• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Sullivan & Son Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Steve Byrne is a New York lawyer who returns to his hometown of Pittsburgh to take over his parent's bar.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jul 18, 2012
    91
    Bracing and tasty.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 18, 2012
    70
    Within a few episodes and with slightly lowered expectations, it gets a good buzz going.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 19, 2012
    60
    Plenty of material here, spoken by people we like. It's what a good cable sitcom can be.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Sullivan & Son is a contrived sitcom with nothing original or new to offer.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Dragon lady, cougar and feisty redhead; dutiful son, jealous daughter and henpecked husband are all present and accounted for, with pat and predictable jokes leeching whatever hope might be had from a racially diverse cast and a promising enough setup.
  6. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Byrne is trapped in a mediocre effort he created with Rob Long of "Cheers" that's best forgotten.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jul 18, 2012
    16
    Sullivan & Son is utterly artless in its efforts to be an equal opportunity offender.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 20
  2. Negative: 13 out of 20
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    Wow, some really negative mean people on this site. I went to a taping of this, so I know that it's not a laugh track. I will say sometimes it sounds like a laugh track. But the episode I saw (hasn't aired yet) was hysterical and people were laughing. True, the first episode wasn't brilliant, but if you notice there are a lot of characters on this, so there was a lot of set-up. I feel that every episode is getting better than the last. And the actors are really good. Steve, the mom, the dad, the sister, his friends, his old flame, and the bar flies are all funny.

    What I like about is that it is a return to the old comedies. Many of the shows on today are cruel and mean, kind of like these reviewers comments, wonder why they don't like it. The people at the bar love each other, sure they might make fun of each other, but they do care about one another. The family dynamic is great. The diversity is great. And I for one, will keep watching, and so have millions of others. It might not be your cup of tea, but it isn't as bad as anyone claims. I've seen a lot of sitcoms that didn't make me laugh once. I'm laughing a lot at this one.
    Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    This is a very good and funny TV show, you just need to give it a chance. A lot of people just watched the pilot episode and came to conclusions based on that. I think you'll need to watch at least 3-4 episodes before making a conclusion on it and I'm more than positive most people will like it and find it amusing like me once you do give it the chance. I wasn't too much of a fan of the pilot either although it was alright to me, but all the other episodes have been very good. This show has tons of potential and I hope TBS will renew a 2nd season. Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    One of the most hilarious shows I have ever watched. While the storyline differs from episode to episode, it continues to put me on the floor laughing with each passing episode. Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2012
    1
    Unfunny and Uninteresting, how did TBS ever pick this CR@#%PPY show up??? It makes fun of koreans with asian stereotypes which is kinda amusing. But truth be told, can't watch a t.v. sitcom that rips off cheers and frasier with a little old chinese lady mulan quips. This sitcom snoozer is ruining TBS's slogan "very funny" which should now be changed to, "VERY BORING." Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2012
    1
    Be warned. This show contains a terrible laugh track. Okay, all laugh tracks are terrible and I can't watch any show with one. But without it there would be no laughs at all during this show. Who approves this crap? Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2014
    0
    How is this show still on? It's a piece of crap! I'd rather watch reruns of the Big Bang Theory that I've seen countless times then watch a show that embarrasses any one who's on it. If you need to advertise the special guest instead of the show then your show sucks. Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2012
    0
    I can't so much review the show as I can the commercials, which are pure torture. Even though I primarily watch shows I've recorded, I tend to flip around during commercial breaks when watching live sports. When the jokes in the commercials are this awful, the show is completely hopeless. I hope they cancel this soon and get all ads for it out of my face. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews