• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2005
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 297 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Strange creatures are found in the sea in NBC's sci-fi adventure which, unlike its last nautical series, is mercifully free of talking dolphins.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 23
  2. Negative: 12 out of 23
  1. "Surface" is steeped in Spielberg, and is better Spielberg than Spielberg has managed in quite some time.
  2. 60
    It helps that Bell is able to suggest complexity, emotional and moral, even when the dialogue fails her.
  3. This by-the-numbers entry is pretty damn toothless. [23 Sep 2005, p.81]
  4. 38
    There isn't a moment of wonder or suspense in Surface, or a single performance or character that is even remotely involving.
  5. There's nothing particularly appealing about any of the folks having the close encounters.
  6. At first glance... it comes off as silly sci-fi, a not-so-intriguing series that wades into all-too-similar waters as two other fall shows. The difference in this one is that the water is noticeably more shallow.
  7. One of the lead characters is an evolutionary biologist, which makes sense, since there's not a lot of intelligent design here.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 231
  1. JessicaN
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    I love this show. All the people who spewed vitriol on the show must have only seen one episode or part of one episode. And since when is I love this show. All the people who spewed vitriol on the show must have only seen one episode or part of one episode. And since when is Speilbergian an insult? Expand
  2. TroelsM
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    I loved this show, and was very dissapointed when they cancelled it.
  3. carlag
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best shows on T.V., me and my son watch it every monday. We also would give it an 11 if we could . Those critics don"t This is one of the best shows on T.V., me and my son watch it every monday. We also would give it an 11 if we could . Those critics don"t know good T.V. Expand
  4. NancyW
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    One of the best sci-fi programs I have ever seen! I could hardly wait for the next show. I really got attached to the story line and the One of the best sci-fi programs I have ever seen! I could hardly wait for the next show. I really got attached to the story line and the people in the show. I can't believe they cut this show, every one of my friends are/were Surface junkies Expand
  5. PaulL
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    NBC needs to fire those in charge of cancelling surface. Great show---bring it back please!
  6. LionelA
    Jul 6, 2006
    9
    The show started off kinda slow but, really picked up after the first 3 episodes. I loved the show. Bring it back.
  7. Dan
    Jan 27, 2006
    0
    Suckage. If you want good sci-fi, watch Stargate SG-1, Stargate Atlantis, and/or Battlestar Galactica. On Sci-Fi channel 122 (satellite). New Suckage. If you want good sci-fi, watch Stargate SG-1, Stargate Atlantis, and/or Battlestar Galactica. On Sci-Fi channel 122 (satellite). New episodes every Friday. Watch it. The Neilson meter will look good if you do. Expand

See all 231 User Reviews

Trailers