• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 13, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9 , 10
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 107
  2. Negative: 12 out of 107

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 27, 2011
    9
    The Winchester brothers are back, or are they? That's the question posed in the first five episodes. After you find out Sam has returned to Earth a year ago, only one thing is missing his soul. Of course you then ask yourself, will he get it back? And five more episodes you are given your answer. The writing is tip-top and humorous; we're drawing ever so close to the end. If you've beenThe Winchester brothers are back, or are they? That's the question posed in the first five episodes. After you find out Sam has returned to Earth a year ago, only one thing is missing his soul. Of course you then ask yourself, will he get it back? And five more episodes you are given your answer. The writing is tip-top and humorous; we're drawing ever so close to the end. If you've been watching you know the big opposing evil is known as Mother or "The Mother of all Evil" and a Civil war taking place in the Heaven is under way. I'm not too certain if this will be the last season if it is I can't wait to see how it turns out. It had a slow start but it quickly picked up and snow balled back into the addictive Supernatural we love. Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2010
    5
    I expected more from the first episode of the new season. It was kind of boring and too many Questions where left after seeing this episode. I really hope episode 2 gets better than this one. A little bit more action would be nice and more background story for the new Faces.
  3. Mar 2, 2011
    1
    What is it that people see in this show? Remember Dark Shadows? The soap opera about vampires. This is just as bad. It isn't scary, deep or dramatic. It is very slow, like zombies attacking slow.
  4. May 22, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly the ending of season five was so amazing I just wished they'd stop it there. But no, of course not, they have to milk it and turn it all to **** Season six is terrible, you can hardly compare it to the other seasons. The beginning is lacklustre, and it leaves you with you smacking your hand to your forehead followed by loud zombie like groaning in distaste. There are just so many dumb jokes that its like there trying to turn it more into a comedy than the horror, drama that makes the show good. The plot just sucks in general, its just so obvious that there trying to drag it out with mediocre scripts with zero substance. Deans character has just turned into a joke the new season makes him out to be a dumbass, the humor was good when it was an undertone to the script rather than the actual episode content its playing now. The campbell thing is exhausting, i mean if they wanted to make it interesting they should have brought back John an actually good actor who would have thrown some amount of substance and angst into the mix, but no, throw in grandpa with a really implausable reason to be working for darkside. I mean, he wants his daughter back? its weak considering he's risking his remaining family and doing a demons dirty work when he's spent his whole life killing things like him just to start working for him without even needing his arm twisted. Then there's Crowley's death, a character I really really enjoyed. So what happens? He obviously just stuck his bones in a drawer in his desk with a pretty glittery label on it just so Castiel could find it and poof back to the scene and burn them. Its just Lame. really lame. Do i even need to get into the whole dragons and fairy thing? Oh, i do? Hm dean thats a good Idea just put C4 around the rock with the ancient sword in it. THAT'LL WORK. I mean his character has been trained, he's not smart but he's not that stupid either! Its like there just stuff every dumb stereotype and possible theme into a season that wasn't supposed to be made. Theres even time travel. just.... stop. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2014
    7
    I don't get it why people prefer Season 7 than this. Yes, I can say that it felt pretty different and started off really badly, but it sort of improved as the episodes progressed.
  6. May 25, 2013
    7
    Original showrunner Eric Kripke only ever intended for Supernatural to run for five seasons and, having now handed over duties, his absence is certainly felt on occasions during the shows latest run.

    With plenty of twists and turns throughout existing fans will of course still find plenty to enjoy here but there are probably more episodes that miss the mark in season six than the other
    Original showrunner Eric Kripke only ever intended for Supernatural to run for five seasons and, having now handed over duties, his absence is certainly felt on occasions during the shows latest run.

    With plenty of twists and turns throughout existing fans will of course still find plenty to enjoy here but there are probably more episodes that miss the mark in season six than the other five seasons combined. When Supernatural does hit the mark however, such as in episodes like 'Weekend at Bobby's', it continues to provide a fantastic mix of sci-fi, action and comedy that few other shows can match and the thrilling conclusion certainly leaves plenty of scope for the now confirmed seventh year.
    Expand
  7. Jul 7, 2011
    7
    I have had VERY mixed feelings about Season 7, Sera Gamble took over after Eric Kripke finished his initial 5 season aim. It picks up a year after Dean thought Sam was in hell, Sam returns without his soul and was hunting with ressurected extended family the Campbells (Mary Winchester/Campell's side of the family) The season started sluggishly with no real direction or story with onlyI have had VERY mixed feelings about Season 7, Sera Gamble took over after Eric Kripke finished his initial 5 season aim. It picks up a year after Dean thought Sam was in hell, Sam returns without his soul and was hunting with ressurected extended family the Campbells (Mary Winchester/Campell's side of the family) The season started sluggishly with no real direction or story with only vague hints at what the season had in store. Castiel returned bearing the news that heaven was at unrest and was in a Civil War/Power struggle after god left (Chuck?)
    Anyway, the show did take an interesting turn in mythology, Mother of all Evil (Eve) I was excited by the arc, but it fell flat at the back end of the season, and the character was nowhere as fearsome as she was made out to be. The writing fell flat in alot of episodes, and there were alot of filler episodes that did nothing to contribute to the storyline.
    All that being said though, its hard to judge the season as a whole, With supernatural originally intended as a 5 season show, Essentially the writers and crew are basically starting fresh,
    In the end the season was solid with a few memorable episodes. The Castiel come God ending to the season was somewhat lacklustre and anticlimactic.
    But leaves a vast array of loose ends and storylines open for the 7th season. In the overall context of the show, its not the best season of all. But was just OK
    Season 7 holds alot of promise. Lets hope they get it right 7/10
    Collapse
  8. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    italian:
    stagione bella ma nulla di eccezionale.
    le stagioni precedenti erano migliori.

    english:
    beautiful season but nothing exceptional.
    previous seasons were the best.
  9. Oct 6, 2013
    7
    This is the season that Sera Gamble took over as showrunner,and started it's 2 year decline.......After in my opinion,the two best seasons to date, 4and 5,she started A nosedive,that tankfully was put to an end with an excellent season 8..I did enjoy Castiel in this season,especially the last few episodes
  10. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Not great. The series should have ended at season 5 like Eric Kripke wanted. Everything season 6 and beyond feels like filler; a soulless shell of what Supernatural used to be.
  11. Nov 19, 2013
    0
    They should have stopped after season 5. That was the real ending of the show. This season is terrible and you can tell the only do it for the money...

There are no critic reviews yet.