell. And no laugh track can change that.
  14. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 18, 2012
    30
    Two episodes of Sullivan & Son were like watching caricatures of characters you'd seen before (and were equally unfunny then).
  15. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jul 18, 2012
    16
    Sullivan & Son is utterly artless in its efforts to be an equal opportunity offender.
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 16 out of 24
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    1
    Be warned. This show contains a terrible laugh track. Okay, all laugh tracks are terrible and I can't watch any show with one. But without it there would be no laughs at all during this show. Who approves this crap? Full Review »
  2. Jul 26, 2012
    0
    I've watched a few episodes of this show, and was so shocked at how bad it was, I signed up for Metacritic.

    This show is so forced and
    awkward I have trouble finding any redeeming qualities about it.

    I was so distracted by the blatant profanity ("BullSh*t" regarding figure skating) and double middle fingers, that I rewound both scenes repeatedly to be sure I'd heard / seen what I thought. I am by no means a prude / easily offended, or even that old. (I'm 32 years old, love Family Guy, and pretty middle of the road on most issues, no kids, work in a high tech industry)

    Despite this, I have to say, I'm amazed that TBS would air a show that is so desperate to appear relevant, that they have to resort to forced profanity and completely unnecessary middle fingers. When did it become legal to show that on basic cable? Perhaps it's not illegal, but the point is, when TBS has so many great shows (Big Bang Theory, Family Guy, etc) that don't stoop to such a trivial methods, does it make sense to air something that does?

    They need to get this crap off of the air, and not be in such a rush to add profanity (verbal or otherwise) to a show that is well within the time slice that kids can easily see it. We've got enough issues these days, without teaching our kids that its OK to be that crass.

    Horrible show, there is MUCH better on TV.
    Full Review »
  3. JBM
    Aug 3, 2012
    2
    I wanted this show to work. I thought the bar setting had potential. But I bailed on it. The first episode where they should at least try to be funny was all about how wonderful thjs legacy bar was. The old dad just offered a grin to everything instead of being a diverse and crusty barkeep. But the heart of the problem is the comic center of the show, Byrne, well he can't act. His last dialog with his girlfriend who was leaving him was so awkward and poorly performed that I could not imaging watching this guy every week. This could have been a lot better. But it wasnt. Full Review »