• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 13, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
Supernatural Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 581 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Jensen Ackles, Jared Padalecki
  • Summary: Two brothers travel the country looking for their missing father and battle evil spirits along the way, in stories inspired by urban legends and other folklore.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. 88
    The series' grim tone and overall look of a grimy world in perpetual need of dusting or wiping is a long way from Buffy the Vampire Slayer and closer to Japanese movies like The Grudge. [12 Sep 2005, p.45]
  2. "Supernatural" is unlike anything else out there and should build a following among viewers who appreciate its combination of spooky mythology and mystery adventure.
  3. 80
    Padalecki and Ackles are hunky, funny and a joy to watch.
  4. It is a well-made little show of horrors that's likely to scare and thrill its target audience.
  5. The stars are appealing WB veterans, but it is hard to believe that subsequent episodes will carry the same edge as the premiere. "Supernatural" is not "The Sixth Sense," it's "Ghostbusters' Creek."
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    40
    A perfectly serviceable if not particularly inspired bumper.
  7. These brothers are like most WB stars and starlets, pretty faces with negligible theatrical skills.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 186
  1. HadeethZ
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    Supernatural is one of the best shows on TV. I'm pretty picky with the TV shows that I watch, I defeinintly doin't get drawn into teen dramas. But, Supernatual is different. It's suspensful and unique. It keeps your eyes glued to the TV screen.A true masterpiece. Expand
  2. KrisJ
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    This is the show I look forward to the most every week. If you've stayed away because you've seen stills of the leads and have figured it's just another CW "Cute Boy Show" you were wrong. Supernatural is one of the most consistently well-written, acted, and directed shows on television. The effects are awesome, the scares are effective, the humour is INTENTIONAL, and the relationship between Sam and Dean is some of the most honest and real work that I've ever seen in any medium, television or otherwise. If you never gave Supernatural a chance now is the time. Supposedly the creator plans to end it at the end of his "Five Year Plan". Expand
  3. Kim
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    Love it!!!!!
  4. ChrisD
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    The show has great wit and keeps the story fresh enough with good plot twists. I would recommend this show to anyone who is into a syfy adventure.
  5. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    This show is awesome. it has compelling plots and its really funny.
    the actors are unknown but they play the roles perfectly
    the shows airs
    on the cw Expand
  6. JoeC
    Apr 27, 2009
    9
    It's basically excellent. I didn't like the show in the first season (my sister watched it) and then midway through the second season there was a complete reversal of our opinions; she stopped watching it and I started watching it. Great show, glad to hear it's signed on for another season. Expand
  7. KevinL.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    The show has no "scare factor" to it. Its reputation isn't living it up very well as that the acting seems a little melodramatic. The plotline seems a little boring as well as the premise seems a bit useful to a few ends. Collapse

See all 186 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.