Sullivan & Son : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Sullivan & Son Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jul 18, 2012
    91
    Bracing and tasty.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 18, 2012
    70
    Within a few episodes and with slightly lowered expectations, it gets a good buzz going.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 19, 2012
    60
    Plenty of material here, spoken by people we like. It's what a good cable sitcom can be.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Byrne is trapped in a mediocre effort he created with Rob Long of "Cheers" that's best forgotten.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Dragon lady, cougar and feisty redhead; dutiful son, jealous daughter and henpecked husband are all present and accounted for, with pat and predictable jokes leeching whatever hope might be had from a racially diverse cast and a promising enough setup.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Sullivan & Son is a contrived sitcom with nothing original or new to offer.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jul 18, 2012
    16
    Sullivan & Son is utterly artless in its efforts to be an equal opportunity offender.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 16 out of 24
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    Wow, some really negative mean people on this site. I went to a taping of this, so I know that it's not a laugh track. I will say sometimesWow, some really negative mean people on this site. I went to a taping of this, so I know that it's not a laugh track. I will say sometimes it sounds like a laugh track. But the episode I saw (hasn't aired yet) was hysterical and people were laughing. True, the first episode wasn't brilliant, but if you notice there are a lot of characters on this, so there was a lot of set-up. I feel that every episode is getting better than the last. And the actors are really good. Steve, the mom, the dad, the sister, his friends, his old flame, and the bar flies are all funny.

    What I like about is that it is a return to the old comedies. Many of the shows on today are cruel and mean, kind of like these reviewers comments, wonder why they don't like it. The people at the bar love each other, sure they might make fun of each other, but they do care about one another. The family dynamic is great. The diversity is great. And I for one, will keep watching, and so have millions of others. It might not be your cup of tea, but it isn't as bad as anyone claims. I've seen a lot of sitcoms that didn't make me laugh once. I'm laughing a lot at this one.
    Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    The critics weren't crazy about Cheers or Seinfeld either. I wasn't crazy about Seinfeld or Cheers for the first couple of episodes and nowThe critics weren't crazy about Cheers or Seinfeld either. I wasn't crazy about Seinfeld or Cheers for the first couple of episodes and now they're my favorites. There is a major need to explore and develop the characters. The interactions a quick and unmemorable. They need to think about the interactions they have as an opportunity to build more depth and perspective. At first they could try focusing on a storyline about 1 or two people instead of 20. There a some really great actors/comedians on this show, they'll do well. Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    This show is a relief for those of us that think political correctness is a bunch of BS. It attacks stereotypes and laughs at them like peopleThis show is a relief for those of us that think political correctness is a bunch of BS. It attacks stereotypes and laughs at them like people in real life do. If you pretend people don't JOKE around like this, then you live under a rock. The people that feel like this stuff is serious are boring ass snobs. Don't give me that crap about this is being racist either. If you are offended by it DON'T watch. They are jokes! Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2012
    1
    Be warned. This show contains a terrible laugh track. Okay, all laugh tracks are terrible and I can't watch any show with one. But withoutBe warned. This show contains a terrible laugh track. Okay, all laugh tracks are terrible and I can't watch any show with one. But without it there would be no laughs at all during this show. Who approves this crap? Collapse
  5. Aug 19, 2014
    0
    I have been watching sitcoms since the early 70's and this is one that is so not funny it is a total waste of time to watch. The guest starsI have been watching sitcoms since the early 70's and this is one that is so not funny it is a total waste of time to watch. The guest stars that are funny in other shows, are given dialogue that is painful to watch. Cheers has been done and had 10 times the character development and comic dialogue as you will see here. Please re-run old episodes of MASH or something of value Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2014
    0
    I get it.. according to the show Asians are not funny. it is so cliche' its boring. i hate the constant apologetic expression of the son, theI get it.. according to the show Asians are not funny. it is so cliche' its boring. i hate the constant apologetic expression of the son, the hateful mom, the daughter who fits in nowhere, the idiots , the slut who is greatly overdone. all i can say is this : "remember the WORSE SNL skit you ever saw? well it is 10 times better than this show.. also i hate they stick it between Big Bang thinking we are too dumb to change the channel.. WRONG! Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2012
    0
    I've watched a few episodes of this show, and was so shocked at how bad it was, I signed up for Metacritic.

    This show is so forced and
    I've watched a few episodes of this show, and was so shocked at how bad it was, I signed up for Metacritic.

    This show is so forced and awkward I have trouble finding any redeeming qualities about it.

    I was so distracted by the blatant profanity ("BullSh*t" regarding figure skating) and double middle fingers, that I rewound both scenes repeatedly to be sure I'd heard / seen what I thought. I am by no means a prude / easily offended, or even that old. (I'm 32 years old, love Family Guy, and pretty middle of the road on most issues, no kids, work in a high tech industry)

    Despite this, I have to say, I'm amazed that TBS would air a show that is so desperate to appear relevant, that they have to resort to forced profanity and completely unnecessary middle fingers. When did it become legal to show that on basic cable? Perhaps it's not illegal, but the point is, when TBS has so many great shows (Big Bang Theory, Family Guy, etc) that don't stoop to such a trivial methods, does it make sense to air something that does?

    They need to get this crap off of the air, and not be in such a rush to add profanity (verbal or otherwise) to a show that is well within the time slice that kids can easily see it. We've got enough issues these days, without teaching our kids that its OK to be that crass.

    Horrible show, there is MUCH better on TV.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews